We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roma!”
Review of Hotel Golden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Golden
Ranked #18 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Our family of 4 (two older children) stayed in the quad room at Hotel Golden and totally enjoyed ourselves. The beds were comfortable, air conditioning worked great, and the location is really ideal (Via Vendeto 2 blocks away). We especially liked the wonderful breakfasts each morning. They treat you like family and make you feel comfortable right away. It was our first time visiting Roma and will stay again at Hotel Golden if we ever get a chance to return.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank 4rabbits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,829)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,205 - 1,211 of 2,830 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014

Recently back from a five night stay at Hotel Golden. Have stayed in many hotels throughout Europe the past 5 years and I have never experienced the level of personalized service and genuine warmth that we received from this family run hotel.

Rome was our last stop on a month long journey through Italy with my 81 year old father. Unfortunately, he had injured his knee a day before our arrival which severely limited his mobility. We were both depressed as Rome was to be the big finish to our trip.

Upon arrival we were greeted by Guiseppe. I told him about our situation and he assured me not to worry as we are "home" now. He told me all about the area and how to get to some of the major tourist sights. He marked this in great detail on the included map. We were introduced to other family members including his kind father Mario and his mother, Teresa, who would be preparing a home cooked breakfast each morning. The room was cozy and clean with little details that inspired further confidence like a small bowl of hard candies and drawer knobs that had little floral designs on them. TV was a little odd to turn on but given instructions cleared that up and it worked fine with a handful of English language options.

The next morning Guiseppe asked me how my father was doing. I told him he was still pretty immobile and that I might look into renting a wheelchair or something. As I was coming back from breakfast Guiseppe and his brother, Marco, had found a place close by where we could rent a chair. They had all the details, prices, how to get there, what to expect. Never even asked, they took the initiative to help out.

We had lots of special requests during our stay and always got thoughtful answers. Directions on moving about with the wheelchair, calling cabs for us, how to order carryout from nearby restaurants, various recommendations. Saw this personalized service with other guests as well. A note on the wheelchair: Rome is not set up well for this kind of travel, however, it did allow us to get out. The hotel is also not large enough for wheelchair access but my father was able to hobble down to the front door.

A special mention must be made of breakfast. We had some threadbare breakfast spreads at other hotels in Italy during our travels. This one is as advertised. Homemade, varied, fresh and served with a smile by Teresa and Alina. Omlette slices, all manner of sweets, Italian rice balls and the usual were all well represented.

The hotel location is good, located on a quiet street near the action of Via Veneto. Public transport options such as a metro station and electric bus #116 are also close. Watch out for the cabs as the rates double in the early evening. I suggest San Marco restaurant nearby for tasty pizza and pasta in a modern high energy atmosphere. Hotel Golden, really nice people and a really nice hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This hotel is located a few meters form Via Veneto, close to US Embassy and in an elegant area.
It is a two-story "Palazzo". There isn't a big Reception or a big breakfast lounge neither facilities, but rooms are very comfortable, clean, quiet and full of amenities. Breakfast is big, varied and tasty: fruits, espresso, capuchino, bakery, pastries, cheeses, omelettes, cereals, cold cuts, yogurt, juices, jams, etc.
On the second floor there are 3 adjoining rooms with infividual bathrooms each very suitable for a large family or a group of friends. In the hotel surroundings there are all kinds of restaurants which are high quality. My favourite is Sardegna, but you can choose any.
Golden Rome is a family business. Everybody who works there are very helpful when it comes to eating well, shopping, sightseeing, and so on. They are very cozy and friendly, I will always remember Giuseppe and Alina.

Room Tip: Any is OK. If you like big rooms those are on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnabellaForoRoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I loved this hotel. The location was great - close to walking so many places. Great food options and the owners helped me find places to eat, get transportation to the airport and take care of a travel issue I was having. My room was clean. The Wi-fi was great. The breakfast in the morning was so delicious. I love that it is located right by the Borgese Gardens, a lovely place to walk.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I travel solo and stayed in Hotel Golden for 20 nights and am very happy to have done so. It is a family run hotel and everybody will go out of their way to assist you. Special thanks to Giuseppe and Carlo at the front desk who are most helpful and assisted me many times with great pleasure. The room was small but clean and well decorated. The breakfast was excellent and well kept up. Overall a great experience that I will repeat should the occasion arise.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I agree with everything other very satisfied reviewers have said about great location, value for money, lovely breakfasts and tastefully decorated, very clean rooms. But I'd like to particularly mention the wonderful service provided by this family-run hotel. It's like having your own family looking after you in Rome! I was in a group of five friends staying here to celebrate our 'golden' fiftieth birthdays, and we couldn't have made a better choice, or been better looked after. We contacted the hotel in advance of our trip with our outline plans, and they gave us great advice as well as booking transfers, restaurants, guides and tours. And they are so friendly!! I'm looking forward to my next visit already!

Room Tip: Check the hotel website, where details of each room are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ann57789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We were very happy we chose hotel Golden. The owners were very nice people, and very helpfull. The hotel is in a quiet neighbourhood, but on walking distance from everything we wantend to visit. The rooms are nice and clean and the beds excellent. Breakfast was also great. A lot of nice little restaurants in the neighbourhood. Next time we will be back and bring our doughters. There are also nice big familyrooms in the hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kinemien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trastevere
Hotel Residenza San Calisto
Parioli
Suite Oriani
Suite Oriani
#10 of 1,271 in Rome
427 reviews
Trieste
Palm Gallery Hotel
Palm Gallery Hotel
#20 of 1,271 in Rome
1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Relais 6
#37 of 1,271 in Rome
1,919 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#19 of 1,271 in Rome
4,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Golden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golden

Address: Via Marche 84 | next to the old Roman Walls, the Borghese Gardens, Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountain, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Rome
#9 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#34 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#81 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £51 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Golden 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Golden of Rome is a small and genuine family run hotel where you will be welcome as family.The hotel is located in one of the best spots of the city, just behind the oasis of the Borghese Gardens (where you can visit the famous Borghese Gallery Museum) walking out of our property, in less than 100 meters you will be on Via Vittorio Veneto from where you can reach in 10 minutes of nice and enjoyable walk the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, the Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Campo di Fiori.Very well served with public transport (mini bus like the 116 and 116T, from just around the corner will take you almost every where in Rome) including a very convenient stop right next to the Vatican Square.Bus 53 and 80X directly to the Colosseum.Bus 63 to Trastevere and the Jewish Ghetto.Besides all that, we have two metro stops closeby: Barberini and Spagna.Our location is full of small little restaurants and trattorie (reasonable prices and great food and wine) we will share all that info with our guests upon arrival (places where we go ourselves to eat with the family)in other words, the Hotel Golden of Rome (like the many reviews of our dear guests around the world say) is a family run hotel for families right in the center of Rome!Full air conditioned (and air conditioning that works)free wifi in all the hotel.And the best of the best: our mother's homey breakfast (every morning she makes breakfast for our guests just like she did at home) from omelettes to "frittata", pancakes, cinnamon french toasts, croissants, crostata, ciambellone, ham, cheese, salami, mortadella, fresh tomatoes, mozzarella, ricotta, and many other daily recipes that she brings new for our guests to enjoy (like her very very light "tiramisu") you have to try it!Come and visit us.. We will be so happy to meet you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Golden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing