We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable stay”
Review of Brando & Gio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brando & Gio
Ranked #949 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I was welcomed by a very nice young man, who was not italian, of course... The building is very old but it is in an area with access to almost everything. Very close to Termini Station. The rooms are small. The telephone was broken. The main problem is that the building is residential and commercial and the dwellers do not like the "ins and outs" of the guests.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Artemis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2013

We arrived around midnight, beginning of Feb, with 0 degrees C outside... as well as inside! The window of a non-heated room was wide open, to get rid of the smell of the sigarette smoke! No additional blankets, and when concierge brought the heater, it cut off the lights on the whole floor, so he took it away and we had to put on all our clothes (including gloves!!) just to survive the night

No wonder, next morning we were out of there. In fact, we found a better place just 2 blocks away (hence closer to Termini) - for the same price!

I am not a 'picky' traveller, but even during my packipacking trips I haven't been to a worse place

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Olya_Sanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013 via mobile

the bathroom is small,they could provide more toilet paper too.we stayed in cold period and there was no extra blanket in the room.we did not have breakfast included so i cant rate this service but the overall impression of the hotel was not nice.for sure i wont be going back there.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suncica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

The hotel is situated in building with other B&B's but it's close to Termini station and subway (10mins walk). So that;'s the first plus. Staff speaks English,well at least half of them..Reception is open 24hrs, which I take as a big plus! Room was cosy & clean but a bit small. Modern and new. Bathroom was in excellent condition even with hairdryer! Breakfast was poor, but that's typical in Italian hostels and Bb's so I wasn't surprised at all. Although they were serving gorgeous cappuccino with heart . Loved it! We stayed 3 nights only and was there only for nights. Supermarket is on the way to termini station.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mayaosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We stayed at Brando & Gio for the last three nights of our 50 day trip. We stayed in lots of hotels, most were better than this one. The staff was indifferent, I don't know if it was because they were rude, or just didn't understand English. Answers to our questions were short and curt. We had contact with them only during check in and check out.

The room was small, but clean. The bathroom was adequate. We were in a non-smoking room, but the adjoining room apparently was smoking. The beds were small and very uncomfortable. Free internet.

Positives:
Ten minute walk to the main train terminal
Very low price
Elevator
Free Internet
Very Clean
Good neighborhood - lots of restaurants nearby

Negatives:
Small room
Small uncomfortable beds

We decided that we would be out of the room most of the time, so we would sacrifice comfort for location and price. Luckily the weather was good, if it was raining, it would be tough to spend a lot of time in the room. If you are looking just for a place to sleep, this will fit the bill.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank unckyherb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

The room wasnt the same that we booked so we had to pay 50euro to get our room,whatever we stayed 5 nights.No breakfast,the staff was not friendly AT ALL,i do not recomended

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ivelina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

My partner I I booked this hotel 9 months in advance for our stay of 1 night. Three months after the booking was made, we received an email advising our booking was cancelled and no explanation provided. We immediately sent an email asking why, and a response was received some days later advising a mistake was made with our name and the booking was cancelled by accident. We were then advised if we wished to rebook, the room would now be double the cost, after the hotel made the mistake and cancelled our booking! Needless to say, we did not re-book the room.

Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Young C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,272 in Rome
7,016 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#453 of 1,272 in Rome
300 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#106 of 1,272 in Rome
1,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Domidea Hotel
#215 of 1,272 in Rome
670 reviews
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#228 of 1,272 in Rome
1,083 reviews
Aventine
Hotel Villa San Pio
Hotel Villa San Pio
#76 of 1,272 in Rome
1,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brando & Gio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brando & Gio

Address: Via Castelfidardo 31 | Roma, 00185 Rome, Italy (Formerly Hotel Castelfidardo)
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #949 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £67 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Brando & Gio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brando And Gio
Brando & Gio Hotel Rome
Castelfidardo Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing