We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Nice”
Review of Hotel Golden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Golden
Ranked #20 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. We booked the most basic room and it was cozy, but it was certainly fine for just the two of us and they kept everything very clean. It shares a lobby entrance with several other places and on evenings and weekends you need to be buzzed into the building. You also need to be buzzed into the lobby of the hotel itself. We found this a nice added security measure. It's located just one block off of Via Veneto so there are plenty of places to eat nearby and the metro is down the road.

The family that runs the hotel is very nice and the breakfast was good. The brothers are very helpful in terms of recommending restaurants, transportation, places to visit etc. There english is EXCELLENT. It was REALLY hot while we were in Rome and the air conditioning in the room worked wonderfully (not loud and we could control the temperature). We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobinFromNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,721)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Golden
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,956 - 1,962 of 2,721 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2010

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Golden during part of our honeymoon and had a marvelous time. The hotel was beautifully decorated, clean, new and quiet. The staff was also very friendly and accommodating (they arranged our airport transportation, and even provided ice when our feet were achy at the end of the day!). Breakfast was good - yogurt, fresh fruit, pastries, meats, cereals, coffee, juice, etc. The bathroom was modern and very clean. The hotel also had good security, and offered a computer with internet access in the front lobby. Although it is not in the heart of the historic center of Rome, it is in a very nice area of town, right next to the Villa Borghese and Spanish Steps. We would recommend this hotel to friends and family!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaggieWWashington_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2010

Just spent the last 7 nights here, it's a family run hotel the brothers spoke very good English. We only went for the small room, but it had all you could need/want + plus the bathroom and ben were very clean. There was plenty choice for breakfast. The location of the hotel ment it was very handy for buses, taxis and even the metro. If you need five min time out the hotel is situated next to one of Romes biggest parks.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donald9o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2010

I booked the Hotel Golden based on the many good reviews on Trip Advisor and was not disappointed. Hotel Golden is in a great area by the Borghese Gardens and Via Veneto is one block away with many nice shops and restaurants. You can walk to many attractions. The room was small but I must say it is one of the cleanest hotels I have ever stayed in. The bathroom was huge and spotless. The hotel is on the 1st floor of a building but is very quiet. We didn't hear a sound from inside or outside. The breakfasts were lovely with a good selection. The family that runs the hotel were very nice and helpful. We only stayed 2 nights and weren't in our room for much of it but I have no complaints. They arranged for us to be picked up at the airport and the driver was there waiting and took our heavy luggage right to the front desk for us. We asked rather late in the day for a taxi for the next morning to take us back to the airport to pick up our rental car and there was no problem. The taxi was booked and arrived right on time. I would highly recommend the Hotel Golden to anyone going to Rome.

Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
Thank Logan25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2010

Rome is expensive so the Golden Hotel was good value.

We were however troubled by the fact that we ordered a pickup at 40 Euro by car from the Airport arranged by the hotel. A van arrived which took us and 4 others on a circuitous route taking twice the time it would have been by taxi which would have been 30Euro. This was a rip-off!.

The conducted tour buses were also a rip-off and not worth the money. No conducted tour just earphones which did not work.

The hotel room was OK and near to the centre of things but this was not really a hotel, more a number of apartments on the first floor of a building.

That being said for a short stay it was better than the pretentious hotels we saw elsewhere.

The staff or family we saw were helpful but we found the breakfast room cramped. Food adequate.

Sleep was OK providing windows kept shut and air conditioning on.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robocop646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2010

I chose Hotel Golden because of all the great reviews, but I will not stay at the hotel again.
Positives: Indeed, the hotel was very clean, decorated very well, air conditioned, room size was adequate. The location was good if you don't mind taking a public transportation. There are many 5 star hotels around the neighborhood. I have to say that the family is trying to do their best to maintain the hotel. I was especially impressed with the great manner with one of the sons who was at the reception. Recommended for senior travellors & families.

Negatives: Service and Room - Perhaps, I just did not have a luck. The room I stayed had a lock issue. I had to ask help to close/open the room each time I go out and come back. To be fair, the son (at the reception) admitted the lock problem and he did not mind at all to help opening/closing the room. However, the father and the another son gave me an attitude that they knew how to close/open the room, but not me. Isn't it hotel's responsibility to make a room where any customers can access easily?
Another thing is that I had to receive a receipt because I paid in cash. My check-out time was 8 am and the father said that i had to wait 15 minutes more as he did not know how & his son will arrive in 15 minutes.. I was unable to wait because I had to catch a train to the airport. It might be a cultural difference, but I will probably feel differently if he ever said 'sorry for the trouble'. He just looked at me as if I was wrong to ask for a receipt.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank milka_73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2010

Hotel Golden occupies one floor of a six story building. The owners live on site and are always readily available to give directions, suggestions, make reservations, etc. They are a warm and welcoming family and make guests feel at home. The neighborhood is residential and quiet. We had lots of non-touristy restaurants to choose from and never felt afraid to be out late at night. The hotel is in easy walking distance of bus stops and getting around is no problem. The breakfast buffet has limited choices, but no one ever went hungry. We had the largest and nicest bathroom we have ever had anywhere in Europe. The hotel is non-smoking and getting to stay there again is reason enough to return to Rome.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelilnrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,267 in Rome
6,803 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,267 in Rome
4,228 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#36 of 1,267 in Rome
1,354 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Deko Rome
Deko Rome
#5 of 1,267 in Rome
924 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,267 in Rome
2,965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Golden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golden

Address: Via Marche 84 | next to the old Roman Walls, the Borghese Gardens, Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountain, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Rome
#9 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#81 Business Hotel in Rome
#91 Best Value Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £55 - £276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Golden 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Golden of Rome is a small and genuine family run hotel where you will be welcome as family.The hotel is located in one of the best spots of the city, just behind the oasis of the Borghese Gardens (where you can visit the famous Borghese Gallery Museum) walking out of our property, in less than 100 meters you will be on Via Vittorio Veneto from where you can reach in 10 minutes of nice and enjoyable walk the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, the Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Campo di Fiori.Very well served with public transport (mini bus like the 116 and 116T, from just around the corner will take you almost every where in Rome) including a very convenient stop right next to the Vatican Square.Bus 53 and 80X directly to the Colosseum.Bus 63 to Trastevere and the Jewish Ghetto.Besides all that, we have two metro stops closeby: Barberini and Spagna.Our location is full of small little restaurants and trattorie (reasonable prices and great food and wine) we will share all that info with our guests upon arrival (places where we go ourselves to eat with the family)in other words, the Hotel Golden of Rome (like the many reviews of our dear guests around the world say) is a family run hotel for families right in the center of Rome!Full air conditioned (and air conditioning that works)free wifi in all the hotel.And the best of the best: our mother's homey breakfast (every morning she makes breakfast for our guests just like she did at home) from omelettes to "frittata", pancakes, cinnamon french toasts, croissants, crostata, ciambellone, ham, cheese, salami, mortadella, fresh tomatoes, mozzarella, ricotta, and many other daily recipes that she brings new for our guests to enjoy (like her very very light "tiramisu") you have to try it!Come and visit us.. We will be so happy to meet you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Nozio Netplan srl so you can book your Hotel Golden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing