We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did not enjoy it”
Review of Hotel Maryelen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Maryelen
Ranked #921 of 3,734 Rome B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 June 2014

My staying at the Hotel Maryelen wasn't pleasant at I thought it would be after reading their website. The hotel is very close to the Termini Station and they offer a good breakfast. Those are the only good things I have to say. Two sisters were running the hotel during our stay, the one with dark hair wasn't very happy when we approached her to ask informations about the city, always with annoyed look in her face. Besides that, their website states that every room has A/C, well we questioned the sisters about that and they said its central air and it wasn't ON yet, only during the summer, well it was 86F (30C) degrees outside and we have to tost all night, the only option is sleeping with the windows open but the street is very noisy. The most uncomfortable bed I ever slept... Unfortunately I do not recommend this place.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carolina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (424)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 424 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Pros
Affordable 100 euros/night yet 100 max on the door. No real deal.
Clean
Friendly staff.
Accommodating
Close to Terminal I
Close to good restaurants
Continental breakfast was OK.

Cons
Room we were in was HOT and we didn't have direct sunlight. We did get a fan , however and it helped a lot.
Room was small, OK but bathroom would be too small for10 year olds. 3 squared meters would be liberal

We would probably spend a bit more and get a bigger room with air conditioning next time.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Sean O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Clean , comfortable hotel with basic facilities. Internet service excellent. Breakfast only ok but there was plenty of juice and coffee for those not into eating pastries first thing in morning! Would definitley stay again as the location is excellent

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patricia r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

As you prepare for your Roman adventure, it's so important to have a safe, secure, warm and welcomin home base to return to, become refreshed, re-invigorated and re-energized. Hotel Maryelen provides a welcoming family environment that does all that and more. Imagine being steps away from the major Roman attractions, and conveniently located to public transport! We are return customers and would never consider staying anywhere else but with Loredana, her husband Ciro and their three adult children who made us feel like family from our first moments! They helped with our travel and insurance needs; recommended wonderful restaurants which we visit again and again, and were surpassed our accommodation needs. Neat, clean, warm and inviting, we will surely return and invite you to do the same. Very few hotels in Europe provide the breadth and quality of Loredana's famous breakfasts. We hope you enjoy your stay as much as we did!

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor overlooking the terrace or the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

My wife and I stayed here May 2014 and it was perfect for our needs. Very convenient to walk the two blocks to Termini station and head out for the day, either on the train or Metro. Some reviews say this is a "bad" area to stay, but I don't think that is the case at all. The breakfast and coffee was good with meats, cheeses, and some sweets. The hostess (I'm sorry to say I did not get her name) went out of her way to make our stay enjoyable, like opening up the breakfast area way before time when were headed out early. There are many restaurants nearby and a supermarket one block away. I would definitely stay here again. The only drawback was having to hit a bunch of ATMs to pay in cash.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CraigD552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

Very friendly and helpful. Rooms facing road can be a little noisy. Breakfast has a good choice, but could be better. Very convenient for termini station and a reasonable walk from all of Rome's major sites although after 3 days walking we are all exhausted. Good value.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Algie6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I have been staying at the hotel for over ten years now and will never stay anywhere else in Rome. Loredana and her family are delightful and have worked extremely hard over the years to provide the best service possible. Just remember that, like many small places, it is cash only. The breakfast spread is ample. Luggage storage available. The rooms are always spotless. Proximity to Termini is extremely convenient.

Room Tip: If you are a solo traveler, single, very economical rooms are available. Yes, they are small, but t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jgc37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
San Lorenzo
Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel
Esquilino
Hotel Luciani
Hotel Luciani
#761 of 1,271 in Rome
456 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#337 of 1,271 in Rome
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Contilia
Hotel Contilia
#697 of 1,271 in Rome
795 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#36 of 1,271 in Rome
1,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maryelen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maryelen

Address: Via Principe Amedeo 85/A, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #921 of 3,734 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: £47 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Maryelen 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Maryelen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing