We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Family Hotel”
Review of Hotel Golden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Golden
Ranked #19 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Family Hotel”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The breakfast is the best we had in Europe! Mark and his family are so nice! He helped us with our luggage even though we arrived late night. He gave my husband instruction about where to park the car. They provided us with lots of guides about traveling Roma, even laundry place.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,639 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,012
    542
    57
    21
    7
See reviews for
833
1,171
159
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Affordable and friendly. Ideally located. Family owned and operated. Wonderful homemade breakfast. The owners/operators/family were extremely helpful with directions, bus routes, restaurant suggestions, etc...they were delightful, warm, lovely people. Room set up/size varied...the double was pretty "tight", but who cares...all we did was sleep there. My parents are 70 plus and mobile, but the steps in and out of their bathroom and the shower were worrisome after a long day of walking and the steps in and out of the building and up to the lobby might not be good for some guests. Otherwise, I highly recommend Hotel Golden for your Rome accommodations.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 June 2014

If a quiet well located small hotel is what you are seeking then I suggest you make an early reservation at the Hotel Golden to secure your room. The family members who operate the hotel are all warm, friendly, and extremely helpful. A bonus is the wonderful breakfast prepared each morning by the family matriarch, an always smiling and cheerful Mama.
I try not to leave anything valuable in my hotel room when I depart for the day but never gave it a second thought during my recent three night stay as the security of the premises was always in the hands of a family member. Close by are excellent reasonable restaurants, a subway station,
the Via Veneto, and the delightful villa Borghese grounds.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadeane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus
Level Contributor
72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Golden for three nights before a cruise in early May, 2014. I have titled my review "Optimal Hotel" because I was challenged to find a hotel in Rome that had good reviews, was affordable, and at a location where we could walk to many of Rome's attractions. This hotel fit the bill! Our room was ready for us when we arrived around 11 am, which was nice for the nap we always need after a short night on the plane. The room had everything you could need, although the bed was a bit hard. Breakfast was excellent, with many choices for a small place.

We could easily walk to the Spanish Steps, the Borghese Gallery, The Trevi Fountain, and on from there. After long days of walking, we tended to take a taxi back. One night we ate near the hotel at a nice restaurant recommended by the owner.

One tangential issue: the hotel web site speaks of a car service for transfers. We planned to use it and had signed up for a ride from the airport when we arrived. However, they were not there (no problem--it was easy to find another ride in). We then arranged for a ride to the cruise port. The driver was 15 minutes late (not a big deal). However, he was supposed to drop us off right at the ship. Instead, he dropped us off just before the entrance to the pier. We had to walk the remaining 100 yards or so dragging our bags. It looked like the driver did this to avoid the toll to enter the pier, which was supposedly included in the fare. Again, not a huge deal, but all in all, I cannot recommend using this service.

However, i highly recommend the Hotel Golden.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the front desk and dining room area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JordanF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I took my daughter and 2 granddaughter to Rome and stayed at the Hotel Golden. The family is so friendly and helpful, I can only say positive things about the experience. They helped us get last minute tour tickets that were more than we could have expected. We wanted to see the Colosseum, but the tour ended up taking us on a 3 hour tour that ended at Piazza Novella. It was well worth the money! If you prefer walking everywhere, it is a bit of a hike to some locations, but we managed to do everything without any problems. For those who prefer, they are also close to the metro. What makes the trade off worth while is being across the street from the Borghese Gardens and on a quiet street. My daughter and I would sit in the window at night sipping wine and watching the locals go by.

Room Tip: WE went for a deluxe room and got the corner with a nice window to look out plus a large window in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Don't be out off by the 2 star official rating. This place is fantastic. Lovely rooms, really comfortable. Service is outstanding, very friendly and provide excellent recommendations. All of which worked out really well. The breakfasts are really well prepared with homemade cakes made pretty much every day. The only reason I have not given it 5 stars is because there are no tea or coffee making facilities in the room. Very minor point. A must stay place for time spent in Rome.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AdrianCTate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This was our first time in Rome, and our visit became an experience because of the kindness of the Loria family. We arrived in turmoil because my camera died, and Guiseppe took time from his busy day to take me to a local camera shop where I was able to buy a replacement camera. So one very grateful tourist, and just one example of their desire to go the extra mile. A truly "golden" experience.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Pwrsharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Pensione Barrett
Hotel Pensione Barrett
#16 of 1,257 in Rome
770 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,257 in Rome
6,624 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#22 of 1,257 in Rome
4,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Deko Rome
Deko Rome
#6 of 1,257 in Rome
915 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#34 of 1,257 in Rome
1,275 reviews
Relais 6
#31 of 1,257 in Rome
1,862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Golden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golden

Property: Hotel Golden
Address: Via Marche 84, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Rome
#9 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#81 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Golden 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Golden of Rome is a small and genuine family run hotel where you will be welcome as family.The hotel is located in one of the best spots of the city, just behind the oasis of the Borghese Gardens (where you can visit the famous Borghese Gallery Museum) walking out of our property, in less than 100 meters you will be on Via Vittorio Veneto from where you can reach in 10 minutes of nice and enjoyable walk the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, the Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Campo di Fiori.Very well served with public transport (mini bus like the 116 and 116T, from just around the corner will take you almost every where in Rome) including a very convenient stop right next to the Vatican Square.Bus 53 and 80X directly to the Colosseum.Bus 63 to Trastevere and the Jewish Ghetto.Besides all that, we have two metro stops closeby: Barberini and Spagna.Our location is full of small little restaurants and trattorie (reasonable prices and great food and wine) we will share all that info with our guests upon arrival (places where we go ourselves to eat with the family)in other words, the Hotel Golden of Rome (like the many reviews of our dear guests around the world say) is a family run hotel for families right in the center of Rome!Full air conditioned (and air conditioning that works)free wifi in all the hotel.And the best of the best: our mother's homey breakfast (every morning she makes breakfast for our guests just like she did at home) from omelettes to "frittata", pancakes, cinnamon french toasts, croissants, crostata, ciambellone, ham, cheese, salami, mortadella, fresh tomatoes, mozzarella, ricotta, and many other daily recipes that she brings new for our guests to enjoy (like her very very light "tiramisu") you have to try it!Come and visit us.. We will be so happy to meet you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Golden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing