We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location in a quiet neighborhood!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Golden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Golden
Ranked #19 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle
Level Contributor
115 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Great location in a quiet neighborhood!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2009

This small hotel is in a great location. We stayed for 5 nights and our room on the second floor was large with a small sofa and desk in the room. It had a large bathroom with a huge sink that could hold all your toiletries. They had fluffy white bathrooms and slippers which was a very nice touch. We slept peacefully in the evenings and enjoyed how quiet it was. The staff was very nice and helpful.

The hotel lobby is located on the second floor and although the building has an old fashion elevator we chose to walked the stairs. The location was in a great neighborhood near the Via Veneto where all the exclusive hotels and boutiques stores are located. We walked to all the major tourist sites (Coliseum,Forum, Palatine Hill, Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, Pantheon, Travestere, Vatican City and the Borghese Park and Gallery is only a block away) from the hotel. I think the furthest destination was Vatican City (St. Peters) took about 45 minutes to walk there. The Borghese Park next door was a great getaway from the crowds. It isn't as well kept as Central Park in NYC but it is still beautiful. You could enjoy a nice walk or run or sit on a bench and read the paper after all your sightseeing.

There is a great bakery/gelato place across from the hotel. I don't recall the name but you will walk by it if you stay here. The most delectable treats tempt you easily. It was a good thing I discovered it on our last day. Otherwise, I would have been there every day.

We loved Rome and had sunny warm days while we were here in late October. I'm know we will find ourselves back to visit again and we would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank p0rt0bell0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,563 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,949
    532
    55
    20
    7
See reviews for
813
1,133
152
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
california
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2009

Writing reviews, is not something I'm particularly good at . However that said I wanted to "give-back" to this forum.
We have been to Rome several times before, but this is the first hotel we would return to. The rooms are clean and efficient. But the family owned service was outstanding. They always helped with detailed instructions in perfect english on how to get around town. Their recommendations for restaurants, was never disappointing. They were at the elevator to help up with the bags, and help us down with our bags without any wait. We hope to return one day and it will be comforting to know at the end of our long flight, we will be greeted with warmth and a comfortable bed.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ontola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2009

I took my nephew to Rome for Christmas; the Hotel golden was perfect for our stay; I wanted a hotel that was safe, clean, comfortable, affordable and in a good location and the Hotel golden was perfect. Not to mention that the family that runs the hotel were very helpful and kind. I cannot say enough about Marco and Guiseppe, brothers that own the hotel. We felt welcome and safe in this hotel. It is very small, 15 rooms, but we liked that about the hotel. It was quiet so we never had trouble sleeping. the rooms are not large, but they are comfortable, the bathrooms have good showers (very important) and the included breakfast had enough of a variety and was very typical of European hotels. I would definately stay there again and recommend this hotel to my friends. What more can you ask, a nice comfortable hotel a block off the Via Veneto with bus and metro service close by!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reallyrosieNashville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2009

I am not easy to please when it comes to hotels and was not convinced staying at a 2 or 3 star hotel would have been wise, but decided to invest less in the hotel and more on the life outside of the hotel. HOTEL GOLDEN WAS A GREAT CHOICE!!!! First, it was spotless. I have stayed at 5 star hotels with much smaller rooms. I found the room size spacious for Europe and a comfortable bed. I felt very secure when outside the hotel.
The location is next to the Spanish steps, Via Veneto and about a 15-20 minute walk to Via del Corso... up tp 10 euro taxi ride will take you anywhere if its too cold to walk.

The family that runs the hotel is so professional. I had a nightmare with my luggages, was without for 3 day and brothers Giuseppe and Marco made every effort to try to help me locate them.

I am not big on breakfast but those I traveled with found breakfast quite adequate. I am a coffee person and I had my latte at the coffee shop downstairs the hotel every morning as it was delicious!!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Avidtraveller44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lady Lake, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2009

We stayed at Hotel Golden for 3 nights prior to our cruise. Everything was great from the initial booking right up to the time of checkout. They answered every question we had e-mailed prior to arriving as well as directing us to restaurants, pharmacies and grocery stores during our stay. The airport transport they had arranged for us was waiting just outside baggage claim even though our flight arrived earlier than scheduled. They also arranged our transfer to Civitavecchia. This family run hotel is one of our new favorites. If we ever get back to Rome, this is where we will be staying. Thanks, Giuseppe, Marco and family for making our visit special!!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaybeeFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2009

Very good location. Near Metro station, taxis, Villa Borghese, Spanish Steps, and shopping. Staff at this hotel are wonderful. They anticipated our needs and provided knowledgeable and friendly guidance for nearby restaurants, sites, coffee shops, and even a grocery store. Very honest and professionally run hotel. We had a quiet, comfortable room with a full sized bathroom. Their family pride in their business is obvious and well deserved. We felt more like friends than visitors. We hope to return to Rome and will consider no other hotel. Excellent value for the price.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tlahuele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
236 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 471 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2009

Even the less favorable reviews of the Hotel Golden are accurate. With only about 15" around the bed, the standard double room really was tiny, as was the shower. We found it cozy. The staff was most helpful, the breakfast satisfying, and the location great for us. Those who want large modern rooms should look elsewhere. Recommended by the desk clerk, the Pizzeria San Marco, just a couple of blocks away, was excellent

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hoogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#29 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
Trieste
Palm Gallery Hotel
Palm Gallery Hotel
#22 of 1,291 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#23 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,291 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,457 reviews
Parioli
Suite Oriani
Suite Oriani
#15 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Golden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golden

Property: Hotel Golden
Address: Via Marche 84, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Rome
#9 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#73 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#81 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Golden 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Golden of Rome is a small and genuine family run hotel where you will be welcome as family.The hotel is located in one of the best spots of the city, just behind the oasis of the Borghese Gardens (where you can visit the famous Borghese Gallery Museum) walking out of our property, in less than 100 meters you will be on Via Vittorio Veneto from where you can reach in 10 minutes of nice and enjoyable walk the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, the Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Campo di Fiori.Very well served with public transport (mini bus like the 116 and 116T, from just around the corner will take you almost every where in Rome) including a very convenient stop right next to the Vatican Square.Bus 53 and 80X directly to the Colosseum.Bus 63 to Trastevere and the Jewish Ghetto.Besides all that, we have two metro stops closeby: Barberini and Spagna.Our location is full of small little restaurants and trattorie (reasonable prices and great food and wine) we will share all that info with our guests upon arrival (places where we go ourselves to eat with the family)in other words, the Hotel Golden of Rome (like the many reviews of our dear guests around the world say) is a family run hotel for families right in the center of Rome!Full air conditioned (and air conditioning that works)free wifi in all the hotel.And the best of the best: our mother's homey breakfast (every morning she makes breakfast for our guests just like she did at home) from omelettes to "frittata", pancakes, cinnamon french toasts, croissants, crostata, ciambellone, ham, cheese, salami, mortadella, fresh tomatoes, mozzarella, ricotta, and many other daily recipes that she brings new for our guests to enjoy (like her very very light "tiramisu") you have to try it!Come and visit us.. We will be so happy to meet you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel Golden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing