We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Look For Another Hotel” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Maria Regina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Maria Regina
Ranked #664 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Istanbul
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Look For Another Hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2011

This was one of the worst experiences I have ever had with a hotel. They charged my credit card three times, even though I told them we would be paying with an alternative card because the one used for our reservation had been stolen prior to check-in. Additionally, the three charges they made were all different amounts, one including a high volume of charges for phone calls we were unaware of. Customer service is not something this hotel excels in. Aside from that, our sleep quality was poor due to the constant noise level of other guests next to us and above us. We could even hear the other guests using the toilet. This was not a good experience at all.

Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank turkishtravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HVMR, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Villa Maria Regina, responded to this review, 10 November 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review at Tripadvisor.

Kind regards,

Management Villa Maria Regina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    108
    107
    33
    23
See reviews for
31
82
16
115
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2009

Incredibly small rooms, with an ok bathroom. Location is very far from the centre: two buses from city centre (about 40 minutes). Breakfast acceptable.

  • Stayed January 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DVassallo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HVMR, Guest Relations Manager at Villa Maria Regina, responded to this review, 5 November 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review at Tripadvisor.

Kind regards,

Management Hotel Villa Maria Regina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2009

Upon arriving in Rome (our honeymoon), we got the train to the main station, thinking our hotel wouldn't be too far, however it took approx 30 mins! Which wasn't a problem in the scheme of things.
Getting to and from the hotel was a bit of a hassle, as it is located in a residential area in Monte Mario; meaning we had to catch 2 buses to get to any of the sites. Again, we got over that problem. My advice is that if you don't want the hassle of waiting for buses, choose a hotel which is close to the underground stations - we found Line A to be particularly good at getting around everywhere.
Moving onto the hotel. The food wasn't that great, but the the lady who works in the restaurant was very friendly. The room was comfortable, clean, tidy and spacious.
It seemed this hotel would suit business travellers rather than leisure, as there was no atmosphere during the evening, sometimes the bar didn't even open!
One of the receptionists was quite ignorant and seemed unhelpful. This may have just been his personality.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank azwells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HVMR, Guest Relations Manager at Villa Maria Regina, responded to this review, 5 November 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review at Tripadvisor. Your feedback is incredible valuable to us as it best evaluates our product and service offerings. I regret to hear you were not completely satisfied with our service and I want to apologize for the inconvenience. We will discuss your feedback within our team.

Kind regards,

Management Hotel Villa Maria Regina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2008

Stayed here for four nights I think, on a bed and breakfast basis.
The hotel is great, lovely accomodation, clean and modern but the food is extremely poor and really let it down.
We were lucky to actually eat breakfast as it was very limited, fruit was mouldy, bread stale what more can I say. Evening food was a no no too, they only served microwave meals and it was a very limited choice!!!
The hotel is out of town by quite a few miles, however we didn't find getting about and into the centre of Rome a problem. The hotel staff helped us with directions and details of which buses/trams to take and the transport was cheap and frequent.
Food in Rome was good value for money, didn't find it expensive at all.
The weather exceeded my expectations - I never knew italy could be so hot so if you are going in August make sure you stock up on suntan lotion and water.
As the hotel is a little out of town we either ate whilst in central Rome or had to get a bus back into the local area to eat which sometimes was the last thing you wanted to do but bar facilites were not good so staying at the hotel in the evening wasn't really an option (unless like us you had to get an early night as you were totally knackered from walking around Rome)
We did a day trip to naples and pompeii, which is definitely worth doing, the hotel had details of many guided tours which this was one of them. It was well organised through a separate company, Green line tours I think it was called.
People say that Rome is romantic, I didn't feel that way. It was hot, tiring but the actual place was amazing. I would def recommend going to Rome but would also recommend that you pay a bit extra to stay somewhere closer to the centre of town.

  • Liked — The modern, contemporary decor, cleanliness and helpful lstaff
  • Disliked — Food and bar facilities
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelbabe2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HVMR, Guest Relations Manager at Villa Maria Regina, responded to this review, 3 November 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review at Tripadvisor regarding your stay with us. Your feedback is very valuable to us, as it best evaluates our service. I want to apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced.

Kind regards,

Management Hotel Villa Maria Regina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2007

We are working people and don't get many holidays at all,(one a year if we are lucky as have own business) so when we do, we need everything on tap as such, so we can relax and enjoy a bit of luxury! Got holiday deal at very good price, but looking back, would have definately paid more for a better hotel. This hotel would be okay if you are after a budget hotel at a bargain price, but even saying that, I think that stating 'budget' is being a bit generous. If you are the type of person who would leave a hotel early morning, return late evening, want a clean room, not bothered about extra comforts/decor, then here maybe okay for you, but you would still need earplugs (see below!) We, would not stay here again. Must say hotel and the room was very clean (daily clean) but very, very basic no coffee making facilities in room etc. The room we stayed in had two twin beds (asked for double, arrived early hours exhausted, didn't have energy to ask them to change it! we simply pushed beds together or I did, so I could still sort his snoring out!!!!) a wardrobe, a table, a phone, a television(tv, only English channels were two news stations, but we are in Rome!) and thats it. There is not a bar in the hotel as they state! It is a hole in the wall, with a few bottles on a ledge!! Extremely, very noisy hotel, we bought ear plugs so we could sleep!! Without ear plugs, we wouldn't have had any choice but being able to go to sleep after about 1 am in the morning! Ear plugs are now an essential part of our travel pack, just in case!!
You will have to catch a bus and then a tram to get to the city centre, which takes about 15 mins to get there (based upon setting off at about 9.30am - 10am), but coming back (4pm ish plus) it will take up to an hour. Hotel situated in domestic area, so there isn't any evening entertainment places within walking distance from hotel. After a full days walking site seeing, would have been nice to just have a little wander in the evening to restaurants etc but you would have to get a bus to get to any.
In our opinion, it would be worth paying more to stay in a better hotel and in one which is nearer to Rome centre, so you have easy access for evening entertainment.
Wouldn't stay here again.
Hope this helps!

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — noisey
  • Tips/Secrets — very basic
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank lou&drew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HVMR, Guest Relations Manager at Villa Maria Regina, responded to this review, 3 November 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable feedback at Tripadvisor. I want to apologize for the inconvenience. Please, be assured we will discuss your review within our management team.

Kind regards,

Management Hotel Villa Maria Regina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Oak Brook Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2006

The room size was unbelievable small. The double bed had just enough space left to get around into the bed. There was not enough room to open our suitcases and leave them open at night. the phone was unusable, there were no instructions as how to use. The property doesn't qualify for the three stars that it displays. The location is not close to the Vatican as advertized. The price was too much for what they had to offer.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sosider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HVMR, Guest Relations Manager at Villa Maria Regina, responded to this review, 3 November 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review at Tripadvisor regarding your stay in our hotel. We are sorry to hear you were not satisfied with your stay with us. I want to apologize for the inconvenience.

Kind regards,

Management Hotel Villa Maria Regina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2006

Prior to our arrival we called for directions, only to be told they were overbooked and we'd be staying at another hotel for the first night. Villa Maria did pick up our luggage and upgraded the room when we got there. The bus route outside the hotel doesn't go directly to any of the sights. You must transfer to a tram, metro or another bus. The website said "close to the Vatican". It took nearly 45 minutes and two buses to get there. Breakfast was not impressive compared to the other hotels we stayed at. We learned dinner was only served when a group was staying at the hotel. After being told dinner was being served one night, we found it wasn't when we went to eat. I inquired about delivery from somewhere else, since the hotel is located in a quiet, residential area. Not possible. The staff made no effort to try and help us get dinner. However, the biggest complaint we had was the hot water. Or, should I say lack of in the morning. The room was clean. There's a nice terrace on the upper level. But, unless you're with a tour group, I would stay elsewhere. The staff could also do better. I would rather have paid more Euros, and stayed closer to the center of the city. It was too much of a hassle to return to the hotel, and go back into the city.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lb5569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HVMR, Guest Relations Manager at Villa Maria Regina, responded to this review, 3 November 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review at TripAdvisor.

Kind regards,

Management Hotel Villa Maria Regina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
1.0 mi away
River Chateau Hotel
River Chateau Hotel
#340 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Pineta Palace
Hotel Pineta Palace
#442 of 1,291 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
4.2 mi away
Smooth Hotel Rome West
Smooth Hotel Rome West
#836 of 1,291 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Hotel Artis
Hotel Artis
#358 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
5.9 mi away
Aurora Garden Hotel
Aurora Garden Hotel
#913 of 1,291 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Zone
Hotel Zone
#436 of 1,291 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Maria Regina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Maria Regina

Property: Villa Maria Regina
Address: Via della Camilluccia 687, 00135 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#303 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Maria Regina 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Villa Maria Regina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Maria Regina Hotel Rome
Hotel Maria Regina
Maria Regina Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing