We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel at a great price. Ignore the picky reviews.”
Review of Black Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Black Hotel
Ranked #717 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

We have just got back from a week in Rome. We stayed at this hotel and to be honest we were a little concerned after reading some of the negative reviews.
There is nothing wrong with this hotel at all. It is very clean. The staff were wonderfully helpful and polite. The pool area is absolutely fine and a welcome retreat after a long day sightseeing.
As for the breakfast- its fine. I am a vegan and so I nipped to the near by supermarket and stocked up on soya milk and margarine. There is a vast array of choices and ok, its not a full English but there is plenty to choose from, fruit, pastries, cheeses, yoghurts, egg and bacon to name but a few. The staff happily restocked items when asked.
We had a brilliant week and we wouldn't hesitate to return. Ignore the picky reviews. Its a good hotel and worth trying if you are trying to stick to a budget. Thumbs up from us Black Hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Boostarla11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (885)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

156 - 162 of 885 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

This was our second stay at Black Hotel. Last time 3 years ago. We like the facilities, easy to park, nearby center of Rome, cheap, good beds, good shower but we were disappointed of the breakfast... But, easy also with taxi to the airport. We will be back!!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Hilde_is
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I booked this for a weekend break with wife and yes hotel is clean good location and might sound like small issue, but when u pack just what u need. Hotel not providing laundry facilities or even a Iron is a bit poor. I have stayed all over the world and even some of the cheapest... Ever:)...but thought for what we paid the hotel should at least provide at the minimum a iron. I was told no iron and no laundry faculties on weekend... To me that is ridiculous...but like I said everything apart from that it's good stay. This is just a note for anyone who is going to stay... Bring travel iron :)

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gee1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We had no problems what so ever with our stay. I went with two friends for 3 nights and we only paid £200 each including flights so we were worried about the hotel. I was delighted when we got there as it is very clean and modern.

Staff were very helpful when we have questions. They recommended nice restaurants for us to try and these were not overpriced and had very good food. There is a shuttle that will take you to the metro in the morning and the taxi back from there was only around 10-13 Euros.

It has a nice terrace to relax and free Wifi. The breakfast was adequate and there was enough even if you were later. The minibar in the rooms were not overpriced either and was very useful if you forgot to grab a drink, although the tap water can be drunk in Rome.

If I went back to Rome I would definitely stay here again as yes it is slightly out of the way but its quiet unlike the centre and there is a bar and restaurant across the road in the camping village that has cocktails and good food.

Room Tip: We stayed on the floor where the breakfast and pool is located so you did get a bit of noise but no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Lovely modern hotel, bit far from the centre of Rome.
Also the hotel is abit expensive in the restaurant! The staff were nice, we had a great time!
Taxi to centre was est 30 Euros. And back was 40- any price!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Natasha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

So we stayed in this hotel literally just to sleep in and get ready in. The hotel looked lovely and is very black inside. There is only one lift in the hotel and it managed to break down three times in the 4 nights we were there. On the day of checking out the lift was out of order and staff did not offer to help us to bring the bags down. I was travelling with my grandma two aunties and my sister so all women and they didnt help with bags. Then when leaving the hotel the staff didnt help to get our bags out until i asked them for help. The receptionist staff just tended to look or look away and were not helpful or happy. I found the staff rude. The AC in one room wasnt working and the handy man came to look at it but didnt actually know what he was doing.

Having said all that the hotel itself is pretty and funky with all the black colours and the hotel is very clean. The bathrooms are spacious and showers were big. The rooms had enough space in them however the fridge didnt seem to keep the water cold.

In terms of location its a little out of the city and so we relied on taxis.

We didnt eat anything in the hotel so cant comment on food or drinks.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheetal k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Small sauna and gym. Pool is nice free towels given nice atmosphere but small area. Sensors in hotel so can go dark if no movement. Nice outside area to relax good WiFi nice bar reception restaurant. 20 euros and 20 min from town. Vatican. So travel only downside. Rooms slanted roofs so student halls feel. OK hotel. There are hotels also nearby worth searching for.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Joshthakrar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
11.9 mi away
Best Western Hotel Roma Tor Vergata
0.1 mi away
Hotel Midas
Hotel Midas
#599 of 1,271 in Rome
121 reviews
9.9 mi away
Alba Hotel Torre Maura
Alba Hotel Torre Maura
#1,056 of 1,271 in Rome
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Rome Pisana
Hotel Rome Pisana
#622 of 1,271 in Rome
642 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Pineta Palace
Hotel Pineta Palace
#456 of 1,271 in Rome
1,075 reviews
7.1 mi away
Resort la Rocchetta
Resort la Rocchetta
#254 of 1,271 in Rome
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Hotel

Address: Via Raffaello Sardiello 18 | Centre - Aurelio, 00165 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #717 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £30 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Black Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Black Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing