We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family hotel”
Review of Hotel Maryelen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Maryelen
Ranked #962 of 3,722 Rome B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Our family stayed for a couple of nights in this hotel and we were happy about everything. It is clean, the location is amazing- just a few minutes from the central train station in Rome, they have great breakfasts with a huge variety of things, the family who runs the hotel is also extremely nice and helpful, so whenever you have questions they are ready to answer all of them. They have a luggage storage, which we needed, the wifi and air condition both work fine. The rooms are reasonably big, extremely clean, including the bathroom. At night you have to ring the bell and the receptionist has to come open the door for you, which made us feel extra safe. I can only say nice things about this place :)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Nikita206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (423)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 424 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Given the price we paid for the room and breakfast, the service we received was great. The rooms were clean, and the breakfast was just enough to get our day started. The staff was extremely helpful and nice. The only reason I would rate this hotel a 4/5 not a 5/5 is the size of the bathroom (way too small) and the fact that we couldnt control the AC from our room.

Thank StephanieSaadeh
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Overall we were very happy; great breakfast (slightly more protein options that some other Italian breakfasts, and a really amazing selection of pastries such as croissants filled with marmalade, pound cake, little pies, etc if you're into that, as well as a machine with pretty good coffee, cappuccino, hot chocolate, and blood orange or orange juice. However they are quite strict about not taking any food out of the dining area, so don't expect to openly load up with snacks to eat for lunch or the rest of the day).
It's a great location near the train station, which is so convenient that it makes up for the seedy atmosphere that surrounds the station for several blocks. Our air conditioning worked very well (once we got the remote, and despite some occasional trouble getting it started), it's pretty secure, there is a pretty courtyard (although you can't really hang out in it because there is no seating and it's also the garbage storage area), and decent rooms. I found the mattress incredibly hard but my mother had no complaints, so perhaps it's just me. Most of the staff are really lovely, aside from the one grumpy sister, and were very helpful.
Ultimately our stay here was great except for the moody sister; when she is in a good mood she's dismissive and brusque, but when in a bad mood she actually growls at you and is positively scary...so much so that we simply decided we'd rather ration our remaining toilet paper than go back and ask her for more.
If you're in the area and hungry, I highly recommended Trattoria Cecio across the street - it could not be closer, and the food is very good. It's not super cheap but considering the location that seems like a given for something decent, and much better than anything else we saw walking around the area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ThePathLessTravelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

My staying at the Hotel Maryelen wasn't pleasant at I thought it would be after reading their website. The hotel is very close to the Termini Station and they offer a good breakfast. Those are the only good things I have to say. Two sisters were running the hotel during our stay, the one with dark hair wasn't very happy when we approached her to ask informations about the city, always with annoyed look in her face. Besides that, their website states that every room has A/C, well we questioned the sisters about that and they said its central air and it wasn't ON yet, only during the summer, well it was 86F (30C) degrees outside and we have to tost all night, the only option is sleeping with the windows open but the street is very noisy. The most uncomfortable bed I ever slept... Unfortunately I do not recommend this place.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carolina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Pros
Affordable 100 euros/night yet 100 max on the door. No real deal.
Clean
Friendly staff.
Accommodating
Close to Terminal I
Close to good restaurants
Continental breakfast was OK.

Cons
Room we were in was HOT and we didn't have direct sunlight. We did get a fan , however and it helped a lot.
Room was small, OK but bathroom would be too small for10 year olds. 3 squared meters would be liberal

We would probably spend a bit more and get a bigger room with air conditioning next time.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Sean O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Clean , comfortable hotel with basic facilities. Internet service excellent. Breakfast only ok but there was plenty of juice and coffee for those not into eating pastries first thing in morning! Would definitley stay again as the location is excellent

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patricia r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

As you prepare for your Roman adventure, it's so important to have a safe, secure, warm and welcomin home base to return to, become refreshed, re-invigorated and re-energized. Hotel Maryelen provides a welcoming family environment that does all that and more. Imagine being steps away from the major Roman attractions, and conveniently located to public transport! We are return customers and would never consider staying anywhere else but with Loredana, her husband Ciro and their three adult children who made us feel like family from our first moments! They helped with our travel and insurance needs; recommended wonderful restaurants which we visit again and again, and were surpassed our accommodation needs. Neat, clean, warm and inviting, we will surely return and invite you to do the same. Very few hotels in Europe provide the breadth and quality of Loredana's famous breakfasts. We hope you enjoy your stay as much as we did!

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor overlooking the terrace or the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Residenza Praetoria
Residenza Praetoria
#446 of 1,269 in Rome
810 reviews
Esquilino
Principe Eugenio
Principe Eugenio
#513 of 1,269 in Rome
299 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Orlanda
Hotel Orlanda
#288 of 1,269 in Rome
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Gea di Vulcano
Hotel Gea di Vulcano
#330 of 1,269 in Rome
415 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Contilia
Hotel Contilia
#689 of 1,269 in Rome
781 reviews
Esquilino
Milani Hotel
Milani Hotel
#566 of 1,269 in Rome
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maryelen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maryelen

Address: Via Principe Amedeo 85/A, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #962 of 3,722 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: £53 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Maryelen 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Maryelen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing