We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis in the chaos”
Review of Hotel Golden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Golden
Ranked #18 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Rome, noisy, busy, beautiful and amidst the ruins the exceptionally family run Hotel Golden. Well located near the Spanish steps and borgese gardens. What a pleasure to stay here. The rooms are comfortable and immaculate. The breakfast was ample and tasty with many home cooked items by Mama. Staying at this hotel was akin to spending time in your own home. We loved the whole experience. Would definitely recommend this special hotel to anyone looking for warm family relationships, beyond clean accommodation , lots of help. Re restaurants, shuttle services to the airport, doctors, pharmacies. Whatever your needs, Marco, Guisippe, Maria and mama and papa are Always at your service
Gracie
Ed and Linda
Canada

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,826)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,243 - 1,249 of 2,826 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014


We found Hotel Golden through Tripadvisor and based on the feed back from others we decided to book 5 nights for our stay in Rome. We were not disappointed, from the moment we arrived you knew the family was there to take care of us. Giuseppe greeted us at the front door and made sure we had all the information we needed. The Hotel is located on the second and third floor of a building owned by two families. The second family lives on the fourth and fifth floors.

The room we had was very clean and comfortable and even though there was a road outside the heavy double pane windows kept the traffic noise out. The area where the hotel is located is much more quiet than the heart of Rome but not too far away, it is about a 10-15 minute walk to Trevi Fountain. Giuseppe recommended some local restaurants and a wine bar and all of them were great. The pasta Carbonara at San Marco's was excellent.

One of the many highlights was the breakfast provided by the hotel which is included in the price. Mama is in charge of the cooking and everything we tried was excellent. The young woman who tends to the breakfast area always had a smile and made sure we were well served. Papa is there too but he does not say much.

If you are looking for a more intimate hotel experience in Rome this is the place to stay. There are only 15 rooms and you leave your door key at the front desk when you leave. To get back into the hotel you buzz the front desk speak your name and the door is unlocked. There is always someone there to let you in, if not Giuseppe, his brother.

As we checked out and said our goodbyes, we got the feeling the family loves what they do and look forward to meeting new friends. Forget throwing a coin in Trevi fountain, if you stay here you will definitely want to come back to Rome.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We 'found' Hotel Golden five years ago and will never go anywhere else while staying in Rome. We've stayed four times and it always feel like home to us. Giuseppe and family always welcome us with open arms and have wonderful new recommendations every time we stay. Mamma Teresa makes the most delicious breakfasts with a variety of foods (fresh fruits, pastries, meats, cheeses, eggs, coffee, orange juice and many specialities), and the accommodations are roomy, quiet, and very well decorated and appointed. The location is perfect as it is easy walking distance to all the great sites in Rome and there are many fabulous restaurants and shops within 5-10 mins walk. We've just returned from a week with Giuseppe and family and can't wait to go back again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights. The hotel is located in a safe neighborhood, one block off of Via Veneto, near the US Embassy. We received a warm welcome from Teresa and Giuseppe was most helpful with restaurant reservations. Borghese Gardens are nearby and there is a gelateria next door. The room was ok, a little small for 5 nights, since there was no place to sit besides the bed. There was one chair. The windows looked out over the old Roman wall and the view was wonderful. The bathroom was laid out a bit strangely with the toilet right up against the shower stall. For anyone taller than 6 feet, it would be hard to sit on the toilet comfortably. Also the door stuck on the warped floor and made a lot of noise when we closed it. We had one night of rude, loud guests from the UK and had to tell them to please be quiet. We were hoping the hotel staff would have taken care of it since it was happening near the front desk, but they did not. The breakfast was very good with meats, cheeses, soft-boiled eggs, frittatas, cereal, cakes, cornettos, juice, milk, tea, and coffee. If you are staying here more than a couple of nights you will need a room with a sofa. We had a superior double. There was a minibar with room to store your own water. There was a pharmacy nearby as well. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay away from the breakfast room. They set up around 11 pm and we could hear everything and in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gapeachiekeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I travelled to Rome with my mother and daughter for a special trip in May. I read the reviews for Hotel Golden and decided to book since the reviews were good. Well, the reviews did not do this hotel justice. It exceeded my expectations.. The family run hotel prides itself on great and friendly service. They are a family that want to make your stay special and comfortable. Each family member makes you feel like you are part of their family. The breakfast in the morning is amazing, made lovingly by Teresa, the mother of the family. Very tasty, authentic food and abundant. The rooms are beautifully appointed and clean. The family gives great tips on how to get around the city and is so knowledgeable of restaurants, bus service, etc... The location is central to anywhere you need to get to in Rome. I have been to Rome many times, and this is the BEST hotel I have stayed in. I will no longer look for any other hotel when I travel to Rome. It will always be Hotel Golden.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MacFamily35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

The benefit of staying at a small hotel is the personal touch. Giuseppe and Marco are fabulous! They could not have more helpful or friendlier. Breakfasts were excellent and varied. Even met mama. The Romanian girl, sorry I don't know her name, always had a smile and was so efficient. This hotel is located near Via Veneto and is near bus transportation and is in a safe neighborhood. Hotel Golden checks off everything on your list you would want.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzannetr7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Loved this hotel-family run and very friendly-could not do more to help us-we were welcomed warmly -they arranged for a car from the airport and also arranged for our transfer to the Rome cruise port-we had a lovely dinner at a recommended restaurant-thanks for everything!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trastevere
Hotel Residenza San Calisto
Parioli
Suite Oriani
Suite Oriani
#10 of 1,271 in Rome
426 reviews
Trieste
Palm Gallery Hotel
Palm Gallery Hotel
#20 of 1,271 in Rome
1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Relais 6
#37 of 1,271 in Rome
1,916 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#19 of 1,271 in Rome
4,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Golden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golden

Address: Via Marche 84 | next to the old Roman Walls, the Borghese Gardens, Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountain, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Rome
#9 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#38 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#81 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £51 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Golden 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Golden of Rome is a small and genuine family run hotel where you will be welcome as family.The hotel is located in one of the best spots of the city, just behind the oasis of the Borghese Gardens (where you can visit the famous Borghese Gallery Museum) walking out of our property, in less than 100 meters you will be on Via Vittorio Veneto from where you can reach in 10 minutes of nice and enjoyable walk the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, the Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Campo di Fiori.Very well served with public transport (mini bus like the 116 and 116T, from just around the corner will take you almost every where in Rome) including a very convenient stop right next to the Vatican Square.Bus 53 and 80X directly to the Colosseum.Bus 63 to Trastevere and the Jewish Ghetto.Besides all that, we have two metro stops closeby: Barberini and Spagna.Our location is full of small little restaurants and trattorie (reasonable prices and great food and wine) we will share all that info with our guests upon arrival (places where we go ourselves to eat with the family)in other words, the Hotel Golden of Rome (like the many reviews of our dear guests around the world say) is a family run hotel for families right in the center of Rome!Full air conditioned (and air conditioning that works)free wifi in all the hotel.And the best of the best: our mother's homey breakfast (every morning she makes breakfast for our guests just like she did at home) from omelettes to "frittata", pancakes, cinnamon french toasts, croissants, crostata, ciambellone, ham, cheese, salami, mortadella, fresh tomatoes, mozzarella, ricotta, and many other daily recipes that she brings new for our guests to enjoy (like her very very light "tiramisu") you have to try it!Come and visit us.. We will be so happy to meet you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Nozio Netplan srl and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Golden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing