We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best budget hotel I have stayed”
Review of Hotel Golden

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Golden
Ranked #18 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Irvine
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best budget hotel I have stayed”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

As many reviewers mentioned, the hotel is run by a family. It rare for us to receive good and honest service at some nicer hotels, not to mention Hotel Golden's price was very reasonable. The best budget hotel I have ever stayed.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

2,662 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,033
    544
    57
    21
    7
See reviews for
847
1,178
159
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
DC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel after reading the excellent reviews on tripadvisor. It was very easy to find the hotel and we could check in early and also received a free upgrade. The bedroom and bathroom were spotless and we're kept that way throughout our stay. The family were very helpful, helping us plan our itinerary every day. In the evening we asked for hot water so that we could prepare tea and it was never a problem. I highly recommend the Hotel Golden.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

The hotel is run by an Italian family that lived in Venezuela many years. That's maybe why they have kept an old style Italian demeanour of courtesy and hospitality, difficult to come across nowadays especially in busy and touristy Italian cities. I've been to many hotels in Rome. This is the best in its category.
The only reason I would not recommend it is in order not to find it fully booked next time I go to Rome!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelgoldenrome, Proprietario at Hotel Golden, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Massimo,

your words of appreciation are so important to us because they go beyond what the Hotel Golden Rome is as a property and makes us feel proud but in a very humble way.. on the name of all my Family I want to thankyou for having made us feel special just as so special are each one of you to us!

grazie!!

Giuseppe
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

The hotel was ideal for our stay in Rome. It is a small, family run hotel in a quiet area, not far from the Villa Borghese, and the family couldn't have been more helpful, before, during and after our stay. They helped us to plan visits and recommended very good restaurants off the tourist trail. Although not in the very centre of the city, we walked from the station in half an hour, and the Spanish steps, Trevi Fountain and Villa Borghese were within 15 minutes walk. Our room was very clean and comfortable, and we had an excellent breakfast in the small breakfast room. We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

My daughter stayed here for ten nights in January. It was her first overseas trip from Australia on her own and her first visit to Rome. She had a wonderful time. I wish to thank the family for all the wonderful assistance they gave her and for their care.

I emailed the family with questions and received positive, prompt and helpful responses. I was reassured that my daughter was staying in a hotel run by a very good family.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

A quaint hotel with influences of the Renaissance blended together with modernity in its atmosphere, it was a wonderful hotel to stay at during the trip to Rome. Hotel Golden is a small family-owned hotel and it does show as so as it is homey as can be. The food is great and perfect during breakfast. The room was laid-back with its Italian Mediterranean interiors. Service from the family was even more priceless. They were very accommodating to a high degree and certainly deserve great praise for their hospitality. The rooms may be a bit small, though, but all in all I felt very satisfied witheverything.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Our experience at Hotel Golden was perfect. The staff was amazing and provided us with all the city information we needed. It is a family owned business and provided us the best and most accommodating service, including how a range of prices for taxis so that we did not get ripped off. The hotel itself was extremely clean and cozy. Cleaned our room ever day. Very trust worthy. We left our electronics, cameras, and chargers in the room every day with out worry. The room was a perfect size as well as the bathroom with shower.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,258 in Rome
6,681 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,258 in Rome
4,145 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Deko Rome
Deko Rome
#4 of 1,258 in Rome
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#35 of 1,258 in Rome
1,297 reviews
Relais 6
#30 of 1,258 in Rome
1,874 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Hotel Golden

Property: Hotel Golden
Address: Via Marche 84, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Rome
#9 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#56 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#81 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Golden 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Golden of Rome is a small and genuine family run hotel where you will be welcome as family.The hotel is located in one of the best spots of the city, just behind the oasis of the Borghese Gardens (where you can visit the famous Borghese Gallery Museum) walking out of our property, in less than 100 meters you will be on Via Vittorio Veneto from where you can reach in 10 minutes of nice and enjoyable walk the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, the Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Campo di Fiori.Very well served with public transport (mini bus like the 116 and 116T, from just around the corner will take you almost every where in Rome) including a very convenient stop right next to the Vatican Square.Bus 53 and 80X directly to the Colosseum.Bus 63 to Trastevere and the Jewish Ghetto.Besides all that, we have two metro stops closeby: Barberini and Spagna.Our location is full of small little restaurants and trattorie (reasonable prices and great food and wine) we will share all that info with our guests upon arrival (places where we go ourselves to eat with the family)in other words, the Hotel Golden of Rome (like the many reviews of our dear guests around the world say) is a family run hotel for families right in the center of Rome!Full air conditioned (and air conditioning that works)free wifi in all the hotel.And the best of the best: our mother's homey breakfast (every morning she makes breakfast for our guests just like she did at home) from omelettes to "frittata", pancakes, cinnamon french toasts, croissants, crostata, ciambellone, ham, cheese, salami, mortadella, fresh tomatoes, mozzarella, ricotta, and many other daily recipes that she brings new for our guests to enjoy (like her very very light "tiramisu") you have to try it!Come and visit us.. We will be so happy to meet you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Golden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing