We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, decent hotel”
Review of Hotel Saturnia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Saturnia
Ranked #641 of 1,264 Hotels in Rome
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, decent hotel”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We arrived in Rome during a thunderstorm, and when we looked in our bathroom on the second floor we saw that water was dripping through the light fitting on the ceiling. This turned out to be a lucky break however, as when I went down to reception to tell them, the chap gave me a key to a room on the top floor which turned out to be much bigger and have a large rooftop balcony with a nice view (which was shared with one other room, but whose occupants we never saw apart from their towels). I assume this was a superior double for which we would have had to pay more, the first room we saw was a standard double very compact but would have been acceptable had it not been for the leaking ceiling. The staff were pleasant and the continental breakfast was absolutely fine. The location is extremely convenient, within a few minutes walk of the main station if you're arriving by train, the bus from the airport which we took also stops there. Within a few hundred metres of the hotel, which is in a quiet side street off the main road, are small shops and bars, an Irish Pub and Santa Maggiore Church which has an amazing interior. A ten minute walk down the road will take you to the Colosseum which is also worth a visit!

Room Tip: Could be worth paying more for a superior room with a balcony as the standard rooms are small
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickslider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    382
    227
    107
    49
    39
See reviews for
100
404
74
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dingolfing, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

This hotel offers truly excellent value for money. For the price you shouldn't expect 5* luxury, but frankly whilst visiting Rome you should be exploring the city, not lazing around in a hotel room. The front desk staff were helpful, the room pleasant, the air conditioning operational, the bathroom clean, the location central, the character memorable, and the breakfast wholesome. What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dingowasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Good value, great location, place has a lot of character unlike many more expensive places to stay in Rome. Alejandro, the front desk staff and the sweet girl from Romania were more than just employees but rather were a true help in our trip with everything from making sure that we had an enjoyable stay to helping us rent a wheelchair when my wife broke her foot. Definitely above and beyond the call

The breakfast was good the whole staff made our stay there as good as it could be.
Thanks so much!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ancona
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Very good value for the price! Excellent English speaking staff ... very friendly and helpful !! The room was a bit small but with everything you need. The shared bathroom was pretty clean and breakfast was very good. The location is perfect, you can walk to the city center and train station safely at any time. I had a good time at the Hotel Saturnia, would definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TF0rbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alkmaar
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We had a good time in Hotel Saturnia, very friendly staff and very helpful. The breakfast was good and so was the room itself. The beds were not so good in our room but that was the only thing that was not good. The location was very good enough places to eat for a good price within walking distance and so was the city centre. We enjoyed staying there, thank you staff of Hotel Saturnia.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

Decent hotel with really friendly and service-minded staff. Booking through their website it is not really clear about AC and shared bathrooms. Decent breakfast, nothing special. Bit noisy traffic outside if you get rooms towards the main street.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sircantona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avon, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Excellent value for the price! The breakfast was first class and the staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. The rooms and bathrooms are dated for someone looking for a luxurious accommodation; however they were always clean. Location is excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with air conditioning and a private bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Verona
Hotel Verona
#283 of 1,264 in Rome
635 reviews
Monti
Borromeo Hotel
Borromeo Hotel
#269 of 1,264 in Rome
1,171 reviews
Monti
Hotel Canova
Hotel Canova
#447 of 1,264 in Rome
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Princeps Boutique Hotel
Princeps Boutique Hotel
#19 of 1,264 in Rome
391 reviews
Monti
Hotel Raffaello
Hotel Raffaello
#82 of 1,264 in Rome
2,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saturnia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saturnia

Property: Hotel Saturnia
Address: Via Ruinaglia 4/6, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#150 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Saturnia 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Saturnia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saturnia Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing