We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Okay value, but A/C didn't work well”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Welcome Piram Hotel
Ranked #342 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Dartmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Okay value, but A/C didn't work well”
Reviewed 25 June 2011

This is a good, solid choice of a hotel. It's very close to Roma Termini, although make sure when arriving from the airport that you depart from the main entrance of the station. We left from a side entrance and it took longer than we thought to walk there.

The rooms were fine, nothing to write home about but had lovely high ceilings and a clean bathroom. There is a fair bit of street noise (as with anywhere in Rome), so bring earplugs if this bothers you. The breakfast is decent - pretty much the same as anywhere else in terms of selection.

The reason I am not giving this hotel four stars is because we could not for the life of us figure out how to make the a/c unit stay on. This made for a very uncomfortable night in 29C temperatures. Overall, I would stay here again but would make sure I asked about the A/C!

Room Tip: Ask how to work the air conditioning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaperGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,026 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    389
    891
    426
    168
    152
See reviews for
297
1,045
95
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2011

We really liked staying at Welcome Piram Hotel. We were lucky to get a room with a balcony, and the breakfast was okay except for the "ham". The staff in the reception was of rather mixed quality. Upon the day of checkout we were allowed to leave our luggage with the hotel and it was put in a separate room we assumed would be locked up during the day. We came back three hours later to find that my bag had been opened and someone had removed my iPod touch from its casing. Rather clever, so I wouldn't notice the theft until later. Reaction from staff: We are very sorry, but it is not our problem. Wouldn't go there again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ManateeCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

Hercules, California
Level Contributor
171 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Conveniently located near Termini Station, probably less than 5-minute walk. The room seemed big (probably due to the high ceiling). The bathroom had a bidet. The dinner we had at their restaurant on our first night was pretty good and was a good value for our money. Their breakfast spread consisted of bread, doughnuts, ham, cheese, cereal, canned fruits, and yogurt. Front desk personnel were okay. Eventhough we will probably choose a hotel closer to Piazza Navona on our next visit, I still recommend this hotel especially if you plan on taking the train to other Italian cities. We did not have to take a cab after checking out. We just rolled our luggage down the street to the Termini station to take the train to Florence.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fuchsiapower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

A nice hotel if you need something walking distance from the train station. Nice clean rooms and a good rate for Rome.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KenIz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2011

The positives of the Welcome Piram hotel are as thus....good location, good sized room, good air conditioning and a good shower (despite reading other reviews, hot water was not an issue for us).
The negatives surround the unhelpful, disrespectful and for want of a better word down right rude staff. On arrival at the hotel post 2pm we were told are room was not ready, we asked if there was another room we could freshen up in, given the journey and was told "No". No apologies or excuses were made just a flat no. On returning to the hotel after some sightseeing we were assigned our room and despite the two male staff standing doing nothing at the front desk we were allowed to stuggle up the stairs with our luggage. Nor were we given any direction as to wear our room was situated, so we had to guess as there was no signage. On opening the door we instantly realised that they had given us a double room instead of the booked twin room and therefore I went back downstairs to resolve the situation. After a discussion I was promised that once we had left for our evening meal someone would come to room and change the beds. Surprise surprise this did not happen but after a long day no fight was left in me. The next morning we braved breakfast which was overcrowed, understaffed and understocked. The two girls that were left to serve, replenish and clear the small room were overwhelmed - we actually felt pity for them in their thankless task. Needless to say we made other plans for breakfast the next morning.
After another days sightseeing my friend had hurt her foot and given the heat the area was quite swollen. On returning to the hotel I kindly asked the receptionist if they had any ice. "No"....no flat no...apprently in a hotel that has a bar and a restuarant no ice can be found- my advice is don't order a whiskey on the rocks, as they apprently don't have any ice! My last gripe came on checking out. As Italian law states each person has to pay tax on their stay per night per person, fine no problem. Our tax was 12 euros, myself trying to be helpful giving the gentleman 22 euros, as I had no 10 note. After fiddling and pushing his finger around a tin for 5 minutes..he announced that they did'nt have 10 euros and asked if I could pay on my credit card (which would incurr a hefty charge given being abroad). This for me was the last straw and after the treatment from all the staff during my stay I was not feeling the most co-operative so I was effectively in a stand off for 5 minutes as he just stared at me- no doubt waitng for me to give in and say keep the 10 euro, which he'd probably pocket himslef. Suddenly 10 euro's appeared!! Finally we were free of the "Welcome Piram Hotel". I would like to stress that this was not just an issue with one member of staff, each instance was with a different recpetionist....all as impolite and unhelpful as the last...I was brought up being told that manners cost nothing and given the fact that these people choose to work in the service industry....a bit of service would'nt go amiss!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank notonetomoanbut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

The hotel is in excellent location, staff friendly and helpful. Rooms and facilities are generally basic. Not 4 star standard it claims.

My daughter and I stayed at this hotel over a long weekend. Our sole purpose for this trip was sightseeing. We wanted somewhere convenient and this hotel certainly is convenient, with many famous sights within walking distance (for the able bodied). Train station just few minutes away for further a field sights (vatican....). Overall we achieved our objective and had great time. Rome is wonderful place.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SurjitParkash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WelcomePiram, Manager at Welcome Piram Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2011
Thank you for your review, in next day we will open the SPA and swimmingpool on the roof. I hape in next visit you will try them

Regards

Alessio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ziqim, Israel
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2011

We have arrived to Rome for a 5-nights vacation, and paid 680 Euros (~1000 dollars as for 2011) for our stay. Our demands are quite modest: Good location, Clean room, Air condition, hot shower - We don't expect any luxury.

Pros: Location, Location, Location
*************************************

The hotel's location is excellent - just near the Termini station, Rome's public transportation hub. This means we had a airport train, Italy train, metro and bus station 500 meters from our room. This saves lots of time and money on Airport transportation, eases the access to all city parts which are near a metro station (mainly the Colosseum and the Vatican) and most important - after the metro closes at 21:00, every second bus arrives to the Termini so we don't have to switch buses or start planning itineraries when we're drunk at 01:00. We also took a day trip to Venice, which was easy because we could find out the costs and depart early from the station.
Furthermore, Rome's center isn't that big, so many times we just walked to our destination in order to feel the spirit of the city. The neighbourhood feels safe, well lighten, and has some late-night restaurants open, so walking wasn't scary.

Cons: Air condition, cleanliness, hot water, tax
**************************************************

* There was NO AIR CONDITION, and we stayed at late may. After we have struggled with it for 10 minutes, we called the reception. They told us it's due to a city regulation. We didn't find any reference to it on the web. Furthermore, the staff wouldn't provide us with any ventilator. We had to sleep with an open window, and wake up from the sounds of the near nightclub, the morning garbage truck and other city voices. This is totally unacceptable in a 200$/night hotel.

* The shower and toilet wasn't neatly cleaned. We found some hairs of the previous guest in all over the toilet room. It really, really sucks. We took a shower with our sandals on because we didn't trust the hygiene level. This would be outrageous in a 30$ youth hostel double room, let alone a a 200$/night hotel.

* There was only warm, not hot, water in the shower. Again, this really, really sucks. We walked many kilometers each day, and came back to the hotel dying for a hot shower to relax hour muscles. After we found out the water wasn't hot, we called the staff. They promised to help, but did nothing. Again, This would be outrageous in a 30$ youth hostel double room, let alone a a 200$/night hotel.

* When we arrived, the receptionist told us that there was an extra 30-euros tax (3 euros per person per night). That's a good policy for a youth hostel, but when you charge such a high price for the room, I expect the taxes to be included in the price.

* Breakfast was OK.

Summary
**********

Neighbourhood's excellent, hotel sucks. Try to find another hotel on that side of the Termini. This is a real shame because making this hotel excellent takes only a very little managerial effort: Fix the AC and the shower, clean better, and get 5-star ratings.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AdamMatan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Nord Nuova Roma
Hotel Nord Nuova Roma
#267 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,102 reviews
Esquilino
Bettoja Massimo D'Azeglio
Bettoja Massimo D'Azeglio
#339 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
Esquilino
UNA Hotel Roma
UNA Hotel Roma
#103 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Best Western Plus Hotel Universo
Esquilino
Augusta Lucilla Palace
Augusta Lucilla Palace
#177 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
Esquilino
Bettoja Hotel Mediterraneo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welcome Piram Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welcome Piram Hotel

Property: Welcome Piram Hotel
Address: Via Giovanni Amendola 7, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Spa Hotel in Rome
#185 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Welcome Piram Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome Piram Hotel is an exclusive hotel near Rome's Termini train station, an ideal location for business and leisure stays in the capital of Italy. Recently renovated, it offers guests the architectural beauty typical of grand XIX century palazzos and all the comforts of modern technology. Rome's Termini station, the Opera House, both subway lines and all of the best shopping streets are all just a short walk from the hotel. Thanks to the various services, like the modern spa, the fine restaurant and the new cocktail bar, the hotel and its wellness centre in Rome are able to meet all the needs of its guests, and it is also very near the Rome Termini train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Welcome Piram Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Welcome Piram
Welcome Piram Rome
Welcome Home Residences Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing