We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget Rome-antic Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Amoroma Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1,295 of 3,764 Rome B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 November 2008

Great place for a quick rome-antic weekend getaway! We found Rome really expensive but are happy to say Amoroma is relatively well priced (for Rome), extremely clean and comfortable, conveniently located, secure and friendly. Room was a little on the noisy side due to location on a busy corner, so take earplugs. Trying to get in touch with the owner/s before our arrival was very difficult, but once we were there everything was great and we would recommend it. Just don't fly with Alitalia to get to or from Rome... what a debacle.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank badhairness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2008

Five of us stayed at the Amoroma B&B for a total of five nights - one older couple, one younger couple and a single. For all of us, our first time in Rome. When we arrived we spent quite a while trying to find the appartment, which is on the fourth floor of a large building (there is a lift), and unsignposted. We found it once we realised the number of the flat was 2/f - therefore at the bottom end of via Ratazzi (away from the Termini). The owner was there - and immediately welcomed us, showing us the rooms, providing a map and showing us the best places to visit, which relaxed us all after our long trip. The rooms are clean with large windows that can be shut - (it is noisy outside, particularily from the trams that pass regularily (normal for Rome) ) - , wardrobes and drawers to put clothes, as well as a table and mirror. The beds had 1 blanket but a quilt was available in the wardrobe (not that we needed it!). There are fans in the bedrooms too. One of the rooms contained a safe (the larger room)
In the section we were in, there were 4 bedrooms, a kitchen,and two bathrooms (both with showers, 1 with a bath). A hairdryer was available. All were clean and obviously cleaned each day (we saw the cleaner a few times). We believe there were more rooms elsewhere. Shower gel and shampoo was available, although not on the first night.
Breakfast was very good and consisted of croissant, biscuits, crackers, orange juice, coffee, cerial, and even cake. Butter,cheese,jam, honey and Nutella were available. There was also a toaster and some bread. A kettle is available for use all day plus a fridge. The room was small and therefore a bit of a squeeze - but breakfast was available from 8AM to 9:30AM.
We were each given a key for the front door and a key for our rooms and allowed to come in and out as we pleased. The owner seemed to appear randomly and was therefore available in case needed. By the way, his English was OK and enough to communicate successfully.
Checkout was at 11AM, but we are able to leave our suitcases in the B&B until we left the rooms at 1:00PM.
The area is great - since it is so close to the centre - 10 minute walk to the Colliseum - round the corner from Santa Maria Maggiore. There is However, it is a little rough in parts. I would not walk around there on my own on a night. Luckily, we were in a group and had absolutely no problems at all.
All in all, a good, safe comfortable stay and good for the price and location - recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jennyes2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2008

Enjoyed our overnight stay in Amoroma. My sister thought the coffee was horrible as did a Dutch lady in another room, other than that it was clean, warm, plenty to eat at breakfast and very comfortable. Will recommend to friends.

ER Scottish Borders

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ELRBorders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2007

This B & B was a welcome surprise. I didn't expect such a nice place for the price. I stayed there in July with my 8 year old son and felt safe as a single woman traveling with a child. The neighborhood around the train station is not exactly upscale, and although I was slightly uncomfortable late at night, we were actually just fine. It was a little hard to find - once you get to the street, you have to look at the buzzers and look for the Amo Roma name next to one of the doors. There is no large sign to advertise its presence. The owner couldn't have been more friendly or helpful. He speaks very little English, so have your Italian phrasebook handy! The room was elegant and spotlessly clean. Although we had not booked an ensuite room, we were given a room with a bathtub up on the sixth floor, accessible from a very narrow flight of stairs. It was spacious and had a lovely view over the rooftops that was particularly nice in the evenings. The room was extremely quiet - in fact, we never heard anyone else at all and were not troubled by any noise from the street. The continental breakfast in the morning was generous. The owner was very nice to my son and it was a pleasure for us both to try out some Italian with him. There were only two downsides. First, there was no air conditioning. For Rome in July, this meant the room was very hot, even at night. However, if you are walking around Rome all day, you will likely be so tired that you don't notice it. Second, the neighborhood was not exactly 4 star. All in all, these two issues were minimal and I would stay there again in a heartbeat. There were plenty of nearby hotels that cost double, triple and even quadruple what we paid. You are within short walking distance of the Termini rail/metro/bus station. In the other direction, just a few minutes walk to St. Mary Major, one of the important churches of Rome. Depending on your level of fitness and desire to walk, you can also walk to the Colosseum and the Fora. I would recommend this place to anyone and hope to go back some day! It was absolutely our favorite accommodation out of the entire European vacation.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nybudget221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2007

When you travel to Europe on a budget (specially if flying in from
Central America due to currency conversion rates) you want to make
sure you get the best deal posible with your lodging.

I admit I decided to stay at Massimo's B&B due to Venere.com reviews.

Plainly put, the place turned out to be fantastic. Being I
cleanliness freak myself, the place's spotless.

There's always plenty to eat at breakfast and both, Massimo and
Claudia, are very amicable and helpful.

What's even better...it is a 5 minute walk from Termini and close to
everything. Metro Stop 2 blocks away.

I travelled by myself (single female) and never felt any threats at
nite while returning.

See you next time Massimo and grazie!

Ana Stevens

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank AnaStevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
Thank Полина Н
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Daria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Amoromasuite
Amoromasuite
#614 of 3,764 in Rome
117 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,273 in Rome
7,023 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#454 of 1,273 in Rome
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#105 of 1,273 in Rome
1,245 reviews
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#225 of 1,273 in Rome
1,083 reviews
Aventine
Hotel Villa San Pio
Hotel Villa San Pio
#74 of 1,273 in Rome
1,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amoroma Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amoroma Bed & Breakfast

Address: Via Rattazzi 2/f, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,295 of 3,764 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: £29 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Amoroma Bed & Breakfast 1*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amoroma Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amoroma Hotel Rome
Amoroma Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing