We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value - tops in service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Golden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Golden
Ranked #19 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great value - tops in service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2010

We chose the Hotel Golden through Tripadvisor and felt lucky to be there - we loved it. The location is not central Rome but many of the main tourist sites are in walkable distance and the lovely Borghese Garden is a block away. The area is quiet but not dead - there are many good restaurants nearby and, best of all, we always felt safe in the neighborhood. A busy restaurant (complete with accordion player) was just across from our room but our excellent soundproof window shut out any noise. This, combined with a comfortable mattress and pillows, made for five sleep-filled nights - after all the walking we did, this was welcome. The room was quite small but comfortable; the bathroom was kept spotless by the staff, and clean towels appeared every day. We were very happy with breakfast which was excellent - always a good fresh variety of meats, cheeses, breads, fruit, cold cereal, etc. What really sets the Golden apart is the service - and makes this hotel a great value! Marco and Giuseppe were SO helpful, spent time answering every question (in excellent English, BTW), recommended tours and restaurants, had the weather forecast every morning (it was rainy so this was important in planning our days) and told us specifically which buses and trains to use. Their generous advice made a big difference in our experience of Rome and we are forever grateful. If you want room service, a hotel restaurant, or corporate desk staff, this hotel is not for you. However, the warmth, friendliness and knowledge of Rome exhibited here made us wish we could stay longer - they were happy to arrange transport from the airport (40 EU), tour bookings, museum reservations, etc. It reminded us of the family-run pensiones of days gone by; the kind of place that figures into your memories of the city and makes you want to come back. Hopefully, we'll get to stay at the Golden again soon!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ketchill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,563 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,949
    532
    55
    20
    7
See reviews for
813
1,133
152
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
northern california
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2010

This is a great place to stay in Rome. They give you information on the lay of the land and how to access wherever you wish to go. The metro is easy to access, an entrance only a block away but a walk to the actual train. You can walk to most all of Rome, but may not be easy if you don't like walking. Hotel Golden provides all the basics, toiletries, hair dryer, breakfast which includes cereal, yogurt , pastries and coffee/tea. You leave keys at the desk when you leave your room and they keep them for you. The building is secure with a buzzer system. I wouldn't use the safe as anyone with access to the room could pick it up and walk off with it. It was nice and quiet for sleeping as the neighborhood is not too loud. I would stay here again. If you like to be right where the action is as well as the noise that goes with that, this is not the place for you. There is a computer available with internet access if need be. We also got internet access in our room for a blackberry.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ali1125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limeira, SP
Level Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2010

My sister and I stayed at Hotel Golden in Rome for 4 days, and recomend this hotel.
It is dificult to find good hotels in Rome for a reasonable price, and in a good location.
The Hotel Golden is very clean, the rooms are very spacious, the bath room is very nice, the rooms are quiet because the windows are soundproof and the breakfast is very nice.
The family that runs the hotel live there and take care of every detail. Giuseppe is very helpful, he told us about everything, how to go to the places, what bus or metro take, the restaurants.
The hotel is one block from Via Veneto, from Vila Borghese, can walk to Piazza de Spagna. There is a restaurant very good near the hotel called S. Marco.
We love stay at Hotel Golden, I make the reservation based on the reviews I read at Trip Advisor, and they are really true.
Cida

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2010

My mother and I stayed at the Hotel Golden in August 2009 and it was definitely the right choice!! I found this hotel through these recommendations on trip advisor and trust me...we are happy we did as this hotel is fantastic!! We stayed for 3 nights in Rome before heading down to Sicily to visit relatives. The hotel is in a fantastic spot (walking distance to sights, or if you wish, a short walk to the subway), and at an excellent price. The rooms were impeccably clean, a great breakfast in the morning, and the lady who works at the front desk (i forgot her name) is so wonderful. My mother and I chatted with her and she was able to help us with directions to the monuments we wanted to see and was so personable. We felt like we were staying with family. We will definitely come back to this hotel the next time we visit rome. I am a 28 year old woman and would not hesitate to stay alone in this hotel if I come to Rome on my own. Fantastic, safe, perfect experience. Thank you so much to this hotel and their amazing staff!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2010

Location is ideal. Service was superb--very helpful.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa20100702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2010

Hotel Golden was a wonderful hotel to stay in Rome. We were in a quiet neighborhood off the Via Veneto but many of the sites we wanted to see were within walking distance.
The staff was very helpful with all our questions and always provided us with excellent advice. We would love to stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nitalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2010

Hotel Golden is in a great location in a posh neighborhood - Upon arrival we were given a map with directions to restaurants, tourist hot spots, etc. The front desk man gave us detailed instructions on how to get to Trastavere (complete with bus stops!). It was amazing.

The room was gorgeous. When we opened the window we saw a statue right outside - we couldn't believe how lucky we got with the room view! The room came with robes and slippers, a tv, minibar - just about everything you need.

I loved this hotel and could have stayed another month there. It's family run and you can feel the camaraderie and love they share.

When I come back to Rome I will definitely be staying here.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Molleee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#29 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
Trieste
Palm Gallery Hotel
Palm Gallery Hotel
#22 of 1,291 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#23 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,291 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,459 reviews
Parioli
Suite Oriani
Suite Oriani
#15 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Golden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golden

Property: Hotel Golden
Address: Via Marche 84, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Rome
#9 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#73 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#81 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Golden 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Golden of Rome is a small and genuine family run hotel where you will be welcome as family.The hotel is located in one of the best spots of the city, just behind the oasis of the Borghese Gardens (where you can visit the famous Borghese Gallery Museum) walking out of our property, in less than 100 meters you will be on Via Vittorio Veneto from where you can reach in 10 minutes of nice and enjoyable walk the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, the Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Campo di Fiori.Very well served with public transport (mini bus like the 116 and 116T, from just around the corner will take you almost every where in Rome) including a very convenient stop right next to the Vatican Square.Bus 53 and 80X directly to the Colosseum.Bus 63 to Trastevere and the Jewish Ghetto.Besides all that, we have two metro stops closeby: Barberini and Spagna.Our location is full of small little restaurants and trattorie (reasonable prices and great food and wine) we will share all that info with our guests upon arrival (places where we go ourselves to eat with the family)in other words, the Hotel Golden of Rome (like the many reviews of our dear guests around the world say) is a family run hotel for families right in the center of Rome!Full air conditioned (and air conditioning that works)free wifi in all the hotel.And the best of the best: our mother's homey breakfast (every morning she makes breakfast for our guests just like she did at home) from omelettes to "frittata", pancakes, cinnamon french toasts, croissants, crostata, ciambellone, ham, cheese, salami, mortadella, fresh tomatoes, mozzarella, ricotta, and many other daily recipes that she brings new for our guests to enjoy (like her very very light "tiramisu") you have to try it!Come and visit us.. We will be so happy to meet you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel Golden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing