We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short but sweet stay”
Review of Hotel Golden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Golden
Ranked #17 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Woodstock, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Short but sweet stay”
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

We were only in Rome one day as a stopover on our way to Greece. We arrived at the hotel around 11 and our room was already ready for us. The staff were friendly and welcoming. We were given a map and shown the best routes to walk to all the main attractions or the bus numbers, which helped immensely as one part of the metro was closed due to an accident. Our room was small but we were only in it to sleep, so it didn't matter. It's in a nice and safe area and has a few good restaurants within close walking distance. We left to catch a plane at 5am so we were not able to enjoy the breakfast but as we were checking in, another guest walked past us and said "the breakfast is amazing!" Definitely a good place to stay in Rome.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank nic_817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,685 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,052
    548
    57
    21
    7
See reviews for
858
1,186
162
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Renton WA
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I knew this hotel was going to be something special even before we arrived. I sent many e-mails asking questions and each one was answered promptly and with great detail, I especially appreciated the information about which taxi to take to get to the hotel!
From the minute we arrived we were made to feel like very special guests, Guiseppe provided us with excellent information on how to explore Rome. Though our first room was nice, he insisted that he move us to an even bigger room the next day. The room was very nice with a large and beautiful bathroom.
We needed to deal with some business at home and Marco assisted us with the necessary printing and faxing.
Yes, other hotels would provide similar services, what makes The Hotel Golden is the warmth of this wonderful family and their kind and generous hearts.
Each morning Mamma Teresa cooks the most delicious breakfast, you feel like she is cooking just for you. Most European breakfasts are just coffee, juice and a croissant - not here!
There is endless juice and coffee, eggs and breakfast meats, assorted rolls and cheese, quiche, frittata, fruit and DESSERTS! The homemade tiramisu is NOT to be missed!!! Plus Mamma came out and greeted each of her guests.
Being Italian American I longed to make connections while in Italy, by the time we left this wonderful hotel I felt like we were extended family. There were hugs and tears when we had to say goodbye, kind Mamma Teresa even gave our family a small gift.
We will never forget our stay at The Hotel Golden; Il Cuore di Roma!!!

Room Tip: The family room was most welcome for our family of four!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annezk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ky
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

My family of eight stayed in three lovely rooms for one night before boarding our ship for Mediterranean cruise, I would not have found it if it weren't for the reviews on here! They are all true. The pre departure assistance from Marco and guiseppe with transportation was awesome and the service and quality and cleanliness of the hotel was incredible for the price! We had far too many bags for a small hotel with a small lift but they assisted us graciously and the rooms were quite large, especially the family suite where part of my group stayed. Everything was very clean and secure and we walked to most places or they assisted with our transportation. Breakfast was wonderful and made it hard to leave even though we only had a day and a half to sightsee! Mama Therese is a great cook! We had no complaints at all and wish we could have stayed in Rome longer but so appreciate the reviews of hotel golden and the good price that allowed us to add a stay onto our itinerary.

Room Tip: It you have a large family and don't mind sharing one bath, the family suite is quite spacious w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susieQandjacob2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

If you want a Hotel that offers the best service,assistance, make you feel welcome and a great location in Rome. Then hotel Golden is the Hotel for you.
A family owned and run Hotel,where Mamma,,Papa,Maria,Guiseppe and Marco make you feel part of the family. Excellant rooms,Mamas breakfast is great and the overall service is first class.
Would highly reccommend

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Hotel Golden is truly a family-run, small place. We loved it. The location is very good, the staff/family running it could not be more helpful and accommodating, and the room was spacious (high ceilings, big bathroom). It's a bit old-world, but charming in that way. (Hey, you are in Rome!) The breakfast was ample, and the cook herself--the grandmother in the family, I believe--came out personally to greet everyone. The rates are also reasonable. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carlo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This hotel is something very special. It is owned and fully staffed by one family. The atmosphere is so warm, friendly and helpful that you feel like you are visiting with good friends or family. Everybody you meet is so helpful. The warmth and good spirits winds up extending to the guests as well. It leads to an amazingly nice atmosphere and feeling. The rooms, although small was very clean and well appointed. The air conditioning worked great. The complimentary breakfast was great. The location was great. We walked to the colosseo, forum, Spanish steps, trevi fountain ( under repair, not worth visiting at this time) and the zoo without any problem. We will definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: We had a small twin. If we were staying for several days we would get a larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Epsac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Due to the reviews, we decided to stay here on our recent trip. Whilst we had to change rooms a couple of times, the service by far was incredible. This is a family run boutique hotel, where the dedication to ensuring customers are completely satisfied is paramount. The rooms are European in styling, reasonably sized and air conditioned (critical in summer time). The value was unbeatable. The recommendations for tours and other services were great and the hotel handled all the bookings. The breakfast was stellar and where will be ever find honey croissants again. This is not the Ritz in terms of luxury appointments, but the service was the best we experienced in all of Europe.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Justine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,261 in Rome
6,736 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,261 in Rome
4,180 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#33 of 1,261 in Rome
1,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Relais 6
#32 of 1,261 in Rome
1,881 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Deko Rome
Deko Rome
#5 of 1,261 in Rome
920 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel Residenza San Calisto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Golden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golden

Property: Hotel Golden
Address: Via Marche 84 | next to the old Roman Walls, the Borghese Gardens, Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountain, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Rome
#9 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#81 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Golden 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Golden of Rome is a small and genuine family run hotel where you will be welcome as family.The hotel is located in one of the best spots of the city, just behind the oasis of the Borghese Gardens (where you can visit the famous Borghese Gallery Museum) walking out of our property, in less than 100 meters you will be on Via Vittorio Veneto from where you can reach in 10 minutes of nice and enjoyable walk the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, the Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Campo di Fiori.Very well served with public transport (mini bus like the 116 and 116T, from just around the corner will take you almost every where in Rome) including a very convenient stop right next to the Vatican Square.Bus 53 and 80X directly to the Colosseum.Bus 63 to Trastevere and the Jewish Ghetto.Besides all that, we have two metro stops closeby: Barberini and Spagna.Our location is full of small little restaurants and trattorie (reasonable prices and great food and wine) we will share all that info with our guests upon arrival (places where we go ourselves to eat with the family)in other words, the Hotel Golden of Rome (like the many reviews of our dear guests around the world say) is a family run hotel for families right in the center of Rome!Full air conditioned (and air conditioning that works)free wifi in all the hotel.And the best of the best: our mother's homey breakfast (every morning she makes breakfast for our guests just like she did at home) from omelettes to "frittata", pancakes, cinnamon french toasts, croissants, crostata, ciambellone, ham, cheese, salami, mortadella, fresh tomatoes, mozzarella, ricotta, and many other daily recipes that she brings new for our guests to enjoy (like her very very light "tiramisu") you have to try it!Come and visit us.. We will be so happy to meet you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Nozio Netplan srl and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Golden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing