We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We felt more like intruders than guests.”
Review of Margot Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Margot Guest House
Ranked #2,204 of 3,692 Rome B&B and Inns
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We felt more like intruders than guests.”
Reviewed 4 November 2011

I was not informed that an extra charge of 20 euro will be added in cash on arrival! I wasn't also aware that the room with the bathroom I booked will be a bathroom outside the room until I have received the reservation confirmation. Coffee and tee was not available in the morning. Breakfast was two croissants and a biscuit served in the room. Staff was extremely rude, lady didn't like us to use the bathroom in the morning because of the noise of closing door! The sraff doesn't speak engglish good enough to comunicate just a basic.The hotel is centrally located, 5 minutes walk from the Terimini station, rooms are clean although I would not recommend it. We felt more like intruders than guests.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
margot69, Proprietario at Margot Guest House, responded to this review, 5 November 2011
Dear Customer you had booked by budgetplace.com you can chooice the kind of the room you have chooice the double room with private bath on the floor we keep this room for you then the 20 Euro always on your reservation details you can see it's the city tax 2 Euro per person per day for 5 days total 20 Euro and it's in cash and at arrival I explain to you everything this also but if you read when booking you know everything prior to arrival. Your last day I ask with much kindness at 6.30 in the morning not to slam the doors but you have continued without education to slam the doors, so no coffe and the in the morning and as you did to stand in the coffee machine to make coffee and tea for a whole hour not giving the opportunity to other customers of claim mistery!!!!!!!!!!!! For me also you speak english very very basic There was some misunderstanding. Anyway we are sorry for this happened last days but we working for all customer and sometimes we have to ask for kindness to customers in respect of all if I misinterpreted sorry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    23
    12
    2
    3
See reviews for
7
42
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Netanya, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2011

great location, right next to the termini station. a very nice and helpful owner how gave us a great deal of travel tips. the room was very clean and include wi fi connection.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Sivan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights in September 2011 and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. it is just a two minute walk from the termini which was a relief after the bus journey from the airport and after a day of visiting attractions. As part of our package, we got a bottle of prosecco and plate of fruit brought to our room on arrival. Its a small guest house with a few rooms on the 6th floor. The owner was very polite and helpful and we would recommend Margot Guest House.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Valeria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendale, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

My husband and I stumbled across this jewel. Simple clean rooms at a low price in an excellent location. AIR CONDITIONING!!!! We made this the central hub of our 2 week stay, and a highlight of our trip.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Kate P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2011

The Margot Guest House is perfect for traveller who want to stay near the main station (Stazione Termini) with the possibility to arrive easily at the turistic places and the airports by the public transportation. The good price-performance ratio, the very kind and helpful owner makes the stay comfortable and pleasent. I'll come back.. :-)

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Donario0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2008

The only great thing about the location is its 5 mins away from the termini station, the neighbourhood is not that great but the hotel seemed pretty safe. The hotel is on the 6th floor which sucks but there is a lift. The rooms are pretty small as was the bathroom but they were both clean. The walls are really thin so you can hear the people next door. The owner seemed nice but made a big deal about not being able to pay in cash which pissed me off since it didnt say on the website that she prefered cash and the hotel is non-smoking but the owner smokes in her room so the hallway still smells like smoke other than that it was a good stay. If you stay here go to a restaurant called Aquila Nera its like right across from the hotel, its really good the best I have had and its cheap too

  • Liked — the room
  • Disliked — the smell
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank justpeachy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2008

We stayed there for 5 nights. It was the one available hotel for this period but we liked it a lot. The reception desk's lady is also the owner of the hotel(is just one floor - on the top of a building). There wasn't breakfast room and she was bringing us our breakfast in the room what was perfect because we prefer to have our food in the room:) It was a basic middle size room with small but good enough bathroom with dryer and cool shampoos;) I liked this hotel not only because of its location ( Next to Termini station) but also because the owner told us that is forbiden to make any noise after 9 PM!That was the first place we had only peace and good sleep!

  • Liked — The stuff
  • Disliked — The view from the hotel room
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank ToTravelIsToBreathe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Giorgina
Giorgina
#720 of 1,263 in Rome
210 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel California
Hotel California
#319 of 1,263 in Rome
837 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#366 of 1,263 in Rome
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
B&T Rooms
B&T Rooms
#2,214 of 3,692 in Rome
90 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,263 in Rome
6,749 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#97 of 1,263 in Rome
1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Margot Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Margot Guest House

Property: Margot Guest House
Address: Via Principe Amedeo 76, 185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2,204 of 3,692 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Hotel Class:1 star — Margot Guest House 1*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Margot Guest House is a beautiful establishment situated between Termini train station and the charming church, Santa Maria Maggiore, a few minutes on foot from the impressive Coliseum, the mythic Trevi Fountain and public transport to the Vatican City, all true Roman gems.The establishment offers six large, comfortable rooms with a private bathroom, tv, wi-fi and air conditioning. Furthermore, the friendliness at Margot Guest House will make guests feel right at home. Staff will help you plan your day trips and answer any questions you may have; they will even recommend the most typical restaurants in Rome where you can try authentic Italian dishes such as Pizza or Spaghetti.Thanks to the central location, places such as the Coliseum, the Imperial Forum and the beautiful Trevi Fountain can be easily reached on foot. For trips a little further away, like the Vatican City, there is plenty of public transport. Termini train station is just a few metres from the Guest House. The world’s smallest state city is just a few minutes away.Beautiful sights wherever you look! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Margot Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Margot Guest House Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing