We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for a good hotel”
Review of Antica Locanda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Antica Locanda
Ranked #567 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Burlington, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great location for a good hotel”
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Great location. Can walk just about every where except to the Vatican which is a bit far. But very close to the metro (5 min). Close to restaurant. More of a local area (vs very touristic area). Room very clean and big enough for 3 people. Breakfast is good. People are helpful although they do not speak a lot of English. They served us breakfast earlier twice to accommodate our schedule.

Beds were ok. very hard mattresses. bed for 3rd person was a sofa bed where the spring need to be changed.
Need to have ear plugs to sleep well as the hotel is in the middle of the city.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mag47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    67
    27
    8
    15
See reviews for
25
76
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012

I stayed there in October of this year. So much of the staff there was rude. The night clerk was not very nice to us. Our room was too cold and he couldn't figure out how to shut off the air conditioning. We asked for another blanket since they only provide a thin sheet - no blanket. The night clerk was annoyed to help us but he still went and got us another blanket. The blanket smelled horrible. It was completely mildewed and moldy. When we told the manager, she came to smell the blanket and she admitted it smelled very bad. But she did not offer to do anything to compensate us or make the situation better.

The two young front desk women that were also rude and unhelpful. One morning, a woman came to our room and asked us why we weren't gone. We said we had paid for the room for another night. She insisted we were wrong and we had to go and look up the receipt showing her that we were right. The manager apologized that they woke us up and were rude and incorrect.

At this point, I think they should have given us a partial refund for all the inconveniences but they did not offer anything. Just said, "oh well, we are sorry".

I would not recommend staying here - especially because it is expensive.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelqueensf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Calgary,Ab
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the Antica Locanda. The location was perfect! We were within walking distance to all the major sites. The breakfast in the morning was fantastic. The rooms were well-kept and had a very charming and traditional feel to them. It was an authentic experience staying here in the heart of Rome. The street was noisy, but i don't see how it could ever be quiet in Rome.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JacquelineRas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dagenham
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

This hotel is excellently placed for the main attractions. Don't expect peace and quiet until the early hours but this is the same in any city. Rooms are clean and the main bed was comfortable but we booked a family room and the single bed was a pull out bed settee - comfortable for children or short stay adult but after a couple of nights started to feel the lumps.
Breakfast was adequate although its not buffet so no choice - juice,coffee, croissant, bread, preserves, ham and cheese and we were disappointed that the roof garden was no longer open.
Staff were very helpful and all had a good sense of humour - especially the young receptionist. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would book again. (This is the 3rd hotel we've used in Rome and the best as far as we're concerned!)

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tkeddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2012

My sister and I stayed here for a couple of days and loved it. It was great location (5 minute walk to the coliseum) and the restaurants were really nice. Definitely recommend it to everyone. Family friendly.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Top location, near Collosseum, metro station. Adorable quiet rooms with airco. Very kind and helpfull hosts. Only minus (but not for us): Since there are a lot of stairs and no elevator, this B & B is less suitable for people in a wheelchair or elderly people..

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Asteroid73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2011

Rome can be overwhelming at first. My companion had never been before, and the crush on the Via Corso and at the Trevi Fountain was just too much for her. Fortunately, we were staying at Antica Locanda, in the Monti district near the Coliseum, on a narrow street. We were able to retreat (up several flights of steep stairs) to a beautiful and serene roof garden and relax above it all. (Do note that this area is quite near the Via Nazionale and in easy walking distance of just about everything. We walked to the Tiber but not to the Vatican.) Carmen runs the Antica Locanda in a friendly, casual sort of way, which suited us just fine. Our room (the Michelangelo) was beautiful, and breakfast was pleasant, if lacking in fruit or variety. Would we stay there again? Oh, yes!

Room Tip: Our room opened onto the street, and the night before the "Occupy" riots broke out, it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shmatta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Paba
Hotel Paba
#319 of 1,261 in Rome
414 reviews
Monti
Hotel Grifo
Hotel Grifo
#112 of 1,261 in Rome
1,097 reviews
Monti
Anfiteatro Flavio
Anfiteatro Flavio
#629 of 1,261 in Rome
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Fori Imperiali Cavalieri
Monti
Hotel Ivanhoe
Hotel Ivanhoe
#249 of 1,261 in Rome
599 reviews
Monti
Apollo Hotel
Apollo Hotel
#202 of 1,261 in Rome
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antica Locanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antica Locanda

Property: Antica Locanda
Address: Via del Boschetto 84, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #567 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Antica Locanda 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Antica Locanda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antica Locanda Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing