We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value in expensive city!”
Review of Hotel Maryelen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Maryelen
Ranked #704 of 3,645 Rome B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“great value in expensive city!”
Reviewed 16 May 2011

We spent a couple of nights in the Maryelen hotel. I agree with the previous review, the service is amazing, the room is basic (just what you need when you spend the day exploring this amazing city) and the location is very convenient. All in all, it's excellent value!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eanora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    169
    53
    23
    15
See reviews for
62
211
39
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2011

The Maryelen is a basic but comfortable pension-style hotel. We do not look for luxury when we are on holiday - we spend very little time in the hotel and are out and about all day long so only need a comfortable bed and bathroom which, without a doubt, Maryelen provided. No view, but very quiet in spite of being located in the Termini district. The breakfast was generous by Italian standards(comparing it to criticisms of other hotels) and the freshly made coffee, delicious. But the crowning glory of Maryelen is its owners/staff. It is a family run hotel, two sisters, a husband and children (at weekends) all contribute to an unprecedented warm welcome to Rome. Loredana and her sister who (wo)man the reception desk most of the time cannot do enough for their guests - any question is answered, any problem solved. I would recommend Maryelen to anyone seeking a reasonably priced hotel in a convenient location in Rome.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballarat
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 March 2011

The family operated Hotel Maryelen is centrally located in Rome and close to the train station. The welcome and check in was friendly and the room modern and tasteful (using a quaint lift for access). The staff were very friendly and the breakfast excellent and served in a modern breakfast room.

On a personal note, my wife had her purse taken by a pick-pocket on a bus. The purse was found (minus the money) by an an honest person who contacted the Hotel Maryelen thanks to a business card for the Hotel placed in the purse. The personal assistance provided by Giovanna in arranging a meeting point, and attending with us to collect the purse, is something we are most grateful for. Thank you Giovanna.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neville B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2010

My husband and I were on our honeymoon travelling around France and Italy and had not booked any hotels. I came across this hotel, which apparently is a B & B and I would have never known. It is exactly like a hotel and doesn't have a B & B feeling at all. This hotel was 50 EUR/night for 2 ppl in a brand new room, plus an additional 6EUR/person for breakfast-all worth it!! I am still excited about the find as all hotels that are nice and modern are around 100EUR/night. The staff here are AMAZING-will do anything for you at anytime. They also know someone who can drive you to Fiumicino airport for 40EUR-which is super cheap and about 30 mins away. This hotel is 2 streets over from the Train station and Metro location as well and has plently of GREAT restaurants on the same road or in the area. I would recommend this hotel to ANYONE who si heading to Rome....definitely the best and for the right price.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aalliicciiaa17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 29 November 2010

The hotel is competely and newly renovated with modern decoration and furnish. The breakfast provided is quite good. It is quiet, good district enviroment and only 5 minutes walk to the Termini Station. The staff and management are extremely friendly and speaks good English. Free WIFI is available. All 10 of us enjoyed our stay very much and will recommend anyone to stay there during their visits in Rome.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dcth_888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2010

Rooms are clean, hosts are lovely. They have books you can borrow to tell you about Rome.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheryltzh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 November 2010

I'm a little late with my review but I promised Loredana I would write one and she said she paid everyone else so hopefully with Christmas coming up it'll come sooner rather than later.lol. Loredana has a wonderful sense of humor, very friendly and welcoming (along with the rest of her family). Me and Mum were in tears when we left and Loredana asked me to email her to let her know we'd got home safe. A personal service I've never known anywhere else.
Basics: - Maryelen is in a block so when you get outside you need to press the buzzer marked Maryelen and Loredana or one of her daughters will welcome you, show you to your room and give you a map and any information you need about the city. Brilliant!!

Location: - Lovely central location by Termini station... people say it's dodgy of a night but me and Mum walked about fine and never had any trouble.

Breakfast: - Is served on level 5, yes as previously remarked it can get busy but she does her very best to accomodate you. You have fresh coffee which is fab, toast,cereal. Great for a day of no stop walking ahead of you.

Rooms: - Are large and very clean with fresh towels etc... you won't have any problems. As for noise and disturbed sleep, I can't comment because I sleep like a log regardless.

Food: - They recommend the restaurant over the road.... the food is great and the people who run it are very friendly.

I would NEVER EVER stop anywhere else but here.... have a great time in Rome it's a wonderful place but your feet will hate it and you'll come home with great memories and 22 blisters!!

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woodo6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Teti
Hotel Teti
#249 of 1,257 in Rome
267 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Leone
Hotel Leone
#427 of 1,257 in Rome
55 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Maryelen 2
Hotel Maryelen 2
#269 of 1,094 in Rome
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Di Rienzo
Hotel Di Rienzo
#566 of 3,645 in Rome
120 reviews
Esquilino
La Casa di Amy
La Casa di Amy
#170 of 3,645 in Rome
420 reviews
Esquilino
Bye Rome
Bye Rome
#1,050 of 3,645 in Rome
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maryelen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maryelen

Property: Hotel Maryelen
Address: Via Principe Amedeo 85/A, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #704 of 3,645 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Maryelen 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Maryelen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing