We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Excel Hotel Roma Montemario
Ranked #660 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

My wife and me stayed 4 nights in the hotel. We selected a superior room wich was clean and very nice looking. The cleaning service was very good, nothing to mention here. The breakfast was a selection of three kinds of sausages, one kind of cheese, around five kinds of sweets, fruit salad, yoghurts, cerelals etc. The wi-fi signal was not too strong but usable all the time we stayed there. The staff was friendly and kind, the receptionist was very kind to us, explained in detail how we can get to the town, gave us a map, showing any interesting points and public transportation areas from and to to the hotel. The hotel is around 45 minutes from the most interesting points and turist targets, counting the travel time and waiting time togother. We really enjoyed our stay.

1  Thank Viktor F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,136)
There are newer reviews for Excel Hotel Roma Montemario
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

196 - 202 of 1,136 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2013

The Hotel deserves its 4* rating and in such a busy city it is a tranquil escape in its own grounds. The trade off is that it is 12km outside the city and on the map this is adjacent to the University Hospital but is served by three different bus routes to various locations supported by Metro and trams.
The hotel is very clean with air con and Wifi as standard. There is outside seating for meals or just a drink, an outside pool and comprehensive basement gym with Pilates too. The evening menu is very good and the head waiter Max is very attentive. Breakfast is a quiet affair and of a continental type.
Well worth the effort if peace is important.

Room Tip: Room 250+ have a peaceful outlook either front or rear of main reception
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sloman474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

My wife, my daughter and grandson, and myself stayed in the hotel last year and in the main found it to be a good experience. So much so that we decided to return this year to the Excel Roma for eight days commencing 18 August. The booking was made in march 2013 and at that time it appeared from the web site and all other linked web sites that little had changed from 2012 and the swimming pool was part of the hotel package. You can imagine our surprise and annoyance to find when we arrived, the management had imposed a surcharge from 1 August. It was clear from the outset that this charge was to be buried in the small print and quickly swept over in any initial briefing given. The surcharge imposed was 12 euros per adult and 7 euros per child aged between four years and twelve years, per day. There were no half day concessions. One day there was a fairly heavy storm and the pool was closed for the whole afternoon despite it being perfectly suitable for swimming for the last couple of hours. No refund was offered. Moreover the child had to be accompanied by an adult making the minimum charge 19 euros. Each time we swam it cost us 43 euros. this is not a surcharge by any standard and could only be described as an additional expense ! I took this up with the manager and after considerable verbal arm wrestling she relented and took the matter up with a higher authority. We are still awaiting the outcome, but for the duration of the stay the surcharge remained very firmly in place. Its interesting to note that for at least one German family, the surcharge was wavered and they swam for free! As for other aspects of the stay all went reasonably well with good standards of cleanliness and polite and helpful staff. The ham and cheese continental breakfast got a bit boring but in the main, Not too bad. Was the hidden charge a deal breaker for the future?, Given the overall experience and I feel, the deliberate attempt to mislead over the surcharge, yes, I doubt I will return to Excel Roma although i will return to Rome!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Joe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Stayed here for 7 nights with my wife and two more couples.
The service was terrible from the start. When we first got there we had a woman at the desk with a really angry face and with a bad welcoming.
They only offered us one keypass to each room. We had to ask for a second one for each room. At first it was not possible but after she asked an other lady they accepted to give us the second key.
Air condition: When we arrived to the room we immediately noticed the bad air condition. So we turned the AC on and had it on for more than 6 hours. The room was still very hot. In all three rooms which we had booked.
We complained about the AC more than 5 times and they said all the time that the technican will take a look at it. But nothing happened. Eventhough he came a few times to our rooms and had a look at the AC-terminal and pressed on the same buttons as we did, he didn't manage to resolve the issue.
We stopped complaining about the AC when one of the staff members called one of us a liar and that we are making things up about non-functional air condition. Simply said, it was really bad. The manager didn't even bother to help us.
Breakfast: Even though all the signs said that it was American buffet Breakfast that would be served, all they served was old bread, one cheese option, one ham option and various selections of cookies. They also offered some old tasting corn flakes and really disgusting Coffee. It was definitely a large bottle of instant coffee.
We heard a lot of people in the same room that were complaining about the poor breakfast.
I did ask the lady working there if they had bacon and eggs and she said "Yes, but you will have to pay for it. I can make you some for 5 EUR".
Pool: we had planned to use the pool frequently until we read on a sign saying that the pool costs 12 EUR per person EACH DAY. The pool was very small and so simple that it is just so ridiculous to take that kind of amount. For staying guests, it should even be included.
The more annoying part was that you can not swim in the pool if you do not wear a certain swimming cap which they'll provide to you. And one more annoying thing is that you had to rent a towel for 3 EUR from them if you wish to swim in the pool. And you were not allowed to take the towels that are in your own room.
Inside our rooms we had a nonfunctional channel receiver. So we could only get one channel. When we used the receiver all we got was a message saying that we had to adjust the satellite on the roof. We didn't bother asking for help since they gave us such a bad service last time we asked them for help.
The only positive thing was that the rooms were kept clean daily by the very nice and humble housekeepers.
This trip was planned to be a very nice, romantic and awesome weekend with a lot of fun at the pool with family and friends. But it turned out to be a disaster. Do yourself and your friends a favor and pick an other hotel because this hotel was a joke.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KarlMetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel and friendly staff except for lifeguard at the pool. This guy has no manners at all or customer skills. All other staff were friendly and helpful.
We never had breakfast but ate ate hotel restaurant and food and service were excellent.
Just a small bus ride and you are in rome city centre.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 825barry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberta M, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Excel Hotel Roma Montemario, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Dear 825barry,

Many thanks for your nice review, we are happy you enjoyed our Hotel, our M&G Restaurant and our location just outside Rome city centre.
It was a pleasure welcoming you and we regret you believed unfriendly our lifeguard; thanks to your opinions we can progress so we have involved the whole team about your consideration.
We wait for you soon :)

Best regards,

Excel Roma Montemario Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Stayed here for 5 days and found the staff to be helpful and knowledgeable. On arrival we were given a free room upgrade as my husband is over 6ft tall and the receptionist said original room and bed would be small. Room was immaculate! and very modern, good air con, tea and coffee facilities. Breakfast was good with lots of selection pastries, bread, fruit, yogurt, cereal, coffee etc. and tables were quickly cleared. Also given reliable information for transport into Rome, on average it took 15- 20 minutes on the bus to get to the city centre where you can get to most tourist sights. We also used the night bus no: 6 to get back to the hotel after a late night out in Rome without any problem. We paid 12 euro to use the pool for a whole day, but it was a welcome break after lots of busy days sightseeing in Rome. Good hotel for price we paid.

Room Tip: Upgrade to superior it's worth it.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank macy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberta M, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Excel Hotel Roma Montemario, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Dear macy t,

Thank you very much for your favourable comment! We are glad to read your satisfaction about our rooms, services and staff. Pleasure.
You got the gist: our Resort, our pool and the greenery all round are perfect for those looking for a restful break after tours and visits in the near city centre, at a competitive price.
So come back soon to try our Welly Wellness Area, our Fitness Centre, our Tennis courses.

Kind regards,

Excel Roma Montemario Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Stayed here for visiting Rome but a bit too far out. Nice pool but thought 12 euros a day way too much so didnt bother although it would have been nice to cool off.Service was reasonable not remarkable but we have come to expect that in Italy. Hotel has lovely grounds it was nice to sit outside in the evening. Nice quiet location.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PAMELA M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
8.6 mi away
All Time Relais & Sport Hotel
3.4 mi away
Black Hotel
Black Hotel
#703 of 1,267 in Rome
859 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Tiberio
Grand Hotel Tiberio
#270 of 1,267 in Rome
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Cardinal Hotel St. Peter
Cardinal Hotel St. Peter
#657 of 1,267 in Rome
887 reviews
3.0 mi away
Raganelli Hotel
Raganelli Hotel
#403 of 1,267 in Rome
646 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Zone
Hotel Zone
#495 of 1,267 in Rome
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excel Hotel Roma Montemario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excel Hotel Roma Montemario

Address: Via Degli Scolopi 31, 00135 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Spa Hotel in Rome
#300 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £47 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Excel Hotel Roma Montemario 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Excel Hotel Roma Montemario is located in a peaceful district surrounded by the green, short distance from the Olympic Stadium, the Flaminio Stadium and 5km from Saint Peter Basilica. The perfect choice for those in town on business or leisure, the hotel is near local bus stop and is half hour from Rome downtown. All the rooms have natural light and are provided with bath with shower, hairdryer, tv and wifi. Our Resort offers an outdoor pool opened from June to August, tennis and beach volley courts, sauna, sporting club and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Excel Hotel Roma Montemario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excel Roma Montemario Hotel Rome
Residenza Monte Mario Rome
Residenza Monte Mario Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing