We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid if possible”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bed and Breakfast Giovy
Ranked #2,161 of 3,781 Rome B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Stayed for 6 nights and unfortunately paid up front. Not much positive apart from the host and the location. Negatives runs as far as the eye can see:

- Paper thin walls
- TERRIBLE matress. Very soft and worn out springs with plastic undersheet. Better to sleep on the floor. Did not have one night good sleep.
- Noisy neighbors, who appear to be residence
- Condensation problem in bathroom as mentioned by previous reviewer
- Breakfast is inedible. Even the milk is from milk powder an watered down
- Aweful smell in room, very damp so had to keep windows open
- Its not even cheap!
Really spoiled our stay at rome.
AVOID AT ALL COST. NOT WHAT IS USED TO BE!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Charlie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (373)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 373 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2013

Drawn on the very good reviews on TA, we booked this place for our 4 nights stay in Rome. This place is family run, and Giovanna and her daughters made us feel welcome here. Room is good size, however, the bathroom/toilet must be the smallest that we encountered during this trip. Breakfast is also slanted towards sweets/cakes, and very little variety in terms of the meat cuts. One minus for us also is the patchiness of the wifi system, most time it would not connect reliably.Otherwise, the rate and the location is ideal for our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hadiwi56a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We stayed at Giovy B&B in May 2013 for three nights after a cruise in the Mediterranean. A very friendly family run business with an excellent location. Very quiet and comfortable bedroom. Very good value for money. Two blocks from Rome Termini Station - easily walkable even with luggage.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

We stayed at B&B Giovy (now the “Hotel Maryelen & Giovy”) for the second time after a few years. A lot has changed, so this review will focus on the changes for the benefit of those who have stayed here before, or want to check if the earlier reviews are still valid.

The Hotel Maryelen and B&B Giovy, two businesses (owned by the same family, I believe) both consisting of rooms in the same apartment building, have merged, and now have a combined lobby opening directly onto the street (so guests do not have to go upstairs into one of the apartments when checking in). The breakfast rooms have also merged: breakfast is now served in a room adjoining the lobby. The rooms have been renovated, though the overall feel has remained the same. To summarise features and changes compared with the old B&B Giovy which struck us:

Positives
- Principal staff were friendly (Lauredana, who is Giovanna’s sister, takes care of the front desk), and gave us great dining suggestions
- Location still very convenient (a few minutes’ walk from Termini station, trams and buses), and rooms are still quiet and very spacious
- Prices are still reasonable
- A large luggage room next to the lobby

Negatives
- Breakfast consisted mainly of old cakes and stale cookies – during our stay we definitely saw slices of the same colourful cake every morning. “Juices” came out of a machine and were watered down. Coffee came out of a machine too. There were no eggs or other hot foods, only sliced ham and lettuce (and sliced ham and lettuce sandwiches). There were croissants but they also did not seem fresh.
- The bathroom was small, with barely room for any toiletries, and prone to an extreme amount of condensation, which dripped from the overhead toilet cistern. The toilet itself was not firmly attached to the floor, and if one shifts one’s weight on it, it wobbled alarmingly. The shower was very difficult to control – almost impossible to get a good stream of hot (but not scalding) water.
- The room renovation did not pay attention to power points: the wall sockets were “Italian” style and too small to fit general “EU”-style plugs – which might be reasonable, except the kettle provided had an “EU”-style plug and so could not fit into the sockets in the room! We improvised by taking the conversion plug off the TV’s (EU-style) plug and used it for the kettle.
- The room had a weird smell (cleaning products?) forcing us to open the windows to ventilate (even when it was cold). The kettle had a bleach smell which we could not get out – so all our boiled water smelled faintly of bleach.
- The “double” bed was two single mattresses pushed together, which easily moved apart but were not so easy to push back together.

Verdict: The negatives, especially the disappointing breakfast which is a huge contrast from the days when Giovanna personally took care of it, pushes this place out of my “recommended with no hesitation” list for Rome. Stay here for the location, but don’t expect the same quality as a few years ago.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank poms_in_a_pod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

We arrived early AM after long flight from USA We were meet with juice and cookies and allowed to check in our rooms immediately.Location 2 blocks from Termini station ( bus, trains, subway) If you are a fit walker you can walk to most of the sites. Plenty of restaurants near by, as well as souveneir shopping near station. Breakfast was good and included in the price of the room. Rooms were large by European standards, beds would be considered hard by American standards. Refrigerator,safe, decent size towels, shampoos, free WiFi. Great value for the price. Staff made us feel like family. We walked every where never felt unsafe.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laculturevulture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

My wife and I are independent travelers and in our late 60s. We always take public transportation, never rent cars. We spent 8 nights at Giovy in mid February at the outset of six weeks travels in Italy, Germany, and Malta. We were drawn to Giovy by good reviews here and that it is less than a five minute walk to Termini Station. We were very happy with our choice. Our room was large (by European standards), had new furnishings and bathroom fittings, offered a small balcony and courtyard view, and a frig and tea kettle (this last much appreciated by my wife, and usually absent from Italian hotels). There is an elevator. Although close to Termini, things could not have been more quiet at night, and we slept well. The "Q" word is perhaps the supreme consideration for us. This is a family run business, and Giovanna and her daughter and husband could not have been nicer. Breakfast options were plentiful, though perhaps a little too weighted towards sweets for our taste. We got a very good rate in mid February. The only limitation is that payment is accepted in cash only, but we found reliable ATM machines at the lower level of Termini. We thought Giovy was an excellent and safe place for independent travels, and in a great location for exploring Rome, for day trips out of Rome, or for moving on to other parts of Italy.

Room Tip: Courtyard view is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank william2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

I stayed here with my elderly father for 3 nights. The set-up is quite unusual, in that B&B Giovy is part of a complex of other hotels and B&B’s, and you have to let yourself to the accommodation part with a key, but the location is brilliant – only about 5 minutes to Termini railway station and within easy walking distance of all of the sites. Another reviewer has said it is a dodgy area – well streets close to railways stations aren’t always the best, but we never had any concerns as to our safety.

We were given a very warm welcome, and made to feel like family throughout our stay. The rooms were spacious – far more like hotel rooms than a B&B - we had everything we needed in the rooms, including a safe, and the beds were comfortable. The televisions have numerous channels, none of which are English speaking, but personally I found Postman Pat in Italian was an education, and I don’t go on holiday to watch television! You are a little dependant on your neighbours – on the first night I was kept awake by people in neighbouring rooms having some sort of party – but that was not the fault of the hotel, and the following nights were fine. Our rooms overlooked a courtyard, so we had no problem with road noise.

Breakfast included cakes, bread, cheese, and croissants, among other things. It was a bit of a challenge for my father, who is a diabetic, as most of the food was sweetened, but he managed to find enough to keep him happy with the croissants and cheese. There were even some sandwiches there, which he tried (but didn’t really enjoy as they had seen better days!). The selection of food may not be as impressive as in some hotels, but we had no complaints.

Just a warning to anyone staying here, that they do not take credit cards, so you need to have enough cash to pay. We had booked via Booking.com, and I had missed that bit of information in the small print on the booking, so we used up all of our cash on the hotel! But there is a cashpoint just around the corner, so that problem was easy solved.

We have stayed in other hotels in Rome which are as much as twice the price, but not as good as B&B Giovy. I found it a very friendly and welcoming place to stay, and excellent value for money, and am recommending it to my friends. I will certainly stay there again if I return to Rome.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Soots_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Contilia
Hotel Contilia
#695 of 1,271 in Rome
821 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Di Rienzo
Hotel Di Rienzo
#610 of 3,781 in Rome
126 reviews
Monti
Rose Santamaria Residence
Rose Santamaria Residence
#2,974 of 3,781 in Rome
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Funny Palace
Funny Palace
#815 of 3,781 in Rome
224 reviews
Esquilino
Roman Residence Inn
Roman Residence Inn
#384 of 3,781 in Rome
343 reviews
Esquilino
Dem Guesthouse
Dem Guesthouse
#529 of 3,781 in Rome
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed and Breakfast Giovy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed and Breakfast Giovy

Address: Via Principe Amedeo, 85/a, 185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2,161 of 3,781 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: £42 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bed and Breakfast Giovy 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Bed and Breakfast Giovy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bed And Breakfast Giovy Hotel Rome
b&b Giovy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing