We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for our Honeymoon”
Review of Hotel Labelle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Labelle
Ranked #511 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2007

My new husband and I stayed at the Hotel Labelle for two weeks on our honeymoon this past June. I was a little nervous booking this hotel because it was very inexpensive compared to a lot of the other Rome hotels, especially considering the location. But, it was perfect.

The hotel is just a stone's throw away from the Colosseum and the Roman Forum. Everything else is about a 15 - 20 minute walk (not including St. Peter's). It is on a very busy street, but seemed a pretty safe area.

When we arrived in Rome, we took a taxi from the Termini to the hotel on Via Cavour. The hotel is a litte hard to see because the only sign is on the door and it looks like a regular building. You have to buzz the hotel from outside. We were lucky enough that an Italian woman was also trying to get inside and she communucated to the person that we didn't speak Italian. We just reiterated our name and they finally buzzed the door.

We went up the elevator to the third floor and came to the Hotel Labelle entrance. It was beautful and cool (which we wanted because it was very hot outside). The hotel clerk spoke relatively good English. The only problem that we had checking in was that they tried to put us in a room that was already occupied. So, after checking multiple rooms, we were finally put in room 210. I was so relieved. I was worried we were going to have to find another hotel, but it worked out.

The room was surprisingly large. It had a comfy queen size bed with a small twin next to it. There was a large wardrobe covering the length of the wall on the left with mirrored doors and three dresser drawers. A chandelier hung from the high ceiling. There was also a large dresser next to the door with a mirror. So, we had plenty of storage space for our clothes. The room had a mini fridge and a television (only showing Italian programs). The bathroom was small but managable. There was only a shower, which I expected. But, the water pressure was great and the water was hot. There was also a biday (sp?). The thing I liked most about the room was that it was very quiet. Besides the hum from our airconditioner, which was a stand up unit, it was so peaceful (until you open the window!)

The staff was helpful, although we didn't ask for much. Our room was cleaned every day with fresh towels and the bed made. I think we made them upset because we were never out of our room before noon, and once they called to clean and we just told them no thank you. The only thing that was bothersome was that they would turn off our airconditioner when they cleaned the room and after walking around in 90 degree weather to a mild temperature room wasn't great. But, we would just turn it on again. The room never got hot.

The only thing missing from the room was a clock. This was a blessing and a curse. It really felt like we were on vacation since we didn't have to worry about time, but when it came time to leave we worried that we wouldn't get up. But, no biggy - the desk gave us a wake up call and called a taxi for us.

Tip #1 - the restuarant across the street - Massenzio's - is wonderful. Every time we ate there, and we ate there at least three nights, it was delicious. The waiters were friendly and it was pretty affordable. I recommend the lasagna al forno and the tarafuto for dessert!

Tip #2 - buy the Roma pass. It gets you into museums, buses, and subways for 20 E for three days. It was invaluable to us. You can purchase them at most museums. You'll save a lot of money and a lot of hassle taking the subway.

Tip #3 - watch out for beggars. We did have one holding a large cardboard slab try to steal my husband's wallet.

Tip #4 - if you are worried about not speaking the language, don't be. Most restuarants have English/Italian menus and most waiters and store clerks speak English.

Stayed: June 2007
15  Thank annegirl80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2007

Since my original post in June 2005, ,,my husband and I have returned to the LaBelle three times, most recently with our family, 3 adult children and three grandchildren, ages 11, 8 and 2 years. We had 2 family rooms that accommodated 4 guest each and a double room. Maria, the manager and her staff were very helpful and receptive to our requests and very kind to the children. The restaurant they suggested the first night proved to be so good that we returned several times. The LaBelle is a basic no frills 2 star hotel, clean, well managed in a great location. We'll certainly stay there if we return to Rome.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank memorymaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2007

You can get a much better hotel for the price in say, Brittany in France but given that it is very expensive in Rome, this 2-star hotel is good value for money.

The hotel is old but clean. The bed sheets are clean and they make the bed everyday. The towels aren't your usual terry cloth variety, but more like an oversized dish towel but does the job perfectly and they put new ones in the bathroom everyday. The bathroom is a bit on the small side but very functional. It takes 5 minutes before you get hot water, so take that into consideration. The staff is very friendly too.

Don't hold your breath on the breakfast. You have your breakfast at the snack bar beside the hotel building and don't expect a continental breakfast.

The locations is perfect, just a stone's throw away from the Colosseum where there's a metro station and a major bus station.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ask_away68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2006

4 of us stayed here last week and found the hotel to be ideal for what we wanted. Right by the Colosseum, you could walk to all the sites from here. It was clean but a little bit noisy at times – mind you, you are in the middle of the city, so you do expect it – but it was not off putting. The staff was very friendly and I could not fault the place. We were on a 4 day break and wanted to make the most that Rome had to offer – so we were out for most of the day and wanted a hotel with lots of restaurants near by. Our favourite was the Restaurant Imperiale on Largo Corrado Ricci – great food at very reasonable prices. Just beware – a large beer is a litre not a pint! The wine bar at 313 on Via Cavour is fantastic for antipasti, with a great wine list. Breakfast was ok in the café next door – it was very busy with locals on their way to work but was great for people watching. All in all, I would recommend the hotel to anyone who wants a central location, with reasonably priced restaurants and bars on the door step to provide a reasonably priced fantastic meal after a days site seeing!

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Dave1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reading
110
Reviewed 25 February 2006

We stayed here in Dec 2005. The location is fantastic - walking distance from all the major sights and just round the corner from the Colosseum. The staff couldn't do enough to help you and they will recommend good, cheap places to eat nearby. Rooms are clean, breakfast is from a cafe a few doors away - breakfast is a bit minimal, but ok. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 days ago
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank btaramonaolortegui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank eaz83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Romano
Hotel Romano
#252 of 1,269 in Rome
221 reviews
Monti
Hotel Rosetta
Hotel Rosetta
#417 of 1,269 in Rome
212 reviews
Monti
Hotel de Rome
Hotel de Rome
#549 of 1,269 in Rome
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Relais No9 Colosseo
Relais No9 Colosseo
#615 of 1,269 in Rome
63 reviews
Monti
Hotel Solis
Hotel Solis
#231 of 1,269 in Rome
587 reviews
Monti
Hotel Foro Romano Imperatori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Labelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Labelle

Address: Via Cavour 310, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #511 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £64 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Labelle 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Labelle is in the historic centre of Rome, a 5-minute walk from the Coliseum. The trendy Monti district is just across the road. Labelle Hotel is on the 3rd floor of a historic building, and offers spacious rooms with air-conditioning. Breakfast is served in the room. The Labelle is 500 metres from Colosseo Metro Station on line B. Public buses run on Via Cavour and on nearby Via Dei Fori Imperiali. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Labelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Labelle Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing