We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What it lacks in luxury, makes up for in location”
Review of Hotel Labelle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Labelle
Ranked #540 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“What it lacks in luxury, makes up for in location”
Reviewed 8 June 2009

Considering the price, this is a good value hotel very close to the Colosseum. The rooms were a bit cramped (especially the bathroom), but thankfully when in Rome you're only there to sleep as there's so much to go out and see during the day. Rooms were cleaned daily, beds made and towels replaced. No funky smells. Hotel is located on a safe street though not much in the area in terms of restaurants. Colosseum Metro is a 5-10 minute walk, as is the Colosseum and Forum.

Breakfast is simple but will do - it's better than nothing. It's a no-frills hotel, but does the job - and at a good price for Rome too! Book it!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travluh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    62
    27
    8
    9
See reviews for
40
61
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southport
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2009

Overall the hotel good, taking into account value for money and cleanliness etc. Rooms were clean with new towels and linen everyday. Staff were extremely friendly and willing to help with anything needed.

Negatives:

Breakfast in bar near by was noy what we expected. It consisted of a croissant, a drink, and melba toast. Yes its continental, but a very poor uality version of it.

When we first arrived though there was no front desk as hotel is on 3rd floor of an apartment building. Only after speaking on intercom system did someone come down to open the front door, as it is kept locked.

Also we were driving and told by the hotel they had an agreement with a local car park. When we arrived there was no such agreement or parking. It took us two days to find a permament space. It eventually cost 7 euro a day, which was not too bad though.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlenStrowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2009

A good value hotel near the Colosseum. Beds were clean and comfortable and breakfast at the local cafe down the street (via LaBelle-provided coupons) was good. I'd ask for an interior room as Via Cavour can be a little noisy at night.

Overall, would come back here if I were looking for a clean, decent hotel in Rome.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBLightPacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2009

Wasn't too impressed during visit but after continued travel in Europe it wasn't a bad hotel after all. Stayed in a standard double bed room with facilities. Was spacious enough, rooms made up daily. Breakfast was coffee, a croissant, toast/biscuit type with jam and small cup of juice. The little fridge in room was too dirty to store things in and a couple of nights the whole place smelt like a drain...The area was good and really close to the metro, hotels in Rome are expensive but I think this was an ok deal. It had an elevator which not all do. The male receptionists spoke english.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nothomerightnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2007

My new husband and I stayed at the Hotel Labelle for two weeks on our honeymoon this past June. I was a little nervous booking this hotel because it was very inexpensive compared to a lot of the other Rome hotels, especially considering the location. But, it was perfect.

The hotel is just a stone's throw away from the Colosseum and the Roman Forum. Everything else is about a 15 - 20 minute walk (not including St. Peter's). It is on a very busy street, but seemed a pretty safe area.

When we arrived in Rome, we took a taxi from the Termini to the hotel on Via Cavour. The hotel is a litte hard to see because the only sign is on the door and it looks like a regular building. You have to buzz the hotel from outside. We were lucky enough that an Italian woman was also trying to get inside and she communucated to the person that we didn't speak Italian. We just reiterated our name and they finally buzzed the door.

We went up the elevator to the third floor and came to the Hotel Labelle entrance. It was beautful and cool (which we wanted because it was very hot outside). The hotel clerk spoke relatively good English. The only problem that we had checking in was that they tried to put us in a room that was already occupied. So, after checking multiple rooms, we were finally put in room 210. I was so relieved. I was worried we were going to have to find another hotel, but it worked out.

The room was surprisingly large. It had a comfy queen size bed with a small twin next to it. There was a large wardrobe covering the length of the wall on the left with mirrored doors and three dresser drawers. A chandelier hung from the high ceiling. There was also a large dresser next to the door with a mirror. So, we had plenty of storage space for our clothes. The room had a mini fridge and a television (only showing Italian programs). The bathroom was small but managable. There was only a shower, which I expected. But, the water pressure was great and the water was hot. There was also a biday (sp?). The thing I liked most about the room was that it was very quiet. Besides the hum from our airconditioner, which was a stand up unit, it was so peaceful (until you open the window!)

The staff was helpful, although we didn't ask for much. Our room was cleaned every day with fresh towels and the bed made. I think we made them upset because we were never out of our room before noon, and once they called to clean and we just told them no thank you. The only thing that was bothersome was that they would turn off our airconditioner when they cleaned the room and after walking around in 90 degree weather to a mild temperature room wasn't great. But, we would just turn it on again. The room never got hot.

The only thing missing from the room was a clock. This was a blessing and a curse. It really felt like we were on vacation since we didn't have to worry about time, but when it came time to leave we worried that we wouldn't get up. But, no biggy - the desk gave us a wake up call and called a taxi for us.

Tip #1 - the restuarant across the street - Massenzio's - is wonderful. Every time we ate there, and we ate there at least three nights, it was delicious. The waiters were friendly and it was pretty affordable. I recommend the lasagna al forno and the tarafuto for dessert!

Tip #2 - buy the Roma pass. It gets you into museums, buses, and subways for 20 E for three days. It was invaluable to us. You can purchase them at most museums. You'll save a lot of money and a lot of hassle taking the subway.

Tip #3 - watch out for beggars. We did have one holding a large cardboard slab try to steal my husband's wallet.

Tip #4 - if you are worried about not speaking the language, don't be. Most restuarants have English/Italian menus and most waiters and store clerks speak English.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
15 Thank annegirl80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
74 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2007

Since my original post in June 2005, ,,my husband and I have returned to the LaBelle three times, most recently with our family, 3 adult children and three grandchildren, ages 11, 8 and 2 years. We had 2 family rooms that accommodated 4 guest each and a double room. Maria, the manager and her staff were very helpful and receptive to our requests and very kind to the children. The restaurant they suggested the first night proved to be so good that we returned several times. The LaBelle is a basic no frills 2 star hotel, clean, well managed in a great location. We'll certainly stay there if we return to Rome.

  • Liked — the pleasant staff, the location and cleanliness
  • Disliked — small bathroom although it was clean and adequate for our needs
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank memorymaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2007

You can get a much better hotel for the price in say, Brittany in France but given that it is very expensive in Rome, this 2-star hotel is good value for money.

The hotel is old but clean. The bed sheets are clean and they make the bed everyday. The towels aren't your usual terry cloth variety, but more like an oversized dish towel but does the job perfectly and they put new ones in the bathroom everyday. The bathroom is a bit on the small side but very functional. It takes 5 minutes before you get hot water, so take that into consideration. The staff is very friendly too.

Don't hold your breath on the breakfast. You have your breakfast at the snack bar beside the hotel building and don't expect a continental breakfast.

The locations is perfect, just a stone's throw away from the Colosseum where there's a metro station and a major bus station.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — breakfast
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ask_away68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Romano
Hotel Romano
#230 of 1,257 in Rome
208 reviews
Monti
Hotel de Rome
Hotel de Rome
#590 of 1,257 in Rome
255 reviews
Monti
Hotel Foro Romano Imperatori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Rosetta
Hotel Rosetta
#415 of 1,257 in Rome
203 reviews
Monti
Hotel Solis
Hotel Solis
#175 of 1,257 in Rome
553 reviews
Monti
Hotel Fori Imperiali Cavalieri
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Labelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Labelle

Property: Hotel Labelle
Address: Via Cavour 310, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #540 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Labelle 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Labelle is in the historic centre of Rome, a 5-minute walk from the Coliseum. The trendy Monti district is just across the road. Labelle Hotel is on the 3rd floor of a historic building, and offers spacious rooms with air-conditioning. Breakfast is served in the room. The Labelle is 500 metres from Colosseo Metro Station on line B. Public buses run on Via Cavour and on nearby Via Dei Fori Imperiali. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Labelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Labelle Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing