We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It depends on what you are looking for.”
Review of Magnifico Rome

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Magnifico Rome
Ranked #3,139 of 3,739 Rome B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 December 2006

I stayed in a twin room the room was a bit small, but hey I was just there to sleep and take a shower. It was spotless! I had a small fridge in my room so it was great to get some things from a supermarket a few blocks away and stick it in there for when I was thirsty. The room is modern and you can tell it has just been redecorated.

Bad part of it:
1. the people at the reception spend most of there time on the phone. (with personal calls) When you need something you have to "interrupt them". At night the guy hides in a room and just talks and talks and talks. if your room is close to the resception desk be prepared to hear phone ring all night long. Either it be the hotels phone, cell phone, or the door bell.

2. They have a computer that you can use (its also the hotels computer) When I was on it at night because I couldnt sleep the guy at reception asked me if I would take long because he needed to use it.. I gave it to him right away, and when I turned back to see what he was doing he was chatting. I thought it was rude to take a guest off the computer so he could chat .

3. Breakfast was not the best. It kind of seemed you just had to eat whatever they put on your table. Which was prepacked toast, microwaved heated milk and something kind of crossant.

4. THIS REALLY MADE ME MAD!! The cleaning lady decided to move arround our stuff in the room because it was in her way! When we got to our room our suitcases weren't were we left them. She put them under our beds. She took my moms traveling bag and decided that the closet was a better place to put it. It took me a while to find my slippers.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maggie30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2006

We spent 7 nights here on our honeymoon in October 2005.

Positives:
Location is OK. 20 mins walking distance to Trevi fountain. But also 5 mins to metro. On Via Nazionale, so quite busy but interesting with shops and restaurants

Negatives:

- One of the smallest hotels Ive ever been in. For 120 Euro a room , Im sure there are better out there. Were given a double room where you basically couldnt get out sideways from the bed, the room was so small. So depressing as we had been planning this for more than half a year - it was our honeymoon. The pictures on the internet suggest a palace - it is in an old palace, but the hotel occupies half a floor - in total probably was occupied by just one person before it became a hotel. Website and internet is misleading - suggests a grand hotel facade and lots of space.

- I had specifically asked for the best room they could give us when booking. We were moved to their best room only after 3 nights!

- Breakfast is really very very poor. Great coffee, but thats it. I lived in Italy for a while some years ago so I know what Italian breakfasts are like. What we got was the absolute minimum to qualify even as an Italian breakfast. Vaccum packed "toast" slices, and jam!! We ended up going to the local Spar to top up which wasted precious 45 minutes of our day every day.

- Slackers at the reception. I don't use that in a derogatory way, but just to emphasise that these were not trained hotel staff, just part time workers or students earning a little money to "babysit" the place, clean up, and let you in at night.

All in all, clean enough and good location. But if you are coming to rome for a special occasion, don't even think about Magnifico.

Stayed: October 2005
1  Thank GK1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2006

The hotel was conveniently located on Via Nazionale, a short walk from Termini. It occupied the second floor of a building that was accessed via the forecourt of another building on the Via Nazionale. The reception was linked by intercom system to the main gate which is always closed so it was a little difficult to locate the first time.
We stayed in room 202 which was a clean, modern and comprised of twin beds, TV, mini bar, adequate air conditioning and an extra side room with a double bed that we never used. This room is ideal for small families. The hotel staff was very warm & friendly (Claudio was very helpful and went out of his way to assist). Bathroom was clean and supplies were replenished daily.We paid 80 euros per night.
Breakfast consisted of toast, butter, jam, nutella, croissant, hot coffee and orange juice which was served in a small dining area.
A convenience store named Despar was a few steps away and good to pick up water, beer, wine & snacks to stock up your minibar. Mcdonalds was located close by to grab a small bite.
Great location close to Republica metro station and 15 minute walk to Trevi fountain ,Piazza Venezia and other attractions.
We had a pleasant stay and would recommend this hotel to other travelers.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank hotmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Irricana, Canada
16
Reviewed 22 January 2006

When you consider that I only paid 55 Euro per day this really was a pretty good place to stay. It is located within a courtyard and the only problem that I had was that the courtyard was closed at 7pm. This means that you have to ring to get someone to come down three flights of stairs to let you in. The place has small rooms, but the bathrooms are fully equiped and the place is spotlessly clean. Because the rooms are small and there is only a very tiny lobby, this may not be a good place for children. The location is walking distance to almost anything a tourist would want to visit and is great if you are planning to use the train system. The person manning the front desk during the day spoke good English and was very helpful. Be sure to request specific directions to the hotel. The street numbering system is confusing and the hotel is only marked by a plaque on the wall. I walked by the hotel several times before finding it.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Saraloves1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Mari_sol2288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teddy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Miami
Hotel Miami
#210 of 1,271 in Rome
992 reviews
Esquilino
Suite Dreams
Suite Dreams
#108 of 1,271 in Rome
1,505 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel San Remo
Hotel San Remo
#1,032 of 1,271 in Rome
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#446 of 1,271 in Rome
297 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,271 in Rome
6,960 reviews
Domidea Hotel
#214 of 1,271 in Rome
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnifico Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnifico Rome

Address: Via Nazionale 243, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3,139 of 3,739 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: £40 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Magnifico Rome 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Magnifico Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnifico Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing