We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful - Will definitely return.”
Review of Hotel Golden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Golden
Ranked #19 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Delightful - Will definitely return.”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

This is a very professional outfit, though with the touch of family. They do both very well. Highly recommended. The booking process was smooth as, even booking the airport pick up was an easy process. Details were precise and easy to understand. Not a problem at all.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aeroguard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,639 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,012
    542
    57
    21
    7
See reviews for
833
1,171
159
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 December 2013

My sister, brother-in-law and I stayed here in the first week of November for three nights and we were absolutely delighted. The location is excellent close to the bus stop as well as the metro. Giuseppe and his family were excellent hosts - this hotel is family run. From arranging our pick up from the airport to giving us a welcome briefing on where the hotel was located, getting around, booking gallery tickets, helping us book train tickets - the service level was impeccable. Breakfast was very good with wide selection of breads, juices, made to order hot items like eggs, waffles and french toast. Be warned though if you book a small room - there is a space constraint but as another traveler mentioned - you are not in the room for the most part. Having said that though the rooms are very well maintained and tidy.

I would definitely recommend this hotel and my thanks to Giuseppe and his family for a very memorable first visit to Rome.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SKR323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantic City
Level Contributor
216 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Golden for three nights in November. We just loved it. It is a small, family owned and operated hotel in a very convenient location for accessing public transportation to all parts of the city. It is very close to the Borghese Gallery with a Metro entrance (to Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, Colosseum, Forum and Termini Station), taxi stand and bus stop (direct route to the Vatican) all within a block of the hotel.

We were met at the airport by the driver arranged by the hotel (60 euro for a van, cash only) and taken directly to the hotel. The hotel is on the second floor of a very charming building. We were very warmly greeted by Giuseppe, one of the family members who own and operate the hotel. He gave us a complete briefing on our location, how to get to all the sites and suggested great places to eat or shop.

Our room was lovely and spacious, overlooking the street. It was wonderful to just swing open the shutters and people watch! The room had two chairs, very comfortable bed, closet and a very large, private bathroom and free wifi.

The hotel provided a wonderful breakfast, prepared by Mama Teresa and served by her daughter. Wide variety of food choices, all very good and very fresh.

We were truly treated like family. A very positive experience and I highly recommend!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elman1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in the family suite of Hotel Golden, and everything was perfect. The room was beautiful with a high ceiling and a lot of space that made us feel comfortable as if we were in our own house. The building is an old one but newly decorated and furnished, so it's a modern feel in an old Roman building. It was very clean and tidy. The host family who runs the hotel was very friendly, warm and extremely helpful, answering all our questions rapidly before and during our stay. The breakfast was amazing with all types of food freshly prepared in the kitchen by the host family, served in the cosy breakfast room.
The hotel is very central and in a convenient location and only a 15 minute walk away from all the historical places. It is also possible to get the bus from down the street. There are a few nice restaurants around the hotel as well. If we go back to Rome, we know where to stay.
Meltem-Elif-Ece-Turgut

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ecesoys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

The hotel was very clean and the family who runs the hotel are very friendly and ready to help out with any questions you might have :) The breakfast was good and fresh - they only put out small portions at a time and constantly prepare fresh batches in the kitchen right next to the breakfast room. Make sure you try out their sweet French toast!

Our room was tiny, but at the time of booking we were warned that the room we were booking was small, something that I appreciated as we knew exactly what we were paying for. But anyway, the size of the room didn't bother us at all. It was very clean (which is the most important thing to me!) and it had all that we needed. You don't want to spend too much time in your room when in Rome anyway! I loved the decor in the room as well :)

The location could have been better, but we still managed well. There are good bus and metro connections. The nearest metro station (Barberini) is about a 10min walk away (I walk slowly tho!) and 2 mins away there's a bus stop with buses which take you directly to the Colosseum area and the Trastevere area. You can also catch a bus to Barberini if you don't feel like walking.

All in all, I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank imp-ette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

I'm afraid to give too high a review because it might make it harder to get rooms next time!
The family run hotel is warm, gracious and extremely helpful . It is close to the Borghese park and Via Veneto. Easy walk to Spanish steps. BUSES are NEARBY and convenient.
BEAUTIFUL. For those who like a small hotel feel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank salemigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

At the time of writing (November 2013) this is rated 12th best hotel in Rome (out of 1272 listed on Tripadvisor) despite it being only a 2-Star hotel and much of the competition being 4 and 5-Star.
I was interested to see how they'd achieved that.
Basically, this is a small family-owned, budget-priced hotel where the family members take turns on reception etc and are without exception friendly and helpful, full of recommendations regarding transport and restaurants etc.
The hotel is set in a quiet backstreet near the Via Veneto and the Gardens & Villa Borghese.
It's 15 minutes walk to Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain and rail terminal. About 30 to the Colosseum.
Our (Superior) room was spacious and well-appointed. Breakfast is served in a tiny room but was very good quality. Fruit salad, freshly cooked omelettes and bacon, croissants - much better than the average European breakfast.
But overall it is the people that make this a hotel one would want to return to and I can't wait.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobMac101_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Pensione Barrett
Hotel Pensione Barrett
#16 of 1,257 in Rome
768 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,257 in Rome
6,624 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#22 of 1,257 in Rome
4,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Deko Rome
Deko Rome
#6 of 1,257 in Rome
915 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#34 of 1,257 in Rome
1,274 reviews
Relais 6
#31 of 1,257 in Rome
1,862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Golden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golden

Property: Hotel Golden
Address: Via Marche 84, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Rome
#9 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#81 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Golden 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Golden of Rome is a small and genuine family run hotel where you will be welcome as family.The hotel is located in one of the best spots of the city, just behind the oasis of the Borghese Gardens (where you can visit the famous Borghese Gallery Museum) walking out of our property, in less than 100 meters you will be on Via Vittorio Veneto from where you can reach in 10 minutes of nice and enjoyable walk the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, the Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Campo di Fiori.Very well served with public transport (mini bus like the 116 and 116T, from just around the corner will take you almost every where in Rome) including a very convenient stop right next to the Vatican Square.Bus 53 and 80X directly to the Colosseum.Bus 63 to Trastevere and the Jewish Ghetto.Besides all that, we have two metro stops closeby: Barberini and Spagna.Our location is full of small little restaurants and trattorie (reasonable prices and great food and wine) we will share all that info with our guests upon arrival (places where we go ourselves to eat with the family)in other words, the Hotel Golden of Rome (like the many reviews of our dear guests around the world say) is a family run hotel for families right in the center of Rome!Full air conditioned (and air conditioning that works)free wifi in all the hotel.And the best of the best: our mother's homey breakfast (every morning she makes breakfast for our guests just like she did at home) from omelettes to "frittata", pancakes, cinnamon french toasts, croissants, crostata, ciambellone, ham, cheese, salami, mortadella, fresh tomatoes, mozzarella, ricotta, and many other daily recipes that she brings new for our guests to enjoy (like her very very light "tiramisu") you have to try it!Come and visit us.. We will be so happy to meet you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Golden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing