We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The girls hit Rome”
Review of Hotel Golden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Golden
Ranked #20 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I took my daughter and 2 granddaughter to Rome and stayed at the Hotel Golden. The family is so friendly and helpful, I can only say positive things about the experience. They helped us get last minute tour tickets that were more than we could have expected. We wanted to see the Colosseum, but the tour ended up taking us on a 3 hour tour that ended at Piazza Novella. It was well worth the money! If you prefer walking everywhere, it is a bit of a hike to some locations, but we managed to do everything without any problems. For those who prefer, they are also close to the metro. What makes the trade off worth while is being across the street from the Borghese Gardens and on a quiet street. My daughter and I would sit in the window at night sipping wine and watching the locals go by.

Room Tip: WE went for a deluxe room and got the corner with a nice window to look out plus a large window in t...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,726)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Golden
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,142 - 1,148 of 2,726 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Don't be out off by the 2 star official rating. This place is fantastic. Lovely rooms, really comfortable. Service is outstanding, very friendly and provide excellent recommendations. All of which worked out really well. The breakfasts are really well prepared with homemade cakes made pretty much every day. The only reason I have not given it 5 stars is because there are no tea or coffee making facilities in the room. Very minor point. A must stay place for time spent in Rome.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank AdrianCTate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This was our first time in Rome, and our visit became an experience because of the kindness of the Loria family. We arrived in turmoil because my camera died, and Guiseppe took time from his busy day to take me to a local camera shop where I was able to buy a replacement camera. So one very grateful tourist, and just one example of their desire to go the extra mile. A truly "golden" experience.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Pwrsharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Our family of five (all adult age) had the pleasure of staying at the Hotel Golden for four nights in May 2014. We had such a lovely stay to be certain. The neighborhood is excellent. Convenient small shops and eateries are very close by. The location off the Via Veneto, and near the Villa Borghese, is perfect. The Barberini metro stop is just a short five minute walk down the Via Veneto, such an iconic street. The Loria family is so welcoming and helpful in every way. We were advised as to metro stops, restaurants, both in the neighborhood and in other areas of the city, amenities, bus routes, camera shops, etc. You name it, they helped us out. Our transportation from the airport to the hotel, arranged by the hotel, was seamless. They also assisted us with taxi transportation for five (with lots of luggage) to the train station upon our departure. All was a breeze. The breakfasts, as previously written about, were just lovely and delicious!!! It is obvious how much love mama Teresa and Marco's wife (so sorry,...is it Alina???) put into creating a delicious breakfast each morning. There were certain basics that were scrumptious, but every day there was some special addition to make you feel wonderful. The morning "buongiorno" and smiles were truly heartfelt. We will treasure our stay, and know we will only stay at Hotel Golden when next in Roma. Kisses upon departure with the whole family sum it all up. If you are looking for a very small, family-run, cozy and welcoming home in Roma, this is your place. Marco, Guiseppe, Teresa, Alina, we thank you all!!!

Jerry, Elise, Alexandra, Annaliese, Salvatore

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seahorses5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed for just one night in this lovely family run hotel after a holiday in Umbria. It's situated in a quiet neighbourhood by the Villa Borghese and the service is excellent especially for the price. The family could not be more helpful. Breakfast was full of home made items. A great place for a short break in Rome which is outstanding value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigKevTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We were six women making our way through Italy. Our last stop was Hotel Golden. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, we felt warm and invited. I love the personal treatment you receive from a committed family run business. We stayed in the family suite which was amazing. Our friends stayed in the main hotel and were happy with their room. Breakfast was wonderful, with many handmade goodies. I highly recommend this property!

Room Tip: If you have four people, the family suite is a perfect option.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deidre F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights at Hotel Golden in late May and I would strongly recommend it to anyone who is seeking a smaller family run hotel in a very quiet and convenient part of Rome. The Loria family were all most friendly and helpful and our room was the largest and most comfortable we experienced during our entire visit to Italy. The hotel was within walking distance to most major attractions and the near by restaurants were excellent. I can not recommend this hotel highly enough and it fully deserves it's high ranking on Trip Advisor.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,267 in Rome
6,808 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,267 in Rome
4,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#36 of 1,267 in Rome
1,354 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Deko Rome
Deko Rome
#5 of 1,267 in Rome
926 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#17 of 1,267 in Rome
2,969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Golden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golden

Address: Via Marche 84 | next to the old Roman Walls, the Borghese Gardens, Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountain, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Rome
#9 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#76 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#81 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £55 - £269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Golden 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Golden of Rome is a small and genuine family run hotel where you will be welcome as family.The hotel is located in one of the best spots of the city, just behind the oasis of the Borghese Gardens (where you can visit the famous Borghese Gallery Museum) walking out of our property, in less than 100 meters you will be on Via Vittorio Veneto from where you can reach in 10 minutes of nice and enjoyable walk the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, the Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Campo di Fiori.Very well served with public transport (mini bus like the 116 and 116T, from just around the corner will take you almost every where in Rome) including a very convenient stop right next to the Vatican Square.Bus 53 and 80X directly to the Colosseum.Bus 63 to Trastevere and the Jewish Ghetto.Besides all that, we have two metro stops closeby: Barberini and Spagna.Our location is full of small little restaurants and trattorie (reasonable prices and great food and wine) we will share all that info with our guests upon arrival (places where we go ourselves to eat with the family)in other words, the Hotel Golden of Rome (like the many reviews of our dear guests around the world say) is a family run hotel for families right in the center of Rome!Full air conditioned (and air conditioning that works)free wifi in all the hotel.And the best of the best: our mother's homey breakfast (every morning she makes breakfast for our guests just like she did at home) from omelettes to "frittata", pancakes, cinnamon french toasts, croissants, crostata, ciambellone, ham, cheese, salami, mortadella, fresh tomatoes, mozzarella, ricotta, and many other daily recipes that she brings new for our guests to enjoy (like her very very light "tiramisu") you have to try it!Come and visit us.. We will be so happy to meet you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nozio Netplan srl, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Golden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing