We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel with that personal touch”
Review of Hotel Golden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Golden
Ranked #18 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2010

We had booked a family room but were given an apartment (minus kitchen, thank goodness) which was great as the children had their own room. The rooms were spotlessly clean and beautifully decorated. Marco and Guiseppe could not have been more helpful recommending excellent local restaurants, advising us as on the best routes to get to various locations and booking a taxi for our return to the airport. The hotel is in a great position at the top of the Via Veneto. Travel into the city centre is very easy by train or bus.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dusselgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,804)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,052 - 2,058 of 2,804 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2010

I stayed there for 4 nights with my wife and we loved. The location is ok, its close to the bus stop in Via Venneto, make sure you get the bus # 63 to go downtown. The rooms are small but very clean and quiet. The only thing is the breakfast the room is small and the food quantaty could be better. The two brothers at the reception they are friendly and will guide with good tips to get aroung Rome.
Conclusion: For the price...I dont think I will get better and can no complain!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hobie-Acores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2010

We stayed at the Hotel Golden for a week this January. In January 2009 we stayed in a four-star hotel in the same area (Hotel Ludovisi Palace) and absolutely loved the area. Since we were on a tighter budget this year, we were looking for less expensive accommodation in the same district. We chose this hotel based on great reviews on both Tripadvisor and Booking.com and would absolutely stay there again, as well as recommend it to friends going to Rome. The location is unbeatable - in an upscale, safe neighborhood minutes away from the Spanish steps and walking distance from most tourist attractions (we didn't use public transport at all and got everywhere on foot). The hotel itself was a very pleasant surprise - the room we got was the largest we've had during all of our numerous stays in Italy (three and four-star hotels both in Rome and in smaller coastal towns such as Lido di Jesolo and Rimini), very spacious and with a large bathroom. The room looked freshly renovated, was very comfy and clean. Great bed and mattress too, we always felt well-rested in the morning. Breakfast was very decent. The staff are pleasant, helpful and professional. We found the room to be better (more spacious, bigger bathroom) than the one we had at the four-star hotel last year, and the whole experience more warm and friendly, as the hotel is small and family-run and people seem to really care about what they're doing and take pride in their job. The only difference was the small reception area with no street entrance (the hotel is inside a residential building on the second floor) but we were looking for a comfortable stay, not a fancy reception hall. I think the hotel is excellent value for the money and if we come back to Rome next year we'd definitely stay here again. From the moment of booking to our taxi back to the airport everything went without a hitch. Thank you to Hotel Golden for making our stay in Rome perfectly enjoyable!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank efp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2010

We stayed at Hotel Golden for 3 nights. The staff was very helpful, and the rooms are clean and quite spacious. All the sights are accessible on foot so we didn't use public transportation much. The only downside is a bit noisy airconditioning, which we didn't mind because we were too tired after all the sightseeing :)

Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank klotoida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2010

This was our first visit to the Hotel Golden, situated right across the road from the beautiful Borghese park and in a quiet street at the top of Via Veneto. Run mainly by two brothers, who were friendly, helpful and efficient, this is a small family hotel run on good old-fashioned service and attention to detail.
We are no strangers to Rome and have stayed in various categories of hotel in the city but although by no means the most expensive, ithe Golden may well become one of our favourites, due to a combination of well-appointed and relatively spacious rooms (go for the top-of-the-line), typically simple but appetising breakfasts and excellent attention to cleanliness.
The rooms are sound-proofed and double -glazed but you can open the windows and shutters. The room was a good size as was the bathroom.
Our hosts gave us excellent recommendations for local restaurants and one in particular, a small, cosy, family-style trattoria frequented by many locals, will certainly be on our list for future visits. Our four nights there were most enjoyable and we will use this hotel again. My only slight gripe: the wi-fi did not work all that well in our room. My mini-notebook was new and worked well elsewhere in Rome.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaydeeNewSouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2010

We just came back from a great stay at Hotel Golden. If you are looking for the big hotel experience with lots of rooms, staff and fancy lobby this definitely isn't the place for you.

We really liked the way the family who run the hotel all go out of their way to make your stay in rome a very pleasant one. They add small touches that don't cost them lots but show that they care - for example they have a stock of reasonably recent guide books to Rome that you can use to plan your stay.

At check-in one of the brothers showed us a map of the area, where we were, the best routes to metro stations and the Spanish steps and recommended some restaurants. They were really good about recommending other places to go, and if places would be closed etc.

We stayed in two rooms - the family room which was a bit bigger (nice big bathroom), and a triple room. I was a bit worried about the rooms being close to the main lobby & breakfast area, but we weren't disturbed by this at all. Both rooms + bathrooms etc were nice and clean and everything worked.

I think our only minor difficulty with the rooms was that it was difficult to control the temperature effectively (we were a bit too hot at times - which is better than being too cold :-))

The breakfast selection was good - cooked meats, bread, cereal etc. I think if you ask for it you can get an expresso, but we just went with the regular coffee every morning.

Also it's really good that the hotel provides free internet. You need to get the connection details to put into your laptop from front desk (or let them do it for you). It's so nice to have a hotel that doesn't try to nickel & dime you for internet.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harryb888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2010

My huband and I have stayed in Rome on a number of occasions the first time in this Hotel.
It is a small Hotel and family run. Marco and Guiseppe were very helpful, gave us great tips on where to eat and they organised our pick up from the airport which went off without a hitch. Breakfast is continental and filling with a good selection. Rooms are very clean and reasonable size.
Everything you would want to see and do is within easy walking distance, there is also a Metro station nearby.
Definately would consider staying there again and would recommend to family and friends

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank happywanderer070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trastevere
Hotel Residenza San Calisto
Trieste
Palm Gallery Hotel
Palm Gallery Hotel
#21 of 1,271 in Rome
1,209 reviews
Parioli
Suite Oriani
Suite Oriani
#11 of 1,271 in Rome
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Relais 6
#34 of 1,271 in Rome
1,913 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#20 of 1,271 in Rome
4,308 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Golden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golden

Address: Via Marche 84 | next to the old Roman Walls, the Borghese Gardens, Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountain, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Rome
#9 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#16 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#81 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £51 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Golden 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Golden of Rome is a small and genuine family run hotel where you will be welcome as family.The hotel is located in one of the best spots of the city, just behind the oasis of the Borghese Gardens (where you can visit the famous Borghese Gallery Museum) walking out of our property, in less than 100 meters you will be on Via Vittorio Veneto from where you can reach in 10 minutes of nice and enjoyable walk the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, the Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Campo di Fiori.Very well served with public transport (mini bus like the 116 and 116T, from just around the corner will take you almost every where in Rome) including a very convenient stop right next to the Vatican Square.Bus 53 and 80X directly to the Colosseum.Bus 63 to Trastevere and the Jewish Ghetto.Besides all that, we have two metro stops closeby: Barberini and Spagna.Our location is full of small little restaurants and trattorie (reasonable prices and great food and wine) we will share all that info with our guests upon arrival (places where we go ourselves to eat with the family)in other words, the Hotel Golden of Rome (like the many reviews of our dear guests around the world say) is a family run hotel for families right in the center of Rome!Full air conditioned (and air conditioning that works)free wifi in all the hotel.And the best of the best: our mother's homey breakfast (every morning she makes breakfast for our guests just like she did at home) from omelettes to "frittata", pancakes, cinnamon french toasts, croissants, crostata, ciambellone, ham, cheese, salami, mortadella, fresh tomatoes, mozzarella, ricotta, and many other daily recipes that she brings new for our guests to enjoy (like her very very light "tiramisu") you have to try it!Come and visit us.. We will be so happy to meet you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Golden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing