We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb family service. Nothing too much trouble. Great spot.”
Review of Hotel Golden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Golden
Ranked #17 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb family service. Nothing too much trouble. Great spot.”
Reviewed 26 August 2010

Small family run hotel, just off the top of the Via Veneto and very near to Villa Borghese park. Quiet side street. Easy to walk to all sights. Staff could not have been more friendly or helpful with maps, advice, carrying bags, etc. Room was plenty big enough even with extra bed for kids. Spotlessly clean. Breakfast buffet was delicious with a big selection of tempting bites. Fantastic find. Would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Topsy107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,691 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,056
    550
    57
    21
    7
See reviews for
861
1,188
162
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2010

We stayed here for two nights prior to a 12 night cruise. We had contacted them via email several times prior to our trip to ask questions and they always responded promptly - usually within a few hours. We used their transportation they arranged from airport to hotel and hotel to cruise port. We waited awhile for the guy at the airport, but that was of no fault of Golden Hotel - the driver was not standing in the area mentioned with our name. A quick call to Golden Hotel and the driver came to find us. The trip to the port was fine, he arrived on time. Guiseppe was so very helpful - as was Marco. We always felt safe in the hotel and area surrounding. The American Embassy is around the corner as is a police station. I would have felt safe walking anywhere around the hotel at any hour of the day or night alone. You have to be buzzed into the building, then buzzed into the actual floor the hotel is on. There is always someone at the front dest to welcome you. They kept the key so you didn't have to worry about losing it while touring around Rome. They recommended two restaurants that were wonderful - can't say enough about San Marco - pizza is excellent as is the four cheese gnocchi. All questions we had they had answers to or found out the answer. One of our friends birthday was the day we left and Guiseppe helped with part of our surprise. Marco helped us with all of our luggage (it was a ton)! We had three rooms and I don't think any of them were unusally small - I have stayed in a room in New York with three other people and our rooms this trip looked expansive compared to that. There was plenty of bathroom shelves to put our toiletries on. Our air conditioner worked well and it was very quiet at night. The breakfast room is small, but the food was great. There were many more options at this hotel than there were in our bed and breakfast in Venice - and the food was much better. The price was great and the hotel was very clean. The Spanish Steps are the closest tourist attraction - and they are about 10 min away, as is the closest Metro station (which we used to go to the Vatican).

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atravelingbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2010

Hotel Golden is a nice, clean and affordable place in a great location and with spectacular service. My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay from August 9 - 17, 2010.


It was the service provided by the staff that elevates this hotel above many others we have experienced. The people working to support us during our stay were both exceedingly friendly and helpful, arranging, orienting and advising us.


A varied continental breakfast was provided in the mornings including fresh pastries, bread, meats, cheeses and some fruit. The rooms were kept tidy and cleaned regularly. The hotel was located near several good value restaurants, a few important bus stops, and two subway stations were within a short walking distance. There were also several supermarkets around.


When in Rome, we will certainly return to Hotel Golden and recommend this place to others as well.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah0527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2010

This hotel was excellent value. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, good breakfast included and very clean rooms. The rooms were quite small and the hotel is up a hill so walking in the July heat from the main tourist sites was hard work. However, the hotel is 10 minutes from the spanish steps and from there you have all other sites within walking distance. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soyguapo15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2010

This was a very friendly small family run hotel near Via Veneto and the Villa Borghese and it was only a comfortable 15 minute walk to the Trevi or the Spanish Steps. It was a longer but easy, pleasant and interesting walk to the big sights of the Centro Historica such as the Colosseum and forum. The nearest metro stop is only five minutes walk away at Barbarini and we used the metro to get to the Vatican Museum although that too would have been walkable. The streets near the hotel are much quieter than the main tourist areas but the nearby Via Veneto is a long leafy boulevard with plenty of restaurants.

We chose this hotel largely because of its location close to the Villa Borghese and its park and a good write up by previous visitors on the tripadvisor website. We were not disappointed either in the hotel or the area.

The staff in the hotel were very friendly, Marco and introducing himself and his brother Giuseppe by name and only too willing to give directions and to ask how we were getting on - also to help visitors connect to the free wi-fi as our ipod-toting son will testify. Our first floor triple room was spacious and although we were initially disappointed that its window looked on to an internal courtyard and so didn't have a view or much natural light it was clean and comfortable. Even though ours was the first room along from the lobby it was quiet and we were never disturbed. There was a good shower and there was never a shortage of hot water.Thankfully the room was air-conditioned as the temperatures hit 32 c (90 F) but the unit did tend to drip.

The breakfast buffet was great with good coffee or tea, juice, cereals, breads, very good cakes, eggs and omelette, cheese, cold meats, croissant and delicious cakes. The breakfast room is a bit small but cosy and welcoming and we only had to wait to be seated for 5 minutes on one day out of four. We never felt like we were being rushed to finish breakfast and we always lingered to plan the day and have an extra coffee.

Although the Villa Borghese park and hotel appear on the map to be seperated by a large main road, don't be put off as it has good crossing points for pedestrians and the park is a beautiful, cool shady oasis on hot Summer days, largely traffic-free and as safe - early mornings saw runners and walkers using it before the temperature rose and in the evenings many locals seemed to stroll through it. It was a good place to relax after visiting the city centre and our near-teenage son enjoyed it - there are a couple of cafes, bike hire and plenty of space to play or rest. I managed to run every morning but was glad of the drinking fountains dotted around the paths.

We had arrived at Fiumcino airport early afternoon and took the train into the central Rome station at Termini. It seemed like a long walk with our cases in the heat from our platform to the central metro stop. When we left we asked Marco to arrange for a car to take us to the airport - it only cost 45 euro which was what the train and metro fares had cost us for the outward journey and was good value. As our flight home was in the evening, the hotel looked after our baggage so we could enjoy our final day unhindered. We were collected by a small air-conditioned mini-bus and driven through central Rome, getting a bonus tour of the centre and it only took about forty minutes to get to the airport terminal.

Tips: buy a Roma Card (25 euro for an adult) for free entry to two museums and free travel on metro, trains and buses for three days. It spared us the very long queue at the Colosseum - you can get the card from the Tourist Information offices or kiosks. Children from EU countries get free entry in to some museums but may be asked to show proof (our son wasn't at the Colosseum but would have had to join the admittedly shorter queue for the Palatine Hill to get a free ticket, so we skipped that). We only had to queue for less than 30 minutes to get in to the Vatican museum and we think that it was because we went on the Wednesday morning when a lot of people chose to go to see the papal blessing first - the tour touts (offering guided tours of the museum for 45 euro) had told us that there was a two hour wait when we joined the queue but they must have been mistaken! If you're in Rome for a week then we'd recommend that you spare half a day to visit the ruins of the roman port at Ostia Attica about 30 minutes from Termini by metro and train. Lido Central is a short distance further on the same train line and although our guidebook was a bit disparaging about the town, the beach was good - albeit much of it is effectively private (10 euro per person per day but we got on half price as we only arrived mid-afternoon) and there are public areas but they were busier. We also had our most enjoyable evening meal there at the Golden Cafe (the name is just a coincidence) for about half the price of the meals in Rome.

We have recommended this hotel to our friends and would use it again if we visited Rome again - which we hope to do because it was terrific. So great holiday and lovely hotel!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ando60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2010

I live near Pisa and travel to Rome frequently when friends and family come to visit. This was my second stay at the hotel and I enjoyed it just as much as the first. Both times, I stayed in the triple room, just off the main lobby area. The room is spacious by European standards, with plenty of space for me and my 2 friends. The shower is great -- warm water and lovely water pressure -- after a long, tiring day of sight seeing. Beds are comfy. Air conditioning works well and was quiet in our room. (I know other reviewers have had different experiences.)

The family that runs the hotel is great, always ready and willing to offer tips and suggestions. They genuinely want their guests to have the best visit to Rome possible.

It is a bit of a hike to even the closest sights... Spanish Steps are 10 minutes away, Trevi Fountain is a 10-15 minute walk -- downhill on your way there but very much uphill on your way back. Everything else was far enough away that we took the metro. The closest stations are again, 10 minutes or so from the hotel. The hotel sits just behind several 5-star hotels. Nice in theory, except that every restaurant in the area seemed to be over priced and not that great. We had to venture as far as the Pantheon area (30-45 minute walk) to find good, authentic and affordable Italian food. The silver lining is that the area is VERY safe and quiet though. I've walked back to the hotel after midnight and never felt uncomfortable. You also don't get any street noise like you might at a hotel in a busier part of Rome.

I've been so pleased with both of my stays, I'd be hard pressed to stay anywhere else when back in Rome. They'd have to be booked solid for me to even think about looking anywhere else. If you don't mind a walk at the beginning and end of your day, this is a brilliant hotel. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taryn615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2010

This is a small, family-run hotel in an excellent location near the Villa Borghese park. The family owners were extremely hospitable and helped with all our sightseeing and travel enquiries. Very reasonable rates including a good breakfast. We can also recommend the airport pickup service; delightful driver who gave us a sightseeing tour as part of the journey.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheTravellingPeleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,263 in Rome
6,749 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#32 of 1,263 in Rome
1,326 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,263 in Rome
4,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Deko Rome
Deko Rome
#5 of 1,263 in Rome
920 reviews
Trieste
Palm Gallery Hotel
Palm Gallery Hotel
#18 of 1,263 in Rome
1,167 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel Residenza San Calisto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Golden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golden

Property: Hotel Golden
Address: Via Marche 84 | next to the old Roman Walls, the Borghese Gardens, Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountain, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Rome
#9 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#81 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Golden 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Golden of Rome is a small and genuine family run hotel where you will be welcome as family.The hotel is located in one of the best spots of the city, just behind the oasis of the Borghese Gardens (where you can visit the famous Borghese Gallery Museum) walking out of our property, in less than 100 meters you will be on Via Vittorio Veneto from where you can reach in 10 minutes of nice and enjoyable walk the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, the Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Campo di Fiori.Very well served with public transport (mini bus like the 116 and 116T, from just around the corner will take you almost every where in Rome) including a very convenient stop right next to the Vatican Square.Bus 53 and 80X directly to the Colosseum.Bus 63 to Trastevere and the Jewish Ghetto.Besides all that, we have two metro stops closeby: Barberini and Spagna.Our location is full of small little restaurants and trattorie (reasonable prices and great food and wine) we will share all that info with our guests upon arrival (places where we go ourselves to eat with the family)in other words, the Hotel Golden of Rome (like the many reviews of our dear guests around the world say) is a family run hotel for families right in the center of Rome!Full air conditioned (and air conditioning that works)free wifi in all the hotel.And the best of the best: our mother's homey breakfast (every morning she makes breakfast for our guests just like she did at home) from omelettes to "frittata", pancakes, cinnamon french toasts, croissants, crostata, ciambellone, ham, cheese, salami, mortadella, fresh tomatoes, mozzarella, ricotta, and many other daily recipes that she brings new for our guests to enjoy (like her very very light "tiramisu") you have to try it!Come and visit us.. We will be so happy to meet you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Golden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing