We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel run by wonderful family”
Review of Hotel Golden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Golden
Ranked #17 of 1,259 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Darwin, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel run by wonderful family”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Our first time to Rome and the service at this hotel was amazing. Marco and Guiseppe were wonderful and gave us heaps of tips and information about seeing the sights. The breakfasts were delicious thanks to Mamma Teresa, Alina, and Maria. We had the family suite and had so much room. We really felt like a home away from home. A wonderful start to our Italian vacation. Thanks to you all.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darwinmurps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,660 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,031
    544
    57
    21
    7
See reviews for
845
1,178
159
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

A lovely hotel and a delicious breakfast.

Our only complaint was that the room was very noisy when people were coming into the hotel during the evening and also in the morning, as the breakfast area was just outside our room. We could hear the tables being set up either late at night or early in the morning. (We stayed in the Classic Double). I could also hear the guests in the next room very clearly, especially when their alarm went off before 6am on the first morning we were there. We did ask to move rooms after the first night but were told that there were no rooms available and they would look to see if anything could be done for us but we never heard anything back.

Room Tip: Don't sleep in the rooms near the reception unless you are a heavy sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TwitTwoo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2014

First time in Rome, we stayed at the hotel for 4 days. When arriving, we felt immediately welcome.
Very kind and helpfull staff. Nice and very convenient rooms. The breakfast is prepared by the female part of the family who owns and runs the hotel. It is delicious and everything is freshly prepared. Giuseppe and Marco were very helpful to help us to find the places we liked to visit. Including numbers of buslines etc. (we had a Roma-pass for 3 days). The hotel is situated just near the Villa Borghese (beautiful park), and about 15 min. walking from Spanish steps and Trevi fountain. The map of Rome, which lays on the hoteldesk, was very helpful to us, especcially because of the information Giuseppe wrote on it. Small but good pizzeria just on the corner. When we ever come back to Rome (there is SO much we still want to see), we certainly know which hotel we will book. Thank you, Loria family!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evert Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennewick, Washington, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Golden for two nights with our two young adult children. We had two rooms and were so pleased with everything about our stay. Our rooms were lovely and larger than we expected, especially the bathrooms (I should add that the hotel upgraded our rooms from classic to superior). The location was good - safe, with good restaurant choices nearby. Rome is a large city - I'm not sure there would be anywhere you could stay that would be convenient for EVERYTHING, but Giuseppe and Marco helped us find a way to walk, ride a bus, or subway to every site we wanted to visit (we had Roma cards for the weekend). We lived by our "magic map" from the hotel. Their restaurant recommendations were excellent - reservations were made for us if we needed them. Breakfasts were delicious.

This was a special weekend for our family - a reunion of the student studying abroad and the one attending grad school in the US. We were all so glad we were staying at the Hotel Golden - we had all the comfort, help, and hospitality we could want -- it was a wonderful time! I can't imagine a better place to stay in Rome.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed in the Family Suite which was huge, especially by European standards. 2 large bedrooms, a huge dining area and large bathroom. Separate private entrance. Hotel run by a very accommodating family. Lovely. Only complaint for us is it is a bit far out of the fray for us, the via veneto is very near but not the kind of restaurants in the neighborhood that work for our family. Very safe/ quiet area, 10 minute walk to metro barberini. close to borghese gardens, US embassy, Harry's Bar

Room Tip: huge family suite. Did not see other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilacious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelgoldenrome, Proprietario at Hotel Golden, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
thank you for reviewing our property and our Family Suites.. we were so happy to have the opportunity to meet and share with all your Family during your stay in Rome.

our Family Suites (we have three of these large accommodations) were built thinking of families like yours: two large bedrooms, a livingroom and one large bathroom.

it is like having your own appartment in Rome (but inside the hotel) which allows you to have all the hotel conforts while having your own appartment (size about 90 sq.m.)

all three our Family Suites come with two bedrooms, a living room and one bathroom.

completely air conditioned, wifi, non smoking, high ceilings, large windows, brand new construction and decorated by our sister Maria Teresa.

it is the perfect accommodation for families that want to have the conformt of having the family all together in the same accommodation but having at the same time the privacy of having two large bedrooms inside the suite.

the master room in the suite comes with a super king double bed while the kids room comes with two single beds (on request you can have also the kids room with a super king double bed)

obviously our Family Suites (being so large in size, as I wrote above around 90 sq. m.) come with a higher rate compared to our Family Rooms.

the Family Rooms instead are individual rooms (just one room with ensuited bathroom) the size of this room is around 23 sq.m. (including the bathroom) and we have only two of these accommodations (one of it comes with a king double bed plus two single sofabeds while the other Family Room comes with a king double bed plus a small double sofabed) as I wrote above, the rate for the Family Room is much lower than the Family Suite (and we have these two different kind of Family accommodations, the Family Rooms and the Family Suites, so that we can cover all the needs of our family guests within a broad budget rante)

regarding restaurants in our area, we strongly suggest our guests to ask us for recommendations (we have lots of small "mom & pop places where you can enjoy a nice genuine dinner at affordable prices) places where we go ourselves with our family (where you can have a nice homemade "caccio e pepe" or "amatriciana" or the "griggia", lasagna, bolognese, great seafood, steaks, grilled vegetables, soups like our Nonna will make at home (so do not forget to ask us)

and we will suggest you aswell great icecream places (gelato), pizzerie (there is one just below our building that you will be amazed how many different kind of pizzas they have.

aslo, take in consideration that if you need to rent a car, below our building you have also offices and car deposit for HERTZ and AVIS (both of them right there around the corner) and if you need to make arrangement from home, in their website look for the VIA SARDEGNA office.

I hope all the above info can be of help to our future guests.. and please, as we write to all our guests, do not hesitate to contact us for any info you might need (we will love to answer your questions and make you feel welcomed already from just asking the first questions by email)

that is the hospitaliy that we want to offer.. that is the Hotel Golden of Rome!

Grazie.. and hope to have you back soon.

Giuseppe and Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sylvania, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We stayed at this place for 4 days. The family members who works at this hotel are excellent hosts. They helped us with phone calls, internet, and other requests. They speak Italian, Spanish and English. Breakfast was always great(yes,eggs and bacon too). We really look forward to come back again and tell our friends to visit this family hotel. Our room was nice looking, clean, fresh and new towels, and comfortable. It was not very close to all areas to visit but the area was safe and very very nice. It only took as 10 minutes or less to get anywhere in Rome for only 10 or less euros. If you stay here you must visit the Villa Burghese which has a museum and gardens.It is right there close to the hotel. Thanks Marco, Giuseppe and Anna Maria. Thank your parents for having us and making us feel like at home.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beadelascasas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelgoldenrome, Proprietario at Hotel Golden, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
thank you for sharing with tripadvisor users and future guests your experience at the Hotel Golden.. it is so important for us to know directly from your words that you are already looking forward to come back and visit us again as also recommending our property to your family and friends.

thank you for pointing out how much we care about cleanning our rooms and the whole property (about changing sheets frequenly as replacing towels everyday, so that you can have the most confortable experience at our property)

as also the breakfast, with the omelettes cooked there infront of you (and not only with bacon) but also with spinach, potatoes, onions, cheese, ham) and having new recipes everyday, like the cinnamon french toasts, the home made croissants or the tiramisu (this is one of those specials that our guests like the most) or the nutella crepes, as also the fresh fruit salad (with all the fruits of the season nicely cut every morning for our guests) or those rise salad (with tuna, olives) or the tomatoes filled with rise salad.. and all that, and more, with a nice big smile to let you know how importat you are for us!

thank you for your words of appreciation and for letting us know that you felt at home with us (no better compliment that this one for us)

grazie di cuore!

Giuseppe and Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

My wife and I recently stayed at Hotel Golden prior to boarding our cruise out of Rome. We stayed two nights and we could not have been more pleased with our decision to stay at the wonderful family-run hotel. After researching on TA, we made the decision to stay here and we were so thankful we did. We secured an airport transfer through Hotel Golden, and upon arriving at FCO, we were greeted and driven to the Hotel. We arrived in the early afternoon and our room was ready for check-in. We dropped out things off in the room and headed out to explore the city. Marco provided wonderful insight so we could walk around the city and enjoy our time. The hotel is situated in a wonderful place - away from the noise and near the Borghese park - but yet within walking distance to everything in Rome including Metro Stops to take you to Vatican City.

Our room was small but lovely and plenty of room for my wife and I - it will be everything you need. We even needed a chord to charge our phone and we were given one! The breakfast was amazing each morning and we were greeted so warmly - it felt like we were staying with family! If you visit Rome, this is the place for you to stay, especially for the price. When my wife and I return to Rome, we will be staying here for sure!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David88ga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelgoldenrome, Proprietario at Hotel Golden, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
grazie, grazie!! thanks for your review, thanks for coming back to tripadvisor to communicate to future guests what staying with us at the Hotel Golden meant for you.. those last words of your review are so important for us ("it felt like we were staying with family") those words of yours tell everything about the kind of hospitality that we try with passion to offer all our guests (just like if you were coming to Rome, not only to visit the city itself, but also to visit friends, to stay at home with friends that will help you make any kind of arrangement that you will need while in Rome) because here at the Hotel Golden you will never be alone!

it is so nice to read from you own words that you are greatful of having decided through the reviews of TA to stay at the Hotel Golden, and more important for us is that you took of your valuable time to come back to tripadvisor to happily confirm previous reviews.

you make some important points in your review that we want to highlight them:

HOSPITALITY: since the first approach at the airport (with the driver waiting for you with a smile, like we ask all our drivers to do with all our guests, and if traffic conditions are not bad we always ask them to try to start giving some info of the city while they drive you from the airport to the hotel)

RECEPTION: as you arrive at the hotel we will greet you with all our knowledge of the city (like we always say, when staying at the Hotel Golden you do not really need to plan a lot, because we will take good care of you and help you visit the city as a local would do)

EARLY CHECK-IN: room ready as you arrived!!! that is also something that we care a lot (it is not always possible) but if we have early access to the rooms, we always allow early check-ins.. we like to surprise our guests having the rooms ready as early as they arrive from the airport (and if rooms are not ready early because previous guests checked out at noon, then we will greet you helping you start your journey in Rome and taking care of all your luggage until we can have the room ready for you)

LOCATION: absolutely right, out of the noisy area but within walking distance of everything (the Roman Walls just behind us and crossing the walls right there is the entrance of the Borghese Gardens, the Borghese Gallery, the Pincio, Villa Giulia)

everything within walking distance (and an easy walk, safe and enjoyable because from Via Veneto you have nice large sidewalks) full of small restaurants, caffes, pizzas, gelato (all of which are part of the experience you want to have in Rome :-)

in less than 10 min you are at the top of the Spanish Steps and samething to Trevi Fountain and from there you have all within just 5 minutes walk (one site after the other) and with the indications and the walking routes that we will draw you in the map, it will seem to you that you have done this at least another 1000 times more (you will feel like a Roman)

it is also important the point you make about public transport: very useful buses stop just at the corner of our property (116, 160, 63, 53, 80Exp) and then the metro line A stops of Barberini and Spagna (we are just in the middle of the two stops, not even 10 minutes walk each of them) as also all the hop on/off buses have a stop near our property.

116: makes a loop all the way from Via Veneto and the Borghese Gardens where we are located, going through the Spanish Steps, Via del Corso, Pantheon, Piazza Navona, Campo dei Fiori and then back home to the Hotel Golden (everytime you are tired just wait for the 116 along via del corso or via del tritone and it will take you back home)

160: takes you to Piazza Venezia (Vittorio Emanuele monument) La Bocca della Verità (the mount of truth) and Porta Portese Market

53 and 80Exp: directly from the Hotel Golden to the Colosseum

63: straight to the Jewish Ghetto and Trastevere

Metro (Barberini and Spagna) to termini train station, the Vatican, and even as far as the Park of the Roman Aqueducts (amazing attraction to visit) and we will give you directions how to visit them if it is something that is in your plans.

ROOMS: to be able to offer a different array of budget options, we have decided to build three different type of double rooms (just to give you an idea, I will use the double rooms as an example) so that we can be able to host almost all of you, being able to offer different rates (depending on the size of the rooms) but all of them beautifully decorated, with all the same conforts and our family orientation and hospitality.

we start with the SMALL DOUBLE ROOMS (with a small double bed) size about 13 sq.m. including the ensuited bathroom (we only have two of this type of rooms)

then we have the CLASSIC DOUBLE ROOMS (with a queen double bed) size around 15 sq.m. including the ensuited bathroom (this type of room comes also with two single beds) we have only two of this type of rooms.

then the SUPERIOR DOUBLE ROOMS (with a king double bed) size of 21 sq.m. including the ensuited bathroom (also this room can be chosen with two single beds instead of the king double bed) the majority of our double rooms are of this type (so we have plenty of superior rooms)

and then our top of the top, our JUNIOR SUITES (with a super king double bed) size of around 60 sq.m. including the livingroom and the ensuited bathroom (as the classics and superiors, also the junior suites can be chosen with two single beds instead of the super king double bed)

BREAKFAST: this one of those moments (very important for us) where we can greet you not only with a smile to say BUONGIORNO and wishing you a great day, but also a way to let you understand how important you as a guest are for our family (it is during the breakfast time that our mother Teresa and our sister Alina, will pampered you with all their recipes) they have new recipes everyday, cooking a fresh hommy breakfast for you!

I want to finish our response to your helpful review with something that you wrote and that we are so happy you wrote it with your own words: THE HOTEL GOLDEN WILL BE EVERYTHING YOU NEED (be sure that we always will do our best to see those smiles in your face and to be of help when needed)

thanks again!

Giuseppe and Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,259 in Rome
6,683 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#20 of 1,259 in Rome
4,145 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#33 of 1,259 in Rome
1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Deko Rome
Deko Rome
#4 of 1,259 in Rome
914 reviews
Relais 6
#30 of 1,259 in Rome
1,874 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Golden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golden

Property: Hotel Golden
Address: Via Marche 84, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Rome
#9 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#57 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#81 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Golden 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Golden of Rome is a small and genuine family run hotel where you will be welcome as family.The hotel is located in one of the best spots of the city, just behind the oasis of the Borghese Gardens (where you can visit the famous Borghese Gallery Museum) walking out of our property, in less than 100 meters you will be on Via Vittorio Veneto from where you can reach in 10 minutes of nice and enjoyable walk the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, the Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Campo di Fiori.Very well served with public transport (mini bus like the 116 and 116T, from just around the corner will take you almost every where in Rome) including a very convenient stop right next to the Vatican Square.Bus 53 and 80X directly to the Colosseum.Bus 63 to Trastevere and the Jewish Ghetto.Besides all that, we have two metro stops closeby: Barberini and Spagna.Our location is full of small little restaurants and trattorie (reasonable prices and great food and wine) we will share all that info with our guests upon arrival (places where we go ourselves to eat with the family)in other words, the Hotel Golden of Rome (like the many reviews of our dear guests around the world say) is a family run hotel for families right in the center of Rome!Full air conditioned (and air conditioning that works)free wifi in all the hotel.And the best of the best: our mother's homey breakfast (every morning she makes breakfast for our guests just like she did at home) from omelettes to "frittata", pancakes, cinnamon french toasts, croissants, crostata, ciambellone, ham, cheese, salami, mortadella, fresh tomatoes, mozzarella, ricotta, and many other daily recipes that she brings new for our guests to enjoy (like her very very light "tiramisu") you have to try it!Come and visit us.. We will be so happy to meet you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Golden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing