We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with a first class dining experience!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Excel Hotel Roma Montemario
Ranked #637 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great hotel with a first class dining experience!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Firstly, it's fair to say that sure... It's not in the centre of town but that's not such a bad thing, it's in a really nice area with tennis courts, pool, gym etc, etc.
Also, it does have a bus stop very close by with a good bus service which takes you the short ride directly into town for peanuts as it were.
It also comes up trumps in other areas... Especially the dining staff, they were faultless and really attentive and the rooms were clean and more than comfortable. All in all... A good value for money hotel which does "exactly as it says on the tin". Brilliant!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christopher j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,056 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    357
    253
    158
    108
See reviews for
233
351
62
181
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hummelstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

This hotel had everything--exercise facility, a restaraunt on par with any you'd find in downtown Rome. The room was small but what isn't in Europe. It is a 5 minute walk to the Universita Catolica del Sacro Cuore where I was conferencing. It was quiet, had nice grounds etc. You have to take one of the buses to the end of the line where you can get the Metro. The hotel was very inexpensive by Rome standards although at times you just want to take a taxi, nullifying the savings.

Room Tip: The hotel is located off a narrow side street so there is no noise from traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joshua m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Hotel is not in the centre of the town but near the Universita Catolica del Sacro Cuore, on the top of the hill between trees and bushes, with nice swimming pool. I was upgraded to suite so my acommodation was fantastic - nice big room with the view over the hospital to the town. Unfortunately hotel was full of young sportsmen, noisy night and also erly morning (or the personel?) and breakfast was terrible in 4 stars hotel. Trip to center was terrible but to the airport not bad.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

I'm just going to be honest with you. I live in Rome so I wasn't bothered about easy access into the centre, which was lucky because you don't really get that with this hotel. If you want to go city searching I wouldn't recommend staying here. However, if you want to stay in a beautiful country in a hotel with a pool to sunbathe for a few days this place is great. The staff were all great and worked very, very hard (at least two of them worked 8-6 the weekend I was there with no break! But still smiled and were helpful!) one of the main roads is having road works done at the minute (June 2014) so for some reason that means it is shut from 23.30-07.00 and that is the main route to get into the centre bit.
I had a 'superior room' (how pretentious) and I've got to say, it was pretty much a regular room but the shower.... Oh my god! Turn it on to the massage setting and it's like one of the best vibrators I've used. Honestly, I haven't 'self loved' so much ever! It's okay to have a 45 minute shower three times a day right? My average 'magical explosion' time is like 4 minutes so ya know.... Lots of happy thoughts.
Anyway if there were bad things about the hotel I didn't really notice cos I basically spent the whole weekend eating olives, drinking red wine, sunbathing and 'going past the point of no return'.
So it depends what you want out of your experience to this beautiful city really, if you want to sight see I wouldn't really stay here.
Hope this helps!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank sweetandsourdippings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

This is a lovely hotel. My friends and I stayed in a superior room which was clean and overlooked the gardens. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The restaurant was good and they cooked the best pizza I have ever tasted which was not expensive. Yes it is about 20 mins from the city but well worth staying here. Having taken in all the wonderful sights of the city in 40 degrees heat it was lovely to be able to come back to a beautiful peaceful country setting. There are several buses that can take you into the city and you can buy your bus tickets just up the road from the hotel. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: It is worth upgrading to a superior room as the standard rooms are very basic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Do not stay. Not even out of curiosity! Not worth it. No more needs to be said. Only real positive was the blow dryer! Poor breakfast standard rooms out of the way and gym and swimming pool can be used if booked with price or else is min €10 for EITHER each time.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Yaseen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

Bat Yam, Israel
Level Contributor
249 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

This is a pretty nice hotel. The location is the only down side as it takes 30 minutes to get to the city center. The staff is very Friendly and helpful. The breakfast is Nice. Great pizza in the hotel restaurant.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Alon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Zone
Hotel Zone
#432 of 1,291 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Pineta Palace
Hotel Pineta Palace
#433 of 1,291 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
3.4 mi away
Black Hotel
Black Hotel
#605 of 1,291 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Hotel Artis
Hotel Artis
#371 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
5.5 mi away
Eurogarden
Eurogarden
#505 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
3.0 mi away
Raganelli Hotel
Raganelli Hotel
#428 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excel Hotel Roma Montemario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excel Hotel Roma Montemario

Property: Excel Hotel Roma Montemario
Address: Via Degli Scolopi 31, 00135 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Spa Hotel in Rome
#293 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Excel Hotel Roma Montemario 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Excel Hotel Roma Montemario is located in a peaceful district surrounded by the green, short distance from the Olympic Stadium, the Flaminio Stadium and 5km from Saint Peter Basilica. The perfect choice for those in town on business or leisure, the hotel is near local bus stop and is half hour from Rome downtown. All the rooms have natural light and are provided with bath with shower, hairdryer, tv and wifi. Our Resort offers an outdoor pool opened from June to August, tennis and beach volley courts, sauna, sporting club and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Excel Hotel Roma Montemario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excel Roma Montemario Hotel Rome
Residenza Monte Mario Rome
Residenza Monte Mario Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing