We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Excel Hotel Roma Montemario
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Artemide(Rome)
US$324
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$268
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$365
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$269
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$203
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$233
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$172
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Colosseum(Rome)
US$184
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$383
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$277
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Diocleziano(Rome)
US$289
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$236
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
iQ Hotel Roma(Rome)
US$391
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$352
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$939
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$428
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$429
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$408
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,198)
Filter reviews
1,198 results
Traveller rating
204
403
292
172
127
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
204
403
292
172
127
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscentre of romebus routesbusy citypastrieshotel is situatedsight seeingmain attractions
Filter
Updating list...
201 - 206 of 1,198 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

Great value for money hotel was modern, clean and staff were friendly. Would stay there again definately . Access to Rome is mainly by bus or taxi, buses are regular. Approx taxi in night from trevi di Fontana is 15 euros although remember to haggle.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HPL1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

First of all I would like to say that we are not fussy and were not expecting luxury accommodation. We were on a city break so the intention was not to be spending a lot of time in our room, not interested in the latest gadgets, all we wanted was clean and comfortable.
The hotel looks quite grand from the outside and lobby but unfortunately not so nice in the standard rooms. I imagine they are a far cry from the more superior rooms as it did not look as though the room had been cared for, for quite some time. The room smelt musky and the décor and furnishings were very tired. The bathroom became a source of amusement for us as the toilet cistern which was high on the wall did not have a lid so every time you flushed the toilet the water sprayed out. The bidet was placed directly in front of the door to the small shower cubicle, you literally had to step over and around it to get in and out.
If you are looking for a decent location close to the centre this hotel is not for you. It was 2 bus rides away, there was no direct bus to the centre. This was not too bad getting into Rome but did get confusing when you were trying to get back. The hotel did give you a piece of paper with bus details but again this only explained how to get into Rome. The hotel was sufficient for what we needed as we were out from 9am til 11pm (it would have taken too long to pop back to the hotel during the day). However, if we went again would certainly spend the extra money to stay closer to the centre and spend less on travel and time to and from.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulesH_Trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

A very grand a beautiful hotel, spacious room, modern and clean. Breakfast was good and staff were friendly/helpful. The only real problem with this hotel is it's location (if you're a Rome tourist).

It is on a bus route, just 2 min walk round the corner and jump onto a 10 minute bus into the city.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PrideInService
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

This is quite a hard one to judge.

If you want to explore Rome then this is not the right place to stay. It's located quite far from town. From this hotel to the central part of Rome we were had to get a bus to the train station (10 mins) then get on a train (15 minutes) to get on the the tube network - then depending where you want to go you've got more time wasted plus there's the connection time.

As for its 4 star rating - well, they do have tennis courts, swimming pool, gym and prob a lot more, but i found the rooms dated and disappointing. Any travel lodge or premier room can offer better in my opinion - but how much time do you spend in your room? So this isn't a major issue.

Staff - reception staff seemed a bit cold and not to willing to help. Restaurant/bar staff - these were very pleasant and seemed to go out your way to help you.

Food - Only had dinner there once and it was very nice. Breakfast speared of good with plenty of sweet cakes.

Shower pressure - excellent, but sprays on to the floor.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank marekmaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We booked through B.A .... Disappointed at the location of the hotel as the BA web site stated it was closer to the city centre than it actually was. Their web site also showed modern rooms.

When we arrived we realized how far out it was. We had a 15/20 minute walk to the bus stop. The 913 came frequently so wasn't a problem to get to the city centre. Does take a while as every bus was overcrowded and stopped at EVERY stop.

The staff were very friendly So on arrival they were welcoming and very informative.

When we went to our rooms we were disappointed ..... They were in need of decoration !! We normally would staff Hilton etc but thought still staying in a 4* they would be ok. Were like a travel lodge...... I would like to add the hotel foyer etc were modern but rooms need upgraded.
We made the most of it as it was only for a base.

Breakfast was as stated basic but enough..... We ate lunch and dinners out. Had a wee drink/ bruschetta when we came back at 11 and the bar staff were really nice.

Overall it was ok as we were out from 10.30/11 till 11 at night. Wouldn't have liked to have stayed there longer than our weekend.

Cleaners up and about early so no long lies !!!! I suppose that suits most if it's a sight seeing trip :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emilyclark1904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews