We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Budget hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Saturnia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Saturnia
Ranked #611 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice Budget hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

- We stayed here for 5 nights in July 2014.
- The rooms are quite small but were clean. In fact, this hotel had the smallest rooms among all the hotels we stayed in, during our vacation in Italy.
- The breakfast was good.
- The staff was helpful and really nice. Since we had an issue with a shower, we were even shifted into the larger rooms which are newly renovated. These rooms which have keys stating colossal are really good!. We were also given a complimentary drop to the airport on our return. Loved the warm service.
- Would recommend this budget hotel. Its walking distance from Termini and has restaurants nearby for dinner.
- Wifi was working perfectly fine. The hotel worked well for us.

Room Tip: Ask for the colossal rooms. Worth paying extra for them
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jitesh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    382
    227
    107
    49
    39
See reviews for
100
404
74
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Peter, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

This hotel was tucked away on a side street. While it had a good location that is about the only nice thing I have to say about it. The room was incredibly small, while we can deal with small the room was not clean. The room and bathroom were both dirty. The bathroom was even smaller and really discussing - you can wash your feet and go to the bathroom at the same time-in fact you feet had to go in the shower in order to use the toilet....There was mold on the walls of the shower, which did not drain adequately requiring us to turn the water on and off while showering to prevent it from overflowing....needless to say it still ran over which accounts for the mold on the floor....There was hair in the sheets when I opened the bed, and our window would not shut-we jammed it shut....The bed was incredibly uncomfortable, and the room required an actual key which would not have been a problem if it did not take over a minute to unlock and then re-lock once inside of the room-if there was a fire we would have been in trouble. There is not elevator which was not a big issue for us. I am surprised at the state of the room after having read so many wonderful reviews about this hotel. However, when walking town the hallway it did appear that there may be a newer portion of the hotel than we were in-perhaps these rooms are nicer. We did ask for a different room and were instead moved to a different-"sister" hotel. This was ok by us but it did require a 20 minute walk across town-I would have rather just had a nice room to begin with. I would NOT recommend this hotel unless you can guarantee you are getting one of the nicer rooms pictured on the hotel website....The wifi was iffy at best. Only positive was the nice staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kallie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarnia, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Wow, this place was awesome. We are a party of three women aged 60. We took train to Rome, got a taxi to the hotel as we were not sure how far the hotel was, but knew it was not a great distance away. Be careful of taxis...this guy took us on a joy ride which cost us 15 Euros, when after getting the map of Rome from hotel, found out were about 5 blocks from train station and could have easily walked. This hotel is very close to train, subways, and local transit. You can walk it in about 15 min. The hotel manager, (did not get his name) was very friendly and accommodating. Our room, was located on the fourth floor. Little did we know, our room was in the tower. One of the women travelling with us has vision problems. There is a total of 75 stairs in a spiral staircase to our room. the top floor stair case was metal very narrow steps to our level... We were going to change rooms due to the difficulty of the location, but after seeing the room, we decided to stay put. Very large room, double and a twin to give the three of us plenty of room, very clean, air conditioner, bar fridge, amazing view, closet space, and a phone in case of emergency. The hotel is also very close to main street, where there were numerous restaurants and a small market to get snacks to bring back to hotel. The breakfast were excellent. No complaints whatsoever. Would definitely recommend this place and the tower room.

Room Tip: If you have any physical problems with ambulation, make sure you know where your room is. The tower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FranVan2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

I highly recommend this hotel for a city break, rooms were basic, clean and comfortable, the most important part is the great staff nothing was too much trouble, there is always a welcome smile when you get back from a full tourist day. I had left my camera in the back of a taxi to which I was quite upset, the reception staff made calls straight away to try to get this back. The location was great 10 minutes walk fro the Coliseum and the hop on hop off open top bus stop is just 5 minutes.

Room Tip: I was in a single room over the front door and had 3 great nights sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed at the Hotel Saturnia two weeks ago for 4 nights. The location is fantastic, its in walking distance (15min) of the Colosseum and other historic locations. The downside for me was that the rooms are super small and cramped and the walls are paper-thin. We could hear all the outside passing street chatter all through the night as well as early in the morning. I ended up having to use earplugs in order to sleep. The beds were the most uncomfortable that we slept in our 4 different hotels on our European vacation. My disclaimer...reviews are very subjective, but in this case, the noise was real, so if you are a light sleeper, I wouldn't recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not against the street if possible. Maybe the beds that are larger than a TW...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank z1vikingfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Stayed there in May 2014. It ticks all the boxes for me. It is an ideal location - we walked from the Termini station in under 10 minutes and then walked to the Colloseum again in under 10 minutes. If you get the bus from the airport, it takes about 45 minutes to the Termini and cost 5 Euros - a real bargain! The hotel was being refurbished and our bathroom was excellently kitted out. The room itself was nice and big and air-conditioned. Breakfast was fine and the staff were really helpful. Loved Rome - so much to do and see. Will be going back and would have no hesitation in staying here again. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Take the bus from the airport rather than the train or taxi and save a lot of money - you can easily...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeffrob111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

The location was perfect and within walking distance to the major tourist attractions.
The hotel,was clean and the staff pleasant. My husband had a fall and they couldn't do enough for us. We are very grateful to them for that. Please be aware that there is no lift so if you have walking diifficulties, you may want to ask for a room on the first floor which still has stairs but better than second or,third floor. We were on the second floor and they switched us to the first floor.
I would go back again. Excellent value and we never had to take a taxi. Lots of restaurants around as well.

Room Tip: Higher floors are a bit quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Canova
Hotel Canova
#454 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Monti
Raffaello Hotel
Raffaello Hotel
#78 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,364 reviews
Monti
Hotel Verona
Hotel Verona
#274 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
The Fifteen Keys Hotel
The Fifteen Keys Hotel
#9 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Monti
Hotel De Monti
Hotel De Monti
#73 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Esquilino
58 Le Real B&B
58 Le Real B&B
#994 of 3,734 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saturnia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saturnia

Property: Hotel Saturnia
Address: Via Ruinaglia 4/6, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#150 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Saturnia 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Saturnia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saturnia Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing