We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel”
Review of Hotel Golden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Golden
Ranked #18 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 February 2014

A quaint hotel with influences of the Renaissance blended together with modernity in its atmosphere, it was a wonderful hotel to stay at during the trip to Rome. Hotel Golden is a small family-owned hotel and it does show as so as it is homey as can be. The food is great and perfect during breakfast. The room was laid-back with its Italian Mediterranean interiors. Service from the family was even more priceless. They were very accommodating to a high degree and certainly deserve great praise for their hospitality. The rooms may be a bit small, though, but all in all I felt very satisfied witheverything.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TJakeL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,804)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,308 - 1,314 of 2,804 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2014

Our experience at Hotel Golden was perfect. The staff was amazing and provided us with all the city information we needed. It is a family owned business and provided us the best and most accommodating service, including how a range of prices for taxis so that we did not get ripped off. The hotel itself was extremely clean and cozy. Cleaned our room ever day. Very trust worthy. We left our electronics, cameras, and chargers in the room every day with out worry. The room was a perfect size as well as the bathroom with shower.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christelle v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

My wife, daughter and I spent a delightful 5 nights at the Hotel Golden in mid January 2014. This family run hotel is very clean with very nice sized, well equipped rooms. Marco and his brother Giuseppe are wonderful hosts who provided comprehensive information on travel arrangements, restaurant recommendations and tips to save money around Rome. The hotel is in a very nice area on Via Marche and very close to the Spanish Steps and the Trevi Fountain. There are multiple bus routes nearby to all the main attractions. The breakfast room is quite small, but with a wide range of excellent and very fresh fare. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Rome.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Palaeo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Well what can I say what a great family run hotel... On arrival we were upgraded to a bigger room. The host family are very friendly and really made our stay in rome that extra special! We were given a map of rome great tips on sites to see and restaurants to eat in! The location is great walking distance to centre of rome! The room was large with great space and the breakfast is really nice!! Thanks very much would highly recommend!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Eoin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

This hotel is exceptionally rated on TA, and it does not pretend to be anymore then it is..a good quality 2 star hotel in a very expensive part of Rome.
The rooms are clean, the family running the hotel professional and friendly, and the internet quality and breakfast a highlight.
The hotel is located 2 minutes form the Borghese gardens,and 3 minutes from via Veneto, and five minutes walk to the nearest metro stop (barberini). If this is the area that you want to stay in,and are looking for a fair value,unpretentious htel, then hotel golden ticks all the right boxes.
It does not have all the bells and whistles compared to fancier hotels,but then...you are not paying a fancy price. There are a lot of restaurants nearby BUT not a lot of reasonably priced ones...this is nothing to do with the hotel,but the area is expensive...

Room Tip: The rooms are small,so pay a little extra for a larger room if this is an issue for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank traveldanCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We have just today checked out of hotel golden after a three night stay.

What stands out overall to me- is we felt like the only guests there from how they treated us.

- they remembered my 2year olds name, they were full of advice for so many things- shopping, tours, public transport, food, map directions.
On one day we asked for our room not to be cleaned and were asked why at the end of the day, because "they are here to serve you"- and that really is the attitude of the staff and how they treat you.
The rooms are not giant, but with two adults and a cot we still had space.

The breakfast was wonderful, location was great... It's no doubt that we will stay there again on our next trip to rome!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MummaYvetto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

My boyfriend and I recently stayed here for 3 nights, and we loved it. Everyone was very helpful and generous, and we always felt very safe and welcomed. The location is very convenient, as we were able to walk to all of the major sights. The metro stop was also close by, but we preferred to walk. The breakfast every morning was delicious and had many different options. My boyfriend still talks about the warm chocolate croissants! We would not hesitate to stay there again!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Ashley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trastevere
Hotel Residenza San Calisto
Trieste
Palm Gallery Hotel
Palm Gallery Hotel
#21 of 1,271 in Rome
1,209 reviews
Parioli
Suite Oriani
Suite Oriani
#11 of 1,271 in Rome
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Relais 6
#34 of 1,271 in Rome
1,912 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#20 of 1,271 in Rome
4,308 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Golden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golden

Address: Via Marche 84 | next to the old Roman Walls, the Borghese Gardens, Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountain, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Rome
#9 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#16 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#81 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £51 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Golden 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Golden of Rome is a small and genuine family run hotel where you will be welcome as family.The hotel is located in one of the best spots of the city, just behind the oasis of the Borghese Gardens (where you can visit the famous Borghese Gallery Museum) walking out of our property, in less than 100 meters you will be on Via Vittorio Veneto from where you can reach in 10 minutes of nice and enjoyable walk the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, the Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Campo di Fiori.Very well served with public transport (mini bus like the 116 and 116T, from just around the corner will take you almost every where in Rome) including a very convenient stop right next to the Vatican Square.Bus 53 and 80X directly to the Colosseum.Bus 63 to Trastevere and the Jewish Ghetto.Besides all that, we have two metro stops closeby: Barberini and Spagna.Our location is full of small little restaurants and trattorie (reasonable prices and great food and wine) we will share all that info with our guests upon arrival (places where we go ourselves to eat with the family)in other words, the Hotel Golden of Rome (like the many reviews of our dear guests around the world say) is a family run hotel for families right in the center of Rome!Full air conditioned (and air conditioning that works)free wifi in all the hotel.And the best of the best: our mother's homey breakfast (every morning she makes breakfast for our guests just like she did at home) from omelettes to "frittata", pancakes, cinnamon french toasts, croissants, crostata, ciambellone, ham, cheese, salami, mortadella, fresh tomatoes, mozzarella, ricotta, and many other daily recipes that she brings new for our guests to enjoy (like her very very light "tiramisu") you have to try it!Come and visit us.. We will be so happy to meet you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nozio Netplan srl, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Golden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing