We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sold Our Room And Offered No Assistance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
San Michele a Porta Pia Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2,692 of 3,752 Rome B&B and Inns
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Sold Our Room And Offered No Assistance”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

After paying 28 Euros to get to the city Center from the airport and another 6 Euros to get to the hotel, we were greeted with an "I'm sorry, but we sold your room to someone else who walked in earlier." It was 5pm on a Friday in Rome. Every hotel was booked because of a professional tennis tournament and the start of the heavy season. We asked if they could help us and call around for us to some other local establishments to see if we could possibly get a room. They said, you won't find one. Sorry. They offered no assistance to us at all. We ended up having to take a taxi and pay another $20 Euros to get to a hotel 30 minutes away and ended up having to pay $300 Euros for the night instead of the rate we originally thought we were getting (150 Euros). No assistance, no apologies...nothing. I would never, ever recommend that anyone stay at this establishment because they have no loyalties at all to the actual customers that have booked a room. If they can sell your room for a better rate to someone who walks in off the street, they will leave you stranded and not care at all.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    37
    11
    5
    16
See reviews for
15
35
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

Nice Place , Ideal Starting Point for visiting Rome on Foot and by Bus , very friendly Service, highly recommendable.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Micha66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

I came here on a girly weekend on year and the same another year.
The hotel rooms are clean and nicely decorated. The breakfast was a lovely continental breakfast.
The only two issues with it were, I was woken early in the morning a couple of times by the bin men but not really the hotels fault. It is also not great if you want a hotel in the middle of Rome, but I personally enjoyed walking down into Rome.

Would definatly stay again if I was lucky enough to return to Rome.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GailB82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brossard
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 9 days at the end of october 2011. When you arrive the first thing that hits you is how nice the welcome is and how clean the place is. Even though it is a while since the last renovation, the rooms (beds) are confortable.
Porta Pia neighborhood is not very touristic, so you get a feeling of living like real romans! Lots of neat restaurants, grocery stores and even a market. Close to a bus stop that takes you literally everywhere in Rome.
Breakfast is aboundant and good! Fresh fruits would be a nice addition. The home made bount cake, wow!
The bilingual (italian and english) staff is helpfull and smilling. Very nice young people!
We would definitly recommand the San Michele B&B for a Roman stay.

Room Tip: Back rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monique C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

My friend and I stayed here for 4 days in mid-September 2011 and we would definitely stay here again. This was the first time either of us had stayed in a bed and breakfast (these places are cheaper than the hotels in Rome). However, we had stayed in several hotels within Italy and Europe prior to this experience.

LOCATION: Very convenient; right off of a semi-main street, within walking distance (10 min) to the Metropolitana subway, and is in very close proximity to a bus stop where several buses can pick you up. One 15 min bus ride from the Termini. There is a cafe, laundromat, and 2 small markets on the same block. The only problem we had was that it was confusing at first which unit was the bed and breakfast because there is a Hotel Porta Pia on the same block. Hoever, we eventually we figured it out (ring #15 and identify yourself by your last name).

SERVICE: Everyone was extremely nice, welcoming, and helpful. All of the staff spoke English and Italian fluently and were quick to offer their help. They gave us several maps of Rome and recommended places to go and eat. Breakfast (offered for 1.5 hours in the am) was very good and somewhat large: 2 types of salami, yogurt, 3 different types of bread, cheese, several different types of drinks (juice, milk, tea, and coffee), cereal, coffee cake, hard boiled eggs, etc.
There was a problem with the hot water not working on our last night (something about the weather change from the rain storm causing this), but since we discovered this late in the evening, it was difficult to contact anyone to fix it until the next morning.

FACILITY: I was pleasantly surprised how nice, expansive, and comforting this place was. We stayed on the 5th floor where were a total of 4 rooms and one bathroom within the unit. The flat was very clean and we were given free water and juice, use of the refrigerator and freezer, reliable wi-fi, and a landline phone in the common room. Our room was large and airy with a lot of storage and shelving space and had a nice balcony. The bed was comfortable and clean and the bathroom was large with 2 sinks. There was some road noise at night from the occasional motorcycle that goes down the street, not atypical for being in the city. It was not too hot during the daytime. We had a floor fan and could leave the balcony door open during the day without worry. Sharing a bathroom with strangers was not the most ideal situation, but everyone was courteous of the length of time they held up the bathroom.

Staying here was like staying at a friend's house whom I would visit again. It is good to have friends like this in Rome. I hope to return one day in the future.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rred321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
89 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2011

We had stayed at this B&B about 6 years ago and based on that pleasant experience decided to stay here for two nights. For three of us we had one 10 ' x 15' room. Part of this was our 'private bath' measuring about 3' x 10' consisting of a stall shower, wash basin and the toilet all pretty much in one line. This 'private bath' cost us extra and apparently the result of remodeling. Standing in front of the wash basin, your back always hit the door! The breakfast was just cereal, coffee and lot of sweet stuff. No fresh fruit, cheese etc., as in the past or yoghurt. The only thing going for the place is its location close to Termini with lots of buses through Porta Pia. This B&B charges 3% extra for credit card usage and full payment is to be made immediately upon arrival.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pksubramanian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2011

We stayed at San Michele B&B multiple times, and we love it for many reasons. 1. The room prices are fair. 2. It's always clean and well taken care of. 3. It's family owned, and they take pride in their family business. 4. Great breakfast buffet and awesome coffee! They even bake bundt cake the night before for breakfast, and you can smell the fresh baked fragrance each night if you happen to have a room on the same floor. 5. You get a feel of a real Italian neighborhood in Porta Pia, with local markets, shops, restaurants, cafes, bakeries, etc. You won't be running into many tourists here, so it's a wonderful experience to mingle with locals and get a feel of a real Italian neighborhood in Rome. 6. Bus stop nearby, and the buses that stop at Porta Piea go just about EVERYWHERE you need to go in Rome's center - it's also 3 stops from Termini Station.

The only drawback is that they still only have wi-fi on the main floor where the dining room is. The B&B is split on 2 floors of the condo building (with elevator). So if you NEED wi-fi connection, try to get a room on that floor. Otherwise you have to come down and use the wi-fi.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelingirl06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Porta Pia Hotel
#561 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Esquilino
In The Center You Too
In The Center You Too
#165 of 3,752 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Villa Chauvet
#1,385 of 3,752 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Porta Pia Rooms
#1,097 of 3,752 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Prati
A View of Rome
A View of Rome
#21 of 3,752 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Gialel B&B
Gialel B&B
#287 of 3,752 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Michele a Porta Pia Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Michele a Porta Pia Bed & Breakfast

Property: San Michele a Porta Pia Bed & Breakfast
Address: Via Messina 15, 00198 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2,692 of 3,752 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — San Michele a Porta Pia Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your San Michele a Porta Pia Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing