We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pettinary Village
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Artemide(Rome)
US$343
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$289
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$365
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$266
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$197
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$235
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$170
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Colosseum(Rome)
US$196
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$167
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$193
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$164
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$385
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$271
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Diocleziano(Rome)
US$248
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
iQ Hotel Roma(Rome)
US$385
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$306
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$952
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$468
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveller rating
43
17
1
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
43
17
1
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno elevatorstocked fridgeyogurtperfect locationpiazza navonaprivate terracesmall supermarketwithin walking distancea great place to stayour honeymoonflights of stairsliving roomlate at nightspent nightsmajor sitesevery morningapartment
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 63 reviews
Reviewed 12 December 2008

great little spot, with a little balcony! Close to the river and central Rome, so it was easy to explore from here. One morning we woke early and strolled along the Tiber to the Vatican - beautiful!

Good coffee each morning too!

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank butz0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2008

We booked Pettinari based on Tripadvisor.com reviews. It is centrally located (we walked to every single site in Rome except the train station). It is on a small road halfway between Trastevere and Campo D' Fiori (a few hundred meters in each direction) in an apartment building. It was not hard to find and we simply rang the owners at #73 when we arrived. It is a new room, a few doors down but the same experience I would imagine. You do not have to walk through the owner’s apartment to get to your room now. You have your own little studio apartment, which made us feel like we were locals. Everything in the room was new, the bed, the furniture, the floors, the bath, the kitchenette. It has a large closet and the bed lifts up for your luggage and extra storage. The shower is small but all showers are small in Europe. I can't say enough good things about this place. We were more than pleased with everything. There is a grocery a few doors down and the morning market in Campo D' Fiori is fun. Excellent coffee and pastries at Cafe Farnese, which was never crowded and rarely did we run into tourists there. The best dining is in Trastevere just over the river to the south.

If you want to experience Rome like a native, if you want to find a place that is reasonably priced and smack dab in the middle of the city, if you would rather walk and experience the culture than ride in a taxi everywhere, Pettinari Bed and Breakfast is the place for you.

The tram and bus are close by. It is a long walk to the nearest metro station (Colosseum). If you book this you will not be disappointed! Enjoy Rome!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank wneal14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2008

We chose this B&B after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor and weren't disappointed. We were taken along to No. 78 which although smaller than the room in other reviews is more private as it isn't a room in the owner's home but in a separate property.

The location is fantastic and you really feel as if you are living (as oppose to just staying) in Rome. The room is small but has everything you need (hob, sink, utensils etc.) and with a small supermarket virtually next door you could cook in if you wanted to - though with all the restaurants around you don't need to!

The balcony at no. 78 is tiny, just big enough for 2 chairs and a very small table but was lovely to sit out to eat breakfast albeit the only view is the back of buildings and someone else's back yard. On the plus side this means it's shaded so you don't get the full heat of the sun warming the room which is good as the air-conditioning (although adequate) isn't particularly powerful.

Both the room and bathroom were very clean. You do need to be aware that the shower in the small bathroom is tiny (it's fitted into a corner) and if you are a fairly large person it could be difficult to use though the shower itself has a powerful spray and separate water jets!

As already mentioned the location is ideal and although there are a few homeless people in the street and on the bridge nearby, there are always plenty of locals & tourists using the area as a cut through during the day and evening.

As a reminder, remember to take the owner's details with you as we had to ring their door bell at no. 73 and there are about 10 different surnames to choose from!

Overall it made the perfect choice for us and one we would highly recommend to other couples looking for somewhere other than the usual hotel accomodation you find in big cities.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carol_holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2008

We we're there from June 28th thru July 2nd, 2008. I did read the review titled "bait and Switch" on June 24th and want to report a completely different experience. We loved it, and would go back in a heartbeat. Yes, the location is different than the original, I think the owners just finished refurbishing this place and swapped with the other property, which, from talking to the owner is even better (it's only two doors down). The only negative is that the balcony is small and closer to the ground than the other property. When we were there, it was way too hot to be out on the balcony anyway. The apartment is small by US standards but extremely clean and efficiently layed out. Comfortable king size bed, stowage underneath (on hydraulic lifts). Good closet. Workable kitchen, but with Campo De Fiori right around the corner, why eat in. Efficient fold down dining table. Decent bathroom with typically small shower. Air conditioner worked wonderfully, did I mention it was hot. We dealt with Fabiana who spoke good english and was very helpful. She brought fresh fruit, yoghurt and supplies daily and was very pleasant to deal with. They provided coffee, dishes, breads, jams, even maps and tourist books. It was comforting knowing that they were nearby to take care of any issues - which we had none. The location in Rome is perfect. It is on a pedestrian (mostly) walkway, different than a street, so I can see how some people might think they are walking down an alley, but it is populated at all hours and we never felt like it was not safe. Walking to anywhere in Rome (Vatican, Colliseum, Trevi) was easy and it was nice coming back for an afternoon cool down before heading out to the square for dinner and drinks in the evening. Nice grocery store next door. Plenty of reasonable restaraunts throughout the neighborhood. Owners arranged to have a taxi pick us up to take us back to the airport. Great experience, already planning a return trip.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BiebsSebastian_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2008

Overall: Great location, inexpensive in comparison to other properties, great terrace, grocery store right next door which makes it easy to supply yourself.

We were anxious about this property because we had never stayed in a property like this before. We are used to chain hotels or larger B&Bs. We booked the property through Romeby.com for 100 Euros. We stayed 3 nights at the end of June. We arrived by taxi from the train station for 15 Euros. We later found that we could have used the bus to Torre Argentina and walked the 10 minutes to the property (which we did when we left). The electric bus lines also run at the end of the street. You can get bus line maps on the city’s transportation website.

We found the property without any problem. The building clearly displays the #73. You then have to buzz the owners. The street is mostly pedestrian only with only a short section that allows vehicles. It is well traveled because it connects the Ponte Sisto bridge to the areas of Campo Fiori and Piazza Navona. We noticed some homeless people that seemed to congregate here more than other places. The room is up two flights of stairs, no elevator. You then walk into a door that leads to a hallway. Directly in front of you is a steel gate and behind it is the owner’s living room. You walk down the hall to the right and there is the door to the B&B, which is one room. The room is very nice. Not too small. The private terrace is great for breakfast in the morning and wine in the afternoon. I have no complaints about the room. You get your own set of keys and you can come and go as you please. We didn’t see much of the owners due to our not being in the room very much.

The breakfast was a self prepared thing. They stock the room with fresh fruit and cereal with juice and milk in the fridge. There is a grocery store right next door that we loved. We bought picnic supplies for lunches and cheese and wine for snacks. There is nothing like eating Italian cheeses and drinking wine on your own private terrace in Rome.

This was our favorite accommodation during our 14 days in Italy. It’s such a find that I’m hesitant to give it a good review for fear that they’ll raise the rates or it will be harder to find a vacancy in the future. Don’t be anxious, just book it. You’ll spend 2-3 times as much anywhere else in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AWandering1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews