We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little Gem”
Review of Hotel Golden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Golden
Ranked #19 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Darwin N.T
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A little Gem”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We loved our stay at Hotel Golden. It was a great family run hotel in a fantastic location. Everything was perfect from the cleanliness of the rooms, the great quality of the food and the beautiful friendly people who made you feel like family friends and not guests. I will certainly be returning one day and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone considering a stay in Rome. Thank you Marco, Giuseppe and to all the rest of your beautiful family for making our stay so welcoming and enjoyable. Your tips on Rome made our holiday so carefree and easy. We can not wait to return.
The Rowe family.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,639 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,012
    542
    57
    21
    7
See reviews for
833
1,171
159
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We could not be happier with the location and service of this small, lovely hotel. Location is great - a few blocks from train station but enough off the beaten path to not feel like you are in a touristy area. One of the aspects I appreciated most about this hotel is that they are really attentive to their guests. Initially, I made reservations over the internet. I received a prompt confirmation from them. Later, I had to alter our dates - again, they promptly confirmed my new dates. Additionally, I had several questions about the area, etc. and they responded quickly and warmly each time to my emails. The service was of the same caliber when we arrived – welcoming and warm. After we left, Giuseppe wrote us a thank you email! Imagine that - a hotel that actually takes the time to appreciate their guests! Needless to say, we will be staying at Hotel Golden next year when we return to Rome. I would recommend it highly to anyone visiting that wonderful city!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lflone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Our first time to Rome and the service at this hotel was amazing. Marco and Guiseppe were wonderful and gave us heaps of tips and information about seeing the sights. The breakfasts were delicious thanks to Mamma Teresa, Alina, and Maria. We had the family suite and had so much room. We really felt like a home away from home. A wonderful start to our Italian vacation. Thanks to you all.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darwinmurps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

A lovely hotel and a delicious breakfast.

Our only complaint was that the room was very noisy when people were coming into the hotel during the evening and also in the morning, as the breakfast area was just outside our room. We could hear the tables being set up either late at night or early in the morning. (We stayed in the Classic Double). I could also hear the guests in the next room very clearly, especially when their alarm went off before 6am on the first morning we were there. We did ask to move rooms after the first night but were told that there were no rooms available and they would look to see if anything could be done for us but we never heard anything back.

Room Tip: Don't sleep in the rooms near the reception unless you are a heavy sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TwitTwoo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2014

First time in Rome, we stayed at the hotel for 4 days. When arriving, we felt immediately welcome.
Very kind and helpfull staff. Nice and very convenient rooms. The breakfast is prepared by the female part of the family who owns and runs the hotel. It is delicious and everything is freshly prepared. Giuseppe and Marco were very helpful to help us to find the places we liked to visit. Including numbers of buslines etc. (we had a Roma-pass for 3 days). The hotel is situated just near the Villa Borghese (beautiful park), and about 15 min. walking from Spanish steps and Trevi fountain. The map of Rome, which lays on the hoteldesk, was very helpful to us, especcially because of the information Giuseppe wrote on it. Small but good pizzeria just on the corner. When we ever come back to Rome (there is SO much we still want to see), we certainly know which hotel we will book. Thank you, Loria family!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evert Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennewick, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Golden for two nights with our two young adult children. We had two rooms and were so pleased with everything about our stay. Our rooms were lovely and larger than we expected, especially the bathrooms (I should add that the hotel upgraded our rooms from classic to superior). The location was good - safe, with good restaurant choices nearby. Rome is a large city - I'm not sure there would be anywhere you could stay that would be convenient for EVERYTHING, but Giuseppe and Marco helped us find a way to walk, ride a bus, or subway to every site we wanted to visit (we had Roma cards for the weekend). We lived by our "magic map" from the hotel. Their restaurant recommendations were excellent - reservations were made for us if we needed them. Breakfasts were delicious.

This was a special weekend for our family - a reunion of the student studying abroad and the one attending grad school in the US. We were all so glad we were staying at the Hotel Golden - we had all the comfort, help, and hospitality we could want -- it was a wonderful time! I can't imagine a better place to stay in Rome.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed in the Family Suite which was huge, especially by European standards. 2 large bedrooms, a huge dining area and large bathroom. Separate private entrance. Hotel run by a very accommodating family. Lovely. Only complaint for us is it is a bit far out of the fray for us, the via veneto is very near but not the kind of restaurants in the neighborhood that work for our family. Very safe/ quiet area, 10 minute walk to metro barberini. close to borghese gardens, US embassy, Harry's Bar

Room Tip: huge family suite. Did not see other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilacious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelgoldenrome, Proprietario at Hotel Golden, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
thank you for reviewing our property and our Family Suites.. we were so happy to have the opportunity to meet and share with all your Family during your stay in Rome.

our Family Suites (we have three of these large accommodations) were built thinking of families like yours: two large bedrooms, a livingroom and one large bathroom.

it is like having your own appartment in Rome (but inside the hotel) which allows you to have all the hotel conforts while having your own appartment (size about 90 sq.m.)

all three our Family Suites come with two bedrooms, a living room and one bathroom.

completely air conditioned, wifi, non smoking, high ceilings, large windows, brand new construction and decorated by our sister Maria Teresa.

it is the perfect accommodation for families that want to have the conformt of having the family all together in the same accommodation but having at the same time the privacy of having two large bedrooms inside the suite.

the master room in the suite comes with a super king double bed while the kids room comes with two single beds (on request you can have also the kids room with a super king double bed)

obviously our Family Suites (being so large in size, as I wrote above around 90 sq. m.) come with a higher rate compared to our Family Rooms.

the Family Rooms instead are individual rooms (just one room with ensuited bathroom) the size of this room is around 23 sq.m. (including the bathroom) and we have only two of these accommodations (one of it comes with a king double bed plus two single sofabeds while the other Family Room comes with a king double bed plus a small double sofabed) as I wrote above, the rate for the Family Room is much lower than the Family Suite (and we have these two different kind of Family accommodations, the Family Rooms and the Family Suites, so that we can cover all the needs of our family guests within a broad budget rante)

regarding restaurants in our area, we strongly suggest our guests to ask us for recommendations (we have lots of small "mom & pop places where you can enjoy a nice genuine dinner at affordable prices) places where we go ourselves with our family (where you can have a nice homemade "caccio e pepe" or "amatriciana" or the "griggia", lasagna, bolognese, great seafood, steaks, grilled vegetables, soups like our Nonna will make at home (so do not forget to ask us)

and we will suggest you aswell great icecream places (gelato), pizzerie (there is one just below our building that you will be amazed how many different kind of pizzas they have.

aslo, take in consideration that if you need to rent a car, below our building you have also offices and car deposit for HERTZ and AVIS (both of them right there around the corner) and if you need to make arrangement from home, in their website look for the VIA SARDEGNA office.

I hope all the above info can be of help to our future guests.. and please, as we write to all our guests, do not hesitate to contact us for any info you might need (we will love to answer your questions and make you feel welcomed already from just asking the first questions by email)

that is the hospitaliy that we want to offer.. that is the Hotel Golden of Rome!

Grazie.. and hope to have you back soon.

Giuseppe and Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Pensione Barrett
Hotel Pensione Barrett
#16 of 1,256 in Rome
770 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,256 in Rome
6,624 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#22 of 1,256 in Rome
4,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Deko Rome
Deko Rome
#6 of 1,256 in Rome
915 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#33 of 1,256 in Rome
1,274 reviews
Relais 6
#30 of 1,256 in Rome
1,862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Golden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golden

Property: Hotel Golden
Address: Via Marche 84, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Rome
#9 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#81 Business Hotel in Rome
#122 Best Value Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Golden 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Golden of Rome is a small and genuine family run hotel where you will be welcome as family.The hotel is located in one of the best spots of the city, just behind the oasis of the Borghese Gardens (where you can visit the famous Borghese Gallery Museum) walking out of our property, in less than 100 meters you will be on Via Vittorio Veneto from where you can reach in 10 minutes of nice and enjoyable walk the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, the Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Campo di Fiori.Very well served with public transport (mini bus like the 116 and 116T, from just around the corner will take you almost every where in Rome) including a very convenient stop right next to the Vatican Square.Bus 53 and 80X directly to the Colosseum.Bus 63 to Trastevere and the Jewish Ghetto.Besides all that, we have two metro stops closeby: Barberini and Spagna.Our location is full of small little restaurants and trattorie (reasonable prices and great food and wine) we will share all that info with our guests upon arrival (places where we go ourselves to eat with the family)in other words, the Hotel Golden of Rome (like the many reviews of our dear guests around the world say) is a family run hotel for families right in the center of Rome!Full air conditioned (and air conditioning that works)free wifi in all the hotel.And the best of the best: our mother's homey breakfast (every morning she makes breakfast for our guests just like she did at home) from omelettes to "frittata", pancakes, cinnamon french toasts, croissants, crostata, ciambellone, ham, cheese, salami, mortadella, fresh tomatoes, mozzarella, ricotta, and many other daily recipes that she brings new for our guests to enjoy (like her very very light "tiramisu") you have to try it!Come and visit us.. We will be so happy to meet you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Golden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing