We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location & good value for Rome”
Review of Basilica Square

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Basilica Square
Ranked #1,459 of 3,620 Rome B&B and Inns
queensland
Level Contributor
180 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Great location & good value for Rome”
Reviewed 13 September 2011

We were happy with our room, we had our own bathroom but it was at the end of the corrider. this was fine but you had to walk through the small reception area past the other B&B rooms to get to our bathroom. In saying this though the room was cheaper so we knew what to expect, i was happy to have our own bathroom, I thought we would be sharing the bathroom so this was a bonus really. Breakfast is included but you help yourself, which again is fine, a little cereal, toast, cakes if you wish.

on one of the nights we were there a couple kept ringing the bell down in the street to be let in. we eventually let them in and they said they had a booking for that night but could not get hold of the manager. they had tried all numbers to ring and phones had been turned off or answering service on. We tried to help but only had the same phone numbers they had. I was online on my computer so the lady went on her emails and found the after hours check in number to ring & someone then did come andcheck them in. If we had not been in our room on this night not sure what would have happened with this couple. I think this was not a common occurance but all the same maybe the after hours phone number should be put on the door somewhere at street level in the event this happened again. We enjoyed our stay here.

Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank missyperu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    24
    13
    8
    6
See reviews for
17
23
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2011

This B&B is located within a traditional apartment complex opposite Basilica Square and Rome's highest obelisk. Rooms are located on the first floor on each end of the building, with the reception on left (Staircase A).

Our room was very clean with multiple towels provided and a very comfy queen size bed (advertised as a double bed). The room was cleaned every day. It contained a fridge, wardrobe, split airconditioner and a well sized ensuite where everything worked well with steady hot water.

Your room view and the amount of noise depends on where you are placed in the building. We got room #9 which was facing a traditional italian courtyard which is part of the complex and it was dead silent at night apart from the emergency vehicle sirens that pass every so often. Other reviewers here were placed in rooms facing the square which gives you a fantastic view but with street noise that comes with it.

This B&B is located in a perfect location outside of the historial center. It's a 5 minute walk to the metro station for Line A which will take you straight to every major tourist attraction in Rome including Trevi Fountain, the Pantheon and Vatican City. The colosseum and the roman forum is a 10 minute walk in the other direction.

Given that the B&B is not in the historical center, you have the opportunity to avoid all the tourist trap restaurants. There is a spectacular Italian restaurant 2 minutes walk away from the hotel called "Merulana" where 3/4 of the clientele where Italian and yet the servers speak perfect English. We had the best pasta is ever had in our lives.

Our only negative is the breakfast. It's just prepackaged bread/sweets/cereal and milk/juices from the supermarket. However, the room quality and service more than makes up for it.

It was a fantastic experience. Don't hesitate to book if you're looking for the best budget hotel you can get that rivals the bigger chains (who really needs a business center?).

Room Tip: Sensitive to noise? Get room 9
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllaGricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Paul's Bay, Malta
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2010

I had a good stay in this B&B. Room was big and with flat screen and airconditioned. We had to wait almost half an hour when we arrived as there was no one at the reception and it was a bit unconfortable but apart from that all was ok. The receptionist was very friendly as well. Breakfast was quite poor. Location was good as well within 10 to 15 mins walking distance to the colosseum.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Idanwcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipperary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2010

I stayed here for 4 nights and found it very comfortable. the location couldnt be any better 10mins to the colloseum (walking) 5mins to metro which was so handy to bring you everywhere. I didnt really avail of breakfast as i dont eat much in the morning but it seemed nice but dont expect a full irish u aint at home. One thing I would say is the general cleanliness was good except for the curtains and condition of bed linen might need to be looked at. Oh and if your not used to the noise of traffic I wouldnt be that enclined to stay
All in all I did enjoy my stay you could go and come as you please and all the staff i encountered were very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tipperary89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colorado
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2010

Rebecca was wonderful in helping me secure the room at Basilica Square. It's a perfect location, safe, clean, great showers, newly refurbished rooms and fair price. She removed the stress from running the Roma Marathon. You can walk everywhere or take the Metro.
Ten minute walk to Colloseum, less than that for good reasonable food. And you get the feel of living in a community rather than hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cotrailrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mythicalsoul
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2009

This was of the places I really enjoyed staying at throughout my trip around Italy. It is apartment style, and our room was on the other end so to get to the breakfast room and front desk we had to walk up and down the stairs numerous times.

I stayed with my same sex partner in a double room with a bathroom that was ours, but not in the room. Breakfast was included, and we would bring it back to our room on a tray as the room came with a table, etc. The room was air conditioned, which I really enjoyed. It can get a bit noisy if the window is open, but that wasn't a problem since air conditioning was included.

The location is good, a ten to fifteen minute walk to the Coliseum, and right by the public transit so it was easy to access everything we wanted.

As we came in late, there was a cute note on the door saying to call a certain person whom had our keys. We had to wait for about 40 minutes, but that was because we stated that we were arriving later.

Without a question I would stay here agian.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mythicalsoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
1 review
Reviewed 24 April 2009

I had the pleasure of staying at this bed and breakfast last week. Not only was it in a great location, but everything about the experience was great! The rooms were very clean, and had a great view. Also, everyone was very helpful, especially Rebecca. I would recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone. In fact, I am planning another trip to Rome next year with my family and we are planning on staying there.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenButz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Happy Holiday Bed and Breakfast
Esquilino
B&T Rooms
B&T Rooms
#2,325 of 3,620 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#395 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,551 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel des Artistes
Hotel des Artistes
#286 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basilica Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basilica Square

Property: Basilica Square
Address: Piazza di San Giovanni in Laterano 26, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,459 of 3,620 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Basilica Square 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Basilica Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Basilica Square Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing