We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple and nice place to stay. We recommend it to our friends:)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bed & Breakfast Rudy
Ranked #2,520 of 3,755 Rome B&B and Inns
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simple and nice place to stay. We recommend it to our friends:)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights and were very happy that we chose Rudy Center B&B. The staff was really helpful and there was not a single thing that we would miss during our stay. The breakfast was cappuccino and a brioche, but for a start of a day it is more than enough:) The location is really good in terms of transportation - you have easy connections with all the parts of the city. In addition, our bag got lost and the staff really did their best in helping us in communicating with airport. It was a very pleasant stay:)

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liudvika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    19
    10
    11
    4
See reviews for
13
24
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Kentucky
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2011

We spent 4 days in B&B Rudy. This B&B is actually one apartment on the 5th floor off a big house. The 5th floor houses 3 apartments.
I guess this is one of the cheapest places you can get in Rome, but definitely not the best. Actually a friend of mine found a 3 stars hotels, much nicer than Rudy, for only 10 more euros and in the same area. Also, they charge you extra for everything such as AC, new towels, etc, etc.
The breakfast is on a bar half a block away, not in the same apartment/building. Sunday breakfast is on another bar just across Santa Maria Maggiore (couple of blocks away).

Now to the details, bathrooms tiny, even for European standards (at least on my room, my parents room had a bigger bathroom). Sitting in the toilette my knees touched the front wall and the back touched the sink (and I'm 5,8 and 180 pounds).
Mattresses, well, they were easily the hardest mattresses I've ever slept on. I may notice that this wasn't an inconvenience for me since I like hard mattresses, but other visitors may consider it. The TV was alright, but the feed was in really bad quality. Then, the second day it stopped working altogether. When we asked for help to the cleaning lady she mentioned that only Rudy knows how to fix it and he was out of town for the week, so basically we didn't have any TV

Location is so and so. On the good side, the b&b is located just a block away a Metro stop and 5 blocks away from the Termini station. On the negative side (from my point of view) is that on the particular street where the B&B is, all stores close early and during weekend so it looks very desolated.

Finally, you must know a bit of Italian since most of the people there don't speak a word of English.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Damian_arg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2011

Not a bad place to stay, but we didn't get any breakfast, which was a bit of a letdown! The owner was lovely, and did her best to help us despite the language barrier. Even though we were staying near Termini, which is quite a dodgy area, we felt very safe in B&B Rudy and our belongings were secure.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steph_and_Jox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2011

This place is relatively close to the train station ( the area is apparently China Town) and a slightly dodgy area.

Over all the room was clean and big enough but the ensuite was tiny. Everytime the toilet flushed or you had a shower it made a constant loud noise as I think it had to work to expel the water. The water was hot an sufficient, it was just a noisy experience.

The place smelled a bit like cigarette smoke as did most places in Italy. They also clean your room daily.

Now although this place is a reasonable price, I would recommend printing out (whatever website you use to book ) advertised inclusions for this place. As I booked on expedia, this included in the price towels, breakfast, wi-fi and a checkout time of midday. HOWEVER Rudy tried to charge us for towels and then backed down and tried to charge 8 Euros a day for wi-fi. He also only gave us vouchers for breakfast (which is in a cafe a couple of doors down) for 2 days even though we were booked for 4 nights. DODGY!! Also the door says check out at 10.30am and surely enough they knocked on our door at 10.30.

Now as I said the place was clean and pleasant, however I really dislike someone trying to pull a fast one over me so BEWARE. Know you entitlements and this place is fine.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzieMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2011

Perfect rooms for this price - very comfortable, new extremely clean bathrooms with hot shower any time (which apparently can be a problem in the other hotels of this price category). The rooms were cleaned every day. There is a cattle with free tea/coffee in the corridor which is very handy, also hairdryer in the bathroom. It was quite while we stayed in the hotel. The area isn't the nicest one but with very good transportation links (buses/trains from both airports arrive to Termini) and you can walk to any place in the city center. As the other reviews said can be hard to fing thouh - there's only a small sign next to the doorbell.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mdmdmd_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2010

Being at the top of an apartment block with a nondescript entrance the only confirmation we were in the right place was "RUDY" written on the doorbell. It's advisable to look on Google Streetview before you leave to get an idea of what the building looks like and its location. Although the family who run it don't speak much English we found them to be really helpful and accomodating. Free city maps on the front desk were ideal. We found the room to be very clean and modern, just remember to bring your own towels as none are provided. The showeroom was tiny and lacking a shaver point, but modern and clean. The train station was a 5 minute brisk walk away, with large suitcases it was just at the very edge of the luggage-lugging threshold; no need for a taxi really. The collessium a mere 10-15 minute walk away. Close to a metro station, and all within a clearly chinese populated street. The MAS department store (3 min walk) is highly recommended, as it the excellent family run trattoria La Vecchia Conca on Via Carlo Alberto. The ideal breakfast and coffee break can be found on the equally local Via Statuto in its 2 main cafes; a large one on the corner and a slighly smaller one opposite.
Overall great value for money in a convienient location. Would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank khewett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2010

Convenient to the train station, which also houses a grocery store on the bottom level, this hotel is in a great location (although not a pretty one) to explore the city on foot. My wife and I stayed in a private room for 3 nights in January and we found it to be good value in the otherwise overly-expensive Rome. The rooms are clean, they offer decent space for luggage and are generally comfortable and straightforward. As for cons, the wifi is solid but only works near reception. Management does not speak English so basic communication is a challenge.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottQG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#23 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,979 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Alius
Hotel Alius
#972 of 1,291 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,291 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Centro Roma
Hotel Centro Roma
#483 of 1,291 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Esquilino
The Britannia Hotel
The Britannia Hotel
#127 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
Esquilino
Esedra Relais
Esedra Relais
#997 of 3,755 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed & Breakfast Rudy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed & Breakfast Rudy

Property: Bed & Breakfast Rudy
Address: Via Napoli 53, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2,520 of 3,755 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Bed & Breakfast Rudy 1.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bed & Breakfast Rudy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bed And Breakfast Rudy
Bed & Breakfast Rudy Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing