We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic location, service, and value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bed and Breakfast Giovy
Ranked #2,308 of 3,752 Rome B&B and Inns
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, service, and value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2010

Had a fantastic stay at B&B Giovy- Giovanna was so friendly and helpful during our stay.
The location is excellent- Amedeo street is great (mix of restaurants, shops, etc), and very close to both the Termini Station (but far enough to be away from the the crowds there!) and also Santa Maria Maggiore church.
(There is a laundromat right across the road.. just be aware it's 7 euros PER wash...)
The B&B is located in a quiet building with lovely centre courtyard (we had a fantastic room with our own beautiful balcony overlooking the courtyard).
Rooms were a good size, with tv and aircon (definately a plus in Rome during July!). Bathroom was small but had everything we needed, and room was always really clean.
The wifi signal was great too.
Breakfast simple, the fresh fruit and cappuccino made by Giovanna were great!
Can't say enough about Giovanna - she was excellent, and there were really small things she helped us with which just made our stay even more memorable.
Once again the BEST value for money in Rome with great location.
Will be staying again and recommending to friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilyAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    85
    28
    22
    18
See reviews for
49
215
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2010

We booked Giovy B&B after a friend stayed at Giovanna's sister's B&B in same building. Fantastic hostessing obviously runs in the family! Rooms not especially glamorous but quite comfortable. Free internet a bonus! Handy location to Termini and we felt quite safe walking to and from the station etc. Laundrette across the road that we were able to leave our washing to the friendly man to see to while we ate at Alfredo's restaurant a few doors up the road. What else would you need? Would definitely stay again when in Rome. Thanks Giovanna!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Callyoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2010

I stayed for 1 night in June 2010 with my cousin and sister. This is my THIRD stay so far. I have been here in June 2008 and June 2009 with my husband!!!!

This is my go to place in Rome which although is rated a 1 star being no frills is a 5 star at heart due to the location, value and service from GIovanna!!! I have stayed at hotel Romantica (2 star) down the street and also Grand Hotel Palatino (4 star hotel) on via Cavour on prior visits but I now always go back to B&B Giovy ... and heres why:

LOCATION: It is a few blocks from Termini train station. Termini has a direct train to Fiumicino airport and bus shuttle to Ciampino airport. Termini station connects you to both metro lines. I have walked around between 12midnight to even 2 or 3 am and never had any problems. No problem with loud noise. There is a laundry place across the street and also a grocery store a block away. I believe there is a post office not too far as well.

PRICE: You can email them directly for the best rates. On this trip our triple room costs us 100E for the 3 of us. The price is great considering it is ROME!

SERVICE: Giovanna is simply one of the best hosts i've ever met at a B&B!! She always has a smile on her face and her customer service is top notch! Her english is great and she usually meets you on the street on arrival!

WHAT INCLUDED: there is free wifi!! The breakfast includes awesome red orange juice, and cappuccino/tea/coffee/fruit/yogurt/snacks/bread. If you need to leave early just let Giovanna know and she will pack you breakfast for the next day! No problem with towels and toilet paper but make sure you bring your own soap, shampoo and conditioner. Yyou can leave your luggage if you need too. the washroom is a tight squeeze but for the service and price its not a big deal. There is a fridge in room and a small TV but no alarm clock or telephone. They have maps of Rome if you need one. Finally, there is a small elevator if your room happens to be on a higher floor.

I will definitely be back here sometime in the future!!! Its always been a pleasure to stay here.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank explorergirl79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2010

It's hard to beat this location, especially if you arrive by train at Roma Termini and/or want to catch the express train to Leonardo da Vinci-Fiumicino Airport. The less time you spend with your luggage, the better, because there sure is a lot to be done in Rome. And if you stay with Giovanna at her B&B, you can find all the information you'll need to get around, sight-see, shop, and eat well.

When you reserve a room at B&B Giovy, know that you're staying with family. When we arrived we were greeted by Giovanna, her husband, her sister, and then escorted to our room by her niece, Julia. When we needed to print a document we went across the street to visit her mother and brother who had a computer and printer available. When we awoke in the morning, we could hear jovial conversation in the dining room - more of Giovanna's family stopping by for breakfast. So yes, you will be served what her family eats, and it is wonderful: fresh squeezed juice from little Sicilian blood oranges, cappuccino (or your preferred cafe) dusted with powdered chocolate, and an assortment of breads, jams, and cheese. And when we couldn't make it to breakfast on our last day, Giovanna made sure we had some food in our fridge to take with us. Such a gracious and wonderful host!

The rooms themselves seemed recently renovated and were spacious for the price; the shower was maybe a few square feet larger than usual (a noticeable difference, relative to other showers in Europe). When we walked in, my wife suggested that the rooms were serviced by the women in the family: there was a dish of potpourri next to a dish of candies on the table; little touches that made her feel comfortable. The A/C was nice and cool, the in-room refrigerator was convenient, and the free WiFi was a big plus. One note about the towels: they are clean but are dried outside on a line, so they can be a bit stiff. I grew up with this so it was no problem for me, but it might be a downer for some with tenderer inclinations.

If you like to travel anonymously and would rather never meet the people who run the place and clean your room, you should stick to a hotel. For my wife and I, conversing with Giovanna and meeting her family in the B&B and out on the street was one of the things that made Rome so much more welcoming than it might have been. We consider ourselves lucky to have met them; it was a pleasure to stay with them and to be able to enjoy their company half a world from home!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marynandscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2010

This B&B is a wonderful value in downtown Rome. It even included wi-fi and an empty frigobar for a few drinks and finger food. At breakfast, Giovy makes the best capuccino and expresso, and her service was wonderful. All the accolades are deserved. If you are in a budget, there is no better place.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rgf001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2010

Giovana sincerely wants you to enjoys your stay in Rome and is very helpful with excellent advice and local knowledge. Of course she is "la bella donna!" Very handy to the station and to various sights. Room was compact but very comfortable. Good continental breakfast. Very highly recommended. Excellent value.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheVals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
295 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2010

Giovy is the best host you will find in Rome, possibly Italy or Europe. She runs her B&B like a 5-star hotel in service. She even prepared a take-away breakfast on our last day to help us with our early morning departure. Guests become family during their stay, you will truly feel at home. And, you will be surprised to see her top-chef coffee grinder and expresso machine, I still miss her cappuccinos. About the location, you cannot find a better location in Rome. You are 2 to 4 blocks away from trains, metro, and all service buses. If you picnic around, you even have 2 supermarkets a few blocks away too. While we did not need an elevator for a first floor, Giovy has an elevator if you need one, that is a big deal in Europe in general. WIFI worked great in our room, not an easy find at a B&B. Giovy and her staff can be tour operators if they wanted; they helped us with bus numbers to reach our destination and shared maps of the city with routes to follow. You will not get lost. I wish you all have the same great stay and best memories of her home.
----
This last part is for women only: there are shops in every block in that area. They sell imported bags, jewlery, and shinny stuff. Go to the market first, there is one in Via Sannio, a 10 min ride in metro, closed on Sundays. You will be amazed at the things they sell and the prices they have. This is not the largest market but it is BIG. When I did customs in Italy, the inspector asked me if I got my 'jewlery' in Rome and where. She was amazed! Guess what? I paid 2 euros many items that you will not find for under 50 dls. elsewhere.

Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank IndySevenSeas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Alexis
Hotel Alexis
#412 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Esquilino
Dem Guesthouse
Dem Guesthouse
#482 of 3,752 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
Esquilino
Roman Residence Inn
Roman Residence Inn
#318 of 3,752 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
B&B Millyhouse
B&B Millyhouse
#3,281 of 3,752 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Esquilino
Piumith B&B
Piumith B&B
#2,230 of 3,752 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Esquilino
Flowerome
Flowerome
#745 of 3,752 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed and Breakfast Giovy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed and Breakfast Giovy

Property: Bed and Breakfast Giovy
Address: Via Principe Amedeo, 85/a, 185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2,308 of 3,752 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Bed and Breakfast Giovy 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bed and Breakfast Giovy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bed And Breakfast Giovy Hotel Rome
b&b Giovy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing