We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay, Kind Staff, Clean Accommodations, Safe Neighborhood!”
Review of Hotel Silla

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Silla
Ranked #524 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Stay, Kind Staff, Clean Accommodations, Safe Neighborhood!”
Reviewed 28 June 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Silla in May 2010 and found it to be delightful. The host at the reception desk, Stefano, was kind, helpful, and spoke very good English. The room and bathroom are small, clean, and quaint. We could order cafe any time of day from the reception desk. The neighborhood is lovely and the hotel is right next to an Internet Cafe, which is very convenient. It is also very close to the subway, several good restaurants, an old cinema, and the Vatican--all within a short walk! We were very happy with our stay at Hotel Silla and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marysoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    61
    27
    3
    7
See reviews for
38
45
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2010

See title. Booked hotel as part of a Delta Airlines package. Room was basic and fairly small, same for bath. Good reading lights, uncommon. Location superb, 100 metres from metro and numerous buses, close to Vatican. Iphone reception marginal. Considerate and knowledgeable staff.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edwt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2010

Where do I start - an obnoxious boorish host, a rude chamber maid - the smallest shower on earth. Thin grubby towels. Old smelly room overlooking a mould rank courtyard.
No internet connection that was blamed on our PC and Mac that had worked in three other locations just fine.
No lounge and the most saggy uncomfortable beds -- then to be turfed out in the rain when we had paid for the extra night charged when we arranged to leave.

Thoroughly horrible - don't book here!

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crhannaford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
341 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2009

Wtayed there for two nights. Found the stadard good compared to the price. Good location close to the Vatican and to the Metro station.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rune S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2009

This hotel was a nice little find and was great value for money. The staff were very pleasant and friendly and helpful and all spoke excellent English. The room was no smaller than usual and the beds were comfortable and the bathroom was decent. Only flaw there was the afe in our room didn't work, but other than that it was fine. The air conditioning worked well, though we had to pay €10 per night extra for it. And in the morning, when you opened the window, the smell from the bakery downstairs was absolutely divine!!! The location is good. The Vatican is only a few blocks away which is convenient. And Ottaviano Metro station on the A line is two minutes walk away on the corner. There is no parking with the hotel - there is on street parking, but we struggled ot find a space. We paid €130 per night for a twin room without breakfast and I think for Rome it was pretty good value for money. And a helpful hint for Rome in general - get the Roma Pass that includes three days public transport, the first two historic sites for free and discounts on all others, It's great value for money!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ballynac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuertoRico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 November 2007

Magnific service and location,this small Hotel is very clean, three bloks away from the Vatican, the Metro is at the corner of the street, and most of all, they treat you very friendly and with professionalism. The personnel at the front desk was very kind and helpfull,they spoke both spanish and english fluently and booked all our tours, taxis,and explained the correct way to visit Rome, via Metro , Bus ,and important places to visit, nearby like restaurants ( they suggested a Cafe and a magnificent Trattoria (restaurant) Ragno-Magno, just at the corner.The room was confortable, very clean, and beautifull. I will return here next time.

  • Liked — Excellent location,and service.
  • Disliked — Bathroom shower was too small, and the Hotel is located in the second floor ,no elevator
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank PuertoRicoDomingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2007

My husband and I decided to spend our summer vacation in Italy this year. Although we had visited Rome on previous occasions, we were never really satisfied with our accomodations. Not so this time around! We lucked out and found this fantastic little hotel, Hotel Silla, about 200 meters from St. Peter's Square and Castel Sant'Angelo, one of the prettiest places in Rome.

The hotel is situated on the second and third floors of a building on Silla road, just a few steps away from the Ottaviano Subway stop. It is a small, family run hotel which added to its charm. The staff were very friendly and were always ready to offer advice if asked. The room we had was immaculately clean and well appointed with a double bed, an in-room safe, a generous bathroom and air conditioning if we wanted it. It was also very quiet (hard to find a quiet room in Rome!) as our room faced the inner courtyard of the building. The hotel does provide breakfast for a small additional charge.

This hotel is perfect for those people that want a nice place to stay for a reasonable price. Trust us, you won't find a better place in Rome!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Flavia27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Il Gattopardo Relais
Il Gattopardo Relais
#732 of 1,257 in Rome
107 reviews
Prati
Hotel Gerber
Hotel Gerber
#361 of 1,257 in Rome
313 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Adriatic Hotel
Adriatic Hotel
#492 of 1,257 in Rome
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Flower
#713 of 1,257 in Rome
27 reviews
Prati
Hotel Prati
Hotel Prati
#547 of 1,257 in Rome
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Silla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Silla

Property: Hotel Silla
Address: Via Silla 3, 00192 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#316 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Silla 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Silla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silla Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing