We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excelent location. Polite staff”
Review of Angel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Angel Hotel
Ranked #919 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Windsor
1 review
“Excelent location. Polite staff”
Reviewed 10 June 2009

I choose angel hotel rather other hotels nearby because of the prices. Located near the Vatican City, is not far away from the rest of the attractions. There’s no breakfast room and lack of common places. The tiny reception is placed on the street and rooms are located in the first floor. This might be negative, but in the other hand, we discover that staff and location is everything for this cosy hotel. Lots of restaurants and bars in the area (so breakfast and dinner is granted!).
Last but not least, beware of taxi drivers!. While at the hotel, taximeter was 15 euro (from termini to the hotel). When I give him a 50 euro banknote, he give me back 10 euro telling me that “taximeter was 15”. When I told him that I just give him 50 euro bill he deny and pretend to not understand English. After a couple of minutes of discussion, I decide to call the police and after that the problem was solve. Overall our stay was perfect.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack_Borrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    33
    16
    5
    8
See reviews for
7
36
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
capital federal
1 review
Reviewed 15 March 2009

"Angel Hotel is a small hotel near the Castel Sant Angelo, and a few steps from the Vatican city. We booked a triple room with three separate beds in a room quite spacious. Attention has been phenomenal. Young people at reception desk. We were worried about some negative reviews but at the end we decide to try.The only problem is that breakfast is not included, but there's a bar infront of the hotel. This hotel meets the needs of a group of young men like us going arround europe and we will stay again. Regards"

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
1 review
Reviewed 15 February 2009

We book this hotel because one friend of me stay in Angel Hotel two years ago. The hotel was easy to find, just a few meters from Piazza Cavour, near the Vatican City. Our room was located at the forth floor, at the end of the aile, number 410.
The room was nice and clean. For a two stars hotel you get the basis: one bed, one bathroom with shower, fresh towels every day, tv and thats it. Extremely helpful staf. We lost our luggage at Ciampino Airport so we tell our problem and the man at the reception, the one with glases, make a copy of our receipt and call the airport. At the end of the evening, the bag was waiting for us at reception. We will certainly stay there again.

  • Liked — The friendly staff
  • Disliked — No internet access at the hotel
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Lamoureaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2009

We booked this hotel for one night because it was cheap and we are lowly budget travellers. On arriving we found everything to be good, was very efficient. Only thing we thought was a bit strange was that the man at front desk wanted to keep our passports back and said to collect them on our way out. Now having read the review previous to this I memorized exactly where my stuff was on the bed to see if anyone had gone through it when i got back. Of course when we left we had to go and collect our passports and the front desk asked if we wanted to leave our key with him which we refused. We were gone about 2 and a half hours. On return my boyfriend was actually the first to notice that everything was not right and i hadn't told him any of the other reports about this hotel. I then noticed that my stuff had been moved around and the zip on his backpack that he left closed was open. Luckily for us we took all of our valuables with us but I wonder if this hotel may actually be thieves or have connection with thieves. I would say this hotel is fine if you only plan to stay for a short while and take everything you hold dear with you, if not then spend a little extra.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexandrarose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Kaiserslautern
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2009

The first night we were there, our bags were stolen from our room. We were across the street eating dinner, and had turned in our keys to the hotel clerk... "Hotel Policy". When we returned from eating, our room was torn apart and our bags were gone. There was no sign of forced entry, and the only person with access to that room was the hotel front desk. None of the maid's keys or masters opened the room, except the one the front desk had. We asked them to check their security system, which has plenty of cameras in the hallways, but their system had no way of recording it on videotape. The person at the front desk is responsible for monitoring the cameras, but of course she said she saw nothing. No other rooms were broken into, no other guests reported anything stolen, no one saw anything unusual. The only people who knew we would be gone was the front desk, and they obviously would know that the security system had no videotapes, and they had the only key. Seems pretty logical to conclude that someone at the hotel either let a thief inside our room or stole it themselves. The hotel manager was helpful with the police and allowing us access to other people's rooms to look for our things, but it doesn't change the fact that this hotel employs thieves. Stay here at your own risk.

  • Liked — Nothing... I asked for a room at another hotel after our things were stolen
  • Disliked — Everything I brought for an 11 day trip being stolen from my room on the first day
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank charliedaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2008

After weeks of searching for a decent clean & reasonably priced hotel, i came across Angel Hotel. Paid around 80GBP per night, which was quite cheap by Rome standards. The hotel is in an excellent location, less than a 10min stroll to Spanish Steps & Trevi fountain areas & 10 mins to Vatican in opposite direction.
The hotel is close to Piazza Cavour which is serviced by lots of buses which take you to all the major tourist sites & to Termini Station.

The room itself looked newly decorated & was clean & comfortable. Toilet was also clean. Our room was on the 4th floor which was reached by a tiny old-fashioned elevator. Reception area is separate from the hotel entrance & the staff were very helpful with any questions we had regarding buses, directions etc.

Highly recommended.

  • Liked — location, location, location
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 October 2008

Very good location. Close to everything. Staff very friendly and helpful. Room small but clean. Will stay there again.

  • Liked — The location
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isabelle45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Hotel Sant'Angelo
Hotel Sant'Angelo
#352 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
Prati
Roma dei Papi - Hotel de Charme
Prati
Hotel Diplomatic
Hotel Diplomatic
#224 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
Hotel Cicerone
Hotel Cicerone
#539 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Prati
Casa Linnea
Casa Linnea
#688 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Prati
Hotel Isa
Hotel Isa
#74 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angel Hotel

Property: Angel Hotel
Address: Marianna Dionigi, 00193 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #919 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Angel Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A VERY CENTRAL, QUIET AND COSY HOTEL LOCATED IN THE HISTORIC, ARTISTIC AND BUSINESS CENTRE OF THE CITY A FEW MINUTES BY WALK FROM THE MOST INTERESTING TOURIST ATTRACTIONS. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Angel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing