We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“On a budget? this is the place for you...but not the kids.”
Review of Vacanze Romane 2

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vacanze Romane 2
Ranked #1,402 of 3,620 Rome B&B and Inns
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“On a budget? this is the place for you...but not the kids.”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

B and B's in Rome aren't like the ones in the UK, some are just a bedroom with a shower and breakfast is usually a ticket to exchange in a local cafe for a sticky bun and a coffee, and that's exactly what you get here. The good bit is that it's clean and very central and from my experience unless you pay a lot of money the hotel breakfasts in Rome are awful. You'd be better off saving your money and picking up something nice and fresh from one of the million street cafes on your way to the Vatican...you'll best the crowds that way too.

Room Tip: Great for couples but kids would go nuts as they've nothing to occupy themselves with.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Damian919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    29
    10
    3
    4
See reviews for
3
42
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

The apartment are located on the third floor of the building. There are 3 -4 rooms in the apartment.there is no elevator to the apartment. We have to drag our heavy luggage all the way up and it is so inconvenience. The room is just ordinary with posters of memorabilia of actresses from the 40-60's era plastered all over the wall.no credit card facility. Just cash. But its the cheapest and not recommended for family with kids to stay here.

Room Tip: Its more like a hostel to me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ritzstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

Singapore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2010

Hotel Review: vacanze romana 2
Duration: June - July 2010

Booking/Check-In:
As said in the description during the booking process, you should call the owner, when you arrive at the location. In our case, he was there within about 5 minutes, showed us into our rooms, gave us the keys and breakfast vouchers and left.
You pay in cash, in advance, at that time.
Early check-in was possible. One morning we heard other guests arrive, so we believe Vacanze Romane 2 makes early check-in possible, if there is availability.
The breakfast vouchers (we got one per person) are for one croissant and one coffee of your choice at a little bar around the corner, really close and on the way to the nearest subway station. If you expect a bigger breakfast, then you are clearly in the wrong country. 

Room:
Cleanliness: good; fresh towels were brought to the room daily, but you can choose to use towels from the previous day.
Hairdryer: yes
Bed: comfortable. Linen blanket with woolen blanket on top (you need that because of the aircon)
Curtain: doesn't really darken the room completely
Internet: not available
Air-condition: effective and quiet, but the temperature cannot be adjusted.
Noise level: surprisingly quiet, considering that the windows open to a regular street.

The hall and our room was tastefully decorated with all sorts of old movie posters, one of which being “Vacanze Romane”, the Italian title of the movie “Roman Holiday” (from 1953 with Gregory Peck and Audrey Hepburn), after which this Bed & Breakfast was named.

Location:
Quite easy to find. We walked all the way from Termini, but you could also take a metro or tram.
The B&B is inside an apartment building, so don’t expect any “hotel” signs on the outside.
In fact, there are 2 other B&Bs in the same building, called “Casa Vacanze Amarcord” and “Casa Vacanze Angelo di Roma”. Can’t comment anything on them, but maybe it’s interesting for you to know, in case Vacanze Romane 2 is booked out.
From Vacanze Romane 2 it is easy to reach all the sights of Rome on foot, by bus or metro.

We would definitely recommend this B&B to our budget-oriented friends, who just want to find a clean place to rest.

Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank thatguyfromgermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2010

If you want a good and cheap place in Rome - this is the one!
There is no elevator to take you and luggages to the second floor, or reception, or breakfast in the house... But it is what you need, and more!
It is well maintained, sheets are clean, so is bathroom. We would like new towels every day... but for the price... You have TV (digital cable), A/C, refrigerator in the hall and hairdryer in the bathroom.
Host of the B&B, Gian Luca, was absolutely kind, forthcoming and very useful. He gave us some card for 15% discount in some pizzeria, which is close to the B&B and is very decent place! He also gave us the map on which he marked all the important things in the city to get you started. When ever you call him, he'll be there in 5-10 minutes!
You pay in cash, we did the first moment we arrived, you get your own set of keys and you're kindly asked to leave the room by 10:30 the last day! So, you don't have to see anyone from the B&B, we kinda had the feeling that it is our own apartment! Which is cool!!!
Breakfast is in the nearby "bar" (Italian place for quick coffee and snack) which is very clean and busy in the morning - so it is first point to start knowing the Italians and their life style! You can get for the voucher issued by G.Luca what Italians would usually have: a coffee and a croissant (corneto - they call it), may not be enough, but it is Italian style breakfast.
You have two minutes to the Metro station, to two of them actually (closer is Vitorio Emanuele but easier to reach once under ground is Manzoni - less steps), or about 10-15 minutes of walking to Colosseum! Which is all very good, isn't it?
In the neighborhood you have groceries store, internet cafe, pharmacy, nice restaurant, big and nice park... All you could wish for! Well, I must add that it is in some kind of a China Town. Actually, there are many China shops in the neighborhood so it looks like China Town. It is very peaceful and quiet part of town. As all Rome is it is safe, except for the pickpocketing in Metro or in some buses, especially around Termini station, so beware!

Train "Leonardo Express" takes you from "Flumincino" airport to "Termini" station in the center of the city. It costs 14e per person (Apr. 2010) in one way. It is the best way to be in the city in short time (25min). Then on Termini you have both metro lines, A and B, and many buses. You take the line A, direction Anagnina, and get of on the first or second station (read above). Without map this information is useless, but I hope you'll bring one since it is hard to find one on airport or metro stations. If you plan to use metro and bus transportation I advise you to buy Metrebus ticket, which you can buy for three or seven days, 11 or 16euros (Apr. 2010).

I would just like to give some advice not in correlation to the Vacanze Romane 2, it considers the trip to Vatican. So, be sure to buy your tickets online - to skip the long lines, but be sure to do that on Vatican's site http://mv.vatican.va/ !!! Others lie that ticket includes visit to St Peters Basilica (well, it's free anyway!), and similar stupidities and cost 5-10 euros more than on Vatican's site. On official site it says a lot less about what you can visit, but it is the only trip possible in Vatican (there are some other but all are on Vatican's site as well!). Don't pay what you don't need to!
And for all museums and galleries, if possible, be sure to buy tickets on line, before you even come to Rome! But always on official site of that institution, never from resellers! It will save you the time of standing in the line, and more important - allow you to enter busy galleries which are sold out for couple of weeks in advance!
Hope this helps! Enjoy the SPQR!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank luka3rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2009

The owners speak no English at all, but that doesn't prevent them from being extremely welcoming & having a pleasant chat with you. A great & very atmospheric place for unforgettable 'Roman Holidays'!

Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AlenaRom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ely england
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2009

Booked two double rooms here for 3 nights in april 2009 and was a little concerned after reading the other reviews on this site,but there was really no need to worry.
Yes you do have to phone to be given your keys, but we were let in within five minutes,and you do walk round the corner for breakfast,but we found the staff in the cafe to be very freindly.Also this is a good place to buy your metrobus tickets and any snacks as they are reasonably priced, as are the beers and soft drinks.!
Our rooms were a good size and very clean, bathroom was also clean with lots of hot water with good pressure in shower.Each room is individually decorated with old movie posters which was more interesting than your average hotel.
The rooms are about 10 minutes walk from the main railway station and the nearest underground is only 5 minutes on foot.
main sights around Rome are only a short train ride or in the case of the colliseum a 15 minute walk.
I would stay here again and would happily recommend to freinds.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hotspur_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2008

We arrived late due to late flight and delayed baggage ( no fault of our own) we were quite upset on our arrival due to flight problems which we told the owner about when he came but when we telephoned the owner he did leave a family wedding to let us in.
We were expecting a bed and breakfast accomodation. We did not expect a ticket to be given to us and to be used in a cafe accross the road for a coffee and cake every day! We did not know the accomodation was not 'manned'. So in effect it should really be described as an apartment not bed and breakfast. We also did not expect it to be on the fourth floor (no lift) - again we were not prepared for this and as the owner could not help us to carry the luggage, we had to struggle ouerselves.
No tea facilities in the room but a hot water machine in the corridoor. Tea provide on our first day (no milk) after that we had to buy our own. A complicated espresso coffee maker with no instructions and we did not know how to use it. Towels only changed every 2 days, not enough really as we had very hot weather and needed 2 showers daily. The cleaner arrived daily but other than empty the bin, make the bed and wash cups that is all that she did. The floor was very dusty. Our first morning when we saw the other owner we were barely greeted with a 'hello' - it would have been nice if he had asked if everything was ok especially as we had problems at the airport on our arrival. We saw the original person who took the money from us immediately on ouer arrival (no receipt given) he didn't ask if evetthing was OK either. A bit of customer relations here would not go amiss. We were just told on arrival any problems to ring the phone numbe we were given. But communication goes a long way! Not enough storage space in the room due to the huge amount of old relics in there. OK but I would have preferred less old memorabilia and a chest of drawers perhaps? We just had one standard wardrobe. Tv remote did not work due to old batteries, hardly an emergency, but more communication from the ownesrs and attention to detail would have been more than welcome. Felt like we were not guest, but just tolerated.

  • Liked — nice posters on the wall
  • Disliked — lack of communication from owners, location, website a bit misleading, not very clean
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcwwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Vacanze Romane Rooms
#785 of 3,620 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Esquilino
Vacanze Romane
Vacanze Romane
#2,504 of 3,620 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Esquilino
B&T Rooms
B&T Rooms
#2,349 of 3,620 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#387 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vacanze Romane 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vacanze Romane 2

Property: Vacanze Romane 2
Address: Via Cairoli 31, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,402 of 3,620 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Vacanze Romane 2 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The A Monti Roma bed and breakfast has been finely structured down to the minimum detail. Here you will discover the charm of staying in a bed & breakfast, which is full of elegant treats and surprises. Located in one of Rome's historic districts, the "Rione Monti" district, right beside the Coliseum, the A Monti b&b allows you to stay near all Rome's major tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vacanze Romane 2 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vacanze Romane 2 Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing