We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, clean hotel in an excellent location”
Review of Hotel Labelle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Labelle
Ranked #513 of 1,270 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed in Hotel Labelle for 3 nights in July 2011. We got the bus from the airport to Termini Station. We were going to get a taxi to the hotel but it's on Via Cavour so it wasn't too far to walk. We had to buzz into the hotel from outside and then we got the lift to the third floor. The lady at reception was friendly and checked us in within a few minutes. She offerred us a choice of two double rooms, they both looked similar but it was nice to be given a choice. The room was small but with all the sightseeing we didn't spend long in it anyway! The toilet and shower was also small but it was clean and toilettries were provided. Overall we were happy with the hotel especially since it was much cheaper than most hotels in the area. The location is excellent - it's only a few minutes walk from the Colosseum, Roman Forum and Palentine Hill. I would recommend Hotel Labelle to any of my friends visiting Rome.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ilovegoingonholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2010

On arriving after a long train journey from Como we arrived about 5.30. I was travelling with my son and had booked a twin room but was initially shown a tiny room next to the door with a double bed. The man said he had told them to make it a twin room but obviously they had not done this so he sent us away for 15 minutes and then told us to come back and then he would make another room available for us. we went away and had a coffee down the street and came back and were shown a different room which had a double and single bed in on the main road side . the overall impression of room 205 was it was very dingy and smelly but at least the towels and shhets were clean and it was a decent size. It had an old fashioned air conditioning unit that was very noisy. the toilet would not flush and my son had to get up and put his hand in the cistern several times to release the flushing mechanism ...not ideal when you are on holiday !! the shower doors and plastic sliding doors were very grimy with damp black marks along the grroves
At 1 am the air conditioning stopped working and we had no sleep as it was a very noisy room on the road and we had to open the windows. Next morning the shower fitment was broken and we had to hold the shower head in outr hand to get a shower. I went to see the man and told him about the air con and he said it needed emptying which he did for us
That night we kept the air con on and I got up at 4 am to go to the toilet and consequently stepped into a floor covered in water quite deep and consequently slipped and fell hurting my hip and leg. The man was no where to be seen so had to use the blankets and sheets and towels to mop it all up. We were gettig up at 6 am to go to pompei and so had to go and knock the man up and explain about all the faults( the hairdryer had also broke by this time also so with the flood, the broken toilet, and shower fitment it was not good ) He said he would move us to another room while we were out but no concern was shown for the fact i had fallen it was not even acknowledged. When we got back that evening they had moved us in to a tiny scruffy room that you couldn't swing a cat but after being on a trip for 13 hours didn't have the energy to argue any longer so just went to bed
(oh and also the coffee machime wasn't working and as there was no tea and coffee facilities in the hotel rooms had to go across the road each morning to get a coffee)
At the end of the stay i asked about a discount for the inconvenience of everything and she said no because " it could have happened to me at home it was just unfortunate ..and she wqs letting us leave our bags there free of charge for the afternoon "
The only redeeming feature was the location ...do not stop here if you want a decent hotel aswell.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank UK-Leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2010

Don't be put off by the weird cage elevator that you see after you're buzzed in -- use it to go to the hotel reception on the third floor (4th by North American counting) and don't carry your bags up four floors like I did.

The room was a tad ... lived-in, but we glimpsed a couple of other rooms and they looked nice and fresh. My son had recommended it and his room was great. It's right on Cavour, and the Colosseum is right down the street. We had a room NOT facing Cavour, so it wasn't very noisy.

There's no breakfast room, so you get a modest but very nice Continental breakfast served at whatever time you choose, complete with cappuccino if you prefer. Very nice, helpful staff. The restaurant across the street is terrific.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AndyCatChilliwack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2009

This is a collection of rooms with private bathrooms on the third floor of an pretty apartment building in Rome. It has an old grandeur feel to it with dark wood, golds, and gilt framed mirrors and the owner seems to take pride in the cleanliness and quality of her hotel. The location was excellent being a 5 minute walk from the colusseum metro, and one minute to the cavour metro stop, with lots of restaurants nearby.
The room was beautiful, quiet and peacefull, if a little small. However perfect if you want to go to Rome sight seeing and get a goodnights sleep. There is also a vending machine in the hotel where you can get water for 50c and croissants and coffee for 50-60c, very good value in Rome!

The only downside was that the bathroom was behind a sliding door into the room, which didn't close properly, so it was not that private if sharing the room with a spouse...

I would reccommend this hotel to a friend, or a couple who want a quiet get away to Rome

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evilparsnip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2009

Although the location of this hotel is excellent and rooms are well presented and clean, we found our stay a little stressful. We were locked out of the hotel at 10pm (the door to the hotel reception was locked) and although we rang the bell and knocked several times we were left outside for about 15 minutes before someone answered the door and we had to ask for a key for getting in again. Whilst we were waiting to get back to our room I noticed a slip of paper clipped to the hotel name on the door that contained mine and my partner's passport details. Breakfast was fairly basic at the cafe up the road (coffee and croissant). Otherwise the facilities of the hotel were ok.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louie85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2009

Considering the price, this is a good value hotel very close to the Colosseum. The rooms were a bit cramped (especially the bathroom), but thankfully when in Rome you're only there to sleep as there's so much to go out and see during the day. Rooms were cleaned daily, beds made and towels replaced. No funky smells. Hotel is located on a safe street though not much in the area in terms of restaurants. Colosseum Metro is a 5-10 minute walk, as is the Colosseum and Forum.

Breakfast is simple but will do - it's better than nothing. It's a no-frills hotel, but does the job - and at a good price for Rome too! Book it!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travluh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2009

Overall the hotel good, taking into account value for money and cleanliness etc. Rooms were clean with new towels and linen everyday. Staff were extremely friendly and willing to help with anything needed.

Negatives:

Breakfast in bar near by was noy what we expected. It consisted of a croissant, a drink, and melba toast. Yes its continental, but a very poor uality version of it.

When we first arrived though there was no front desk as hotel is on 3rd floor of an apartment building. Only after speaking on intercom system did someone come down to open the front door, as it is kept locked.

Also we were driving and told by the hotel they had an agreement with a local car park. When we arrived there was no such agreement or parking. It took us two days to find a permament space. It eventually cost 7 euro a day, which was not too bad though.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlenStrowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Romano
Hotel Romano
#249 of 1,270 in Rome
225 reviews
Monti
Relais No9 Colosseo
Relais No9 Colosseo
#642 of 1,270 in Rome
63 reviews
Monti
Hotel Paba
Hotel Paba
#313 of 1,270 in Rome
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Solis
Hotel Solis
#220 of 1,270 in Rome
595 reviews
Monti
Hotel Fori Imperiali Cavalieri
Monti
Hotel Rosetta
Hotel Rosetta
#431 of 1,270 in Rome
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Labelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Labelle

Address: Via Cavour 310, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #513 of 1,270 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £42 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Labelle 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Labelle is in the historic centre of Rome, a 5-minute walk from the Coliseum. The trendy Monti district is just across the road. Labelle Hotel is on the 3rd floor of a historic building, and offers spacious rooms with air-conditioning. Breakfast is served in the room. The Labelle is 500 metres from Colosseo Metro Station on line B. Public buses run on Via Cavour and on nearby Via Dei Fori Imperiali. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Labelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Labelle Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing