We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Çlean hotel just out the way.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Excel Hotel Roma Montemario
Ranked #640 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Very nice hotel with great service, rooms was very clean and modern. A little out the way takes a long time on multiple bus to get to the centre of Rome. The free breakfast wasn't up to much not much choice. Service desk was very good nice staff done a lot if you needed anything.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank danjamesjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberta M, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Excel Hotel Roma Montemario, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear danjamesj,

Many thanks for your positive review :)
Come and visit us soon.

Best regards,

Excel Roma Montemario Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

144 - 150 of 1,156 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

This hotel almost ruined our holiday. We had been staying in 3 star hotels in Venice, Florence and Pisa. All were superior in every way to this (allegedly) 4 star hotel, which was supposed to be a relaxing end to our tour of Italy.

As expressed in other reviews we have never paid to use a swimming pool in a "4 star" hotel, ever before. Here they want €12 per person per day.

Our rooms were not available on checking in.

Heavy curtains from ceiling to floor covered the air conditioners, effectively cooling the air behind the curtains only.

Flickering lights couldn't be fixed so they removed the offending light bulbs.

A constantly flowing toilet cistern couldn't be fixed.

No shower caps.

Room service is a disgrace.

The mini bar is stocked to a laughably low level.

The path to the swimming pool was littered with cigarette buts, it was disgusting.

The walls were dirty.

The "wifi zone" became unusable if there was any significant crowd there using it, more than 4 or 5 people.

This hotel had the feeling of a upmarket hostel. Not the 4 star hotel experience I'm used to or have come to expect.

Think very carefully before using this hotel and check out some of the negative reviews because they all seem to reflect my experience of this terrible hotel.

You have been warned.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Seapix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberta M, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Excel Hotel Roma Montemario, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Seapix,

We are sorry that our Hotel did not meet your expectations and we hope to repair during your next stay.
You have a price for the swimming pool as its cost is not included in the room on purpose, in order to favour even customers who do not use this service.

We will be glad to take even better care of you to let the good memories that Rome deserves, so we can’t wait to see you soon.

Best regards,

Excel Roma Montemario Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We have just arrived to hotel and i havent seen that kind of dirty disgusting rooms. We had a complein about bed linens and bath because there was lots of hairs and they offer to change the linens. The guy who changed the bed linens was dirtier than room and the receptionist did not take care our problem. Dont go as a summary!!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sahver C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

I found the hotel by searching on Hotels.com.
I used, among others, two search terms: "internet" and "swimming pool". Swimming pool because we have two children, and it would be great for them after a day of walking in Rome.
From the results I chosed Excel Roma Montemario.
The hotel has a nice pool on the photos - it is a bit small though, it it boasted internet in the rooms via cable and wifi at the reception area.
Now we are here, the is no internet on the rooms (I brought my laptop and a cable), and the pool costs us 36 Euros per day to use.
I am very disappointed about that. Of course you could pay for the pool, but I am sure, that if it was clear in the search results, I would have selected another hotel - it is unfair competition. And the pool is very small, it is not worth that money.
About the internet - the is no cable connection i the room - only in some rooms, but not in ours. The wifi in the reception area, which I am using now, is repeatedly interrupted.
The rooms need a lot in maintenance, signs of many years of use. The bathroom door won't close etc.
However, if you don't need pool and internet, then the staff is kind and the hotel indeed is cheap for its looks.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Khojberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This is a very awful hotel of all ! I am a tour guide. I've been traveling from hotels to hotels. To staying in this hotel is one of the worst nightmare I ever had. This was what my clients saw when she stepped in her bathroom. A very dirty unused cup covered by FUNGUS and a broken shower room door which can not be closed. When I file a complaint to the hotel staff, he said " Mam, it's a dirty plastic cup, you are complaining over a closed plastic cup?" I tried to tell him this shouldn't happen in a "four" star hotel, then he replied me " mam, this is Italy ". So, this is Italy , mamamiya ! More over, another room had hair on the blanket, TV not working, aircon not working......etc. and the most ironical thing, it is a tripadvisor awarded hotel! All I want is just an apologize letter from the hotel to my client. I don't think it's something too difficult to do.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank 227,788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Firstly, it's fair to say that sure... It's not in the centre of town but that's not such a bad thing, it's in a really nice area with tennis courts, pool, gym etc, etc.
Also, it does have a bus stop very close by with a good bus service which takes you the short ride directly into town for peanuts as it were.
It also comes up trumps in other areas... Especially the dining staff, they were faultless and really attentive and the rooms were clean and more than comfortable. All in all... A good value for money hotel which does "exactly as it says on the tin". Brilliant!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank christopher j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This hotel had everything--exercise facility, a restaraunt on par with any you'd find in downtown Rome. The room was small but what isn't in Europe. It is a 5 minute walk to the Universita Catolica del Sacro Cuore where I was conferencing. It was quiet, had nice grounds etc. You have to take one of the buses to the end of the line where you can get the Metro. The hotel was very inexpensive by Rome standards although at times you just want to take a taxi, nullifying the savings.

Room Tip: The hotel is located off a narrow side street so there is no noise from traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joshua m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rome
8.6 mi away
All Time Relais & Sport Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Zone
Hotel Zone
#532 of 1,271 in Rome
666 reviews
10.2 mi away
Mercure Roma West
Mercure Roma West
#392 of 1,271 in Rome
1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Excel Hotel Roma Ciampino
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sisto V
Hotel Sisto V
#635 of 1,271 in Rome
323 reviews
11.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Roma Tor Vergata
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excel Hotel Roma Montemario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excel Hotel Roma Montemario

Address: Via Degli Scolopi 31, 00135 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Spa Hotel in Rome
#301 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £41 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Excel Hotel Roma Montemario 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Excel Hotel Roma Montemario is located in a peaceful district surrounded by the green, short distance from the Olympic Stadium, the Flaminio Stadium and 5km from Saint Peter Basilica. The perfect choice for those in town on business or leisure, the hotel is near local bus stop and is half hour from Rome downtown. All the rooms have natural light and are provided with bath with shower, hairdryer, tv and wifi. Our Resort offers an outdoor pool opened from June to August, tennis and beach volley courts, sauna, sporting club and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Excel Hotel Roma Montemario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excel Roma Montemario Hotel Rome
Residenza Monte Mario Rome
Residenza Monte Mario Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing