We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful hotel and value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Golden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Golden
Ranked #18 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Moorestown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel and value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

The thing that stands out most about this hotel is the family that runs it - extremely helpful and friendly, from riding with you to the parking garage to recommending restaurants to even making sure my dad and son could watch World Cup soccer, Marco, Guiseppe, Maria and Mama and Papa all made us feel like we were at home.

Besides the hospitality, the rooms are well maintained, clean and up to date. We had a family room for 4 which was more than big enough with good air conditioning and free wifi. Breakfast was the best we had experienced in Italy as far as variety and quality (even included mini-omelets and bacon). We loved the location - a quieter part of Rome, yet a short walk from Via Veneto and major hop on/off bus routes and an easy cab ride to all areas of city. A good amount of nice restaurants nearby. Overall, very little not to like about this hotel and if we are lucky enough to return to Rome someday, we know where we will stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bosox1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,531 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,919
    531
    54
    20
    7
See reviews for
802
1,119
147
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

We were very impressed with this family run boutique hotel. The brothers were efficient and very helpful in giving directions, tips, recommendations and making bookings. Breakfast was in a tiny area but it was amazing and delicious. We walked to most attractions but we found taxis were not too expensive and the metro and buses were also handy to the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maclinksgoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

It was my first time traveling alone and out of the country and I am so glad I chose Hotel Golden. I honestly did feel at home here and it made my whole experience in Roma so much better. From the moment I walked in the door, the owner was there with a map highlighting the routes to take to all the important landmarks. He even showed me the best way to get around town by either using the bus or metro system. The room was great for a single. MOST IMPORTANTLY, breakfast was amazing!! I highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aaron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

This is my first time to write a review but I had to share the wonderful experience we had during our stay in May at Hotel Golden. The entire staff was so helpful. They went out of their way to help us with reservations and recommendations. The breakfast was excellent and varied. We loved the location and could walk to many of our destinations. However, there was a taxi stop just around the corner from the hotel. I would highly recommend this hotel for a reasonably priced hotel. We will stay in on our next trip to Rome.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LJMFLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawaii
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

We had a triple rm which accommodate d my husband and myself and an adult daughter.
Located in via veneto area, more upscale neighborhood far from the maddening crowds. However easy walk to Spanish steps and shopping areas. Tiny breakfast room, opens quite late (7:30 am) slow wifi and wasnt able to operate tv. Very clean, Large bathroom. Couple flight of stairs, tiny elevator,, lovely, helpful family run. Downstairs there is a little Cafe if you need early coffee, pastries, etc. Would stay again but expensive I guess during summer.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Hula22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bondi, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

I stayed at the Golden twice on this visit to Rome and had booked the single room. Good size for a single. Service is outstanding and friendly from the housekeeper to the breakfast lady. Giuseppe and Marco are ready to assist at any enquiry.
The breakfast is full of choices and made with love. Loved the frittata and fresh ricotta.
The small problem in 115 the wifi signal not strong. Good location with buses or metro and walking close to spanga and other main attractions.

Room Tip: The small rooms for single use good size for Rome
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kerry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

We were fortunate enough to be able to visit Rome for a second time, this time with my parents, and we certainly weren't disappointed. Thank you Giuseppe and Marco for a wonderful stay and recommendations as before. We love your place and will definitely stay here again, hopefully sooner than later. I don't want too many people to know about this secret, but this is a great location with great hospitality. Thank you to the entire family breakfasts were outstanding, and thank you for making my entire family feeling welcome. We look forward to our next stay.

Room Tip: No pool and fitness center, but c'mon, you're in Rome! Excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JPuffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trieste
Palm Gallery Hotel
Palm Gallery Hotel
#20 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#27 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parioli
Suite Oriani
Suite Oriani
#14 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,373 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Golden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golden

Property: Hotel Golden
Address: Via Marche 84, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Rome
#9 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#79 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#81 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Golden 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Golden of Rome is a small and genuine family run hotel where you will be welcome as family.The hotel is located in one of the best spots of the city, just behind the oasis of the Borghese Gardens (where you can visit the famous Borghese Gallery Museum) walking out of our property, in less than 100 meters you will be on Via Vittorio Veneto from where you can reach in 10 minutes of nice and enjoyable walk the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, the Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Campo di Fiori.Very well served with public transport (mini bus like the 116 and 116T, from just around the corner will take you almost every where in Rome) including a very convenient stop right next to the Vatican Square.Bus 53 and 80X directly to the Colosseum.Bus 63 to Trastevere and the Jewish Ghetto.Besides all that, we have two metro stops closeby: Barberini and Spagna.Our location is full of small little restaurants and trattorie (reasonable prices and great food and wine) we will share all that info with our guests upon arrival (places where we go ourselves to eat with the family)in other words, the Hotel Golden of Rome (like the many reviews of our dear guests around the world say) is a family run hotel for families right in the center of Rome!Full air conditioned (and air conditioning that works)free wifi in all the hotel.And the best of the best: our mother's homey breakfast (every morning she makes breakfast for our guests just like she did at home) from omelettes to "frittata", pancakes, cinnamon french toasts, croissants, crostata, ciambellone, ham, cheese, salami, mortadella, fresh tomatoes, mozzarella, ricotta, and many other daily recipes that she brings new for our guests to enjoy (like her very very light "tiramisu") you have to try it!Come and visit us.. We will be so happy to meet you! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Golden Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing