We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like a local”
Review of Basilica Square

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Basilica Square
Ranked #1,689 of 3,722 Rome B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 November 2011

We (the four of us) thought this would be a regular B&B and to our delight found that we had rented an apartment with a kitchen, lounge and two huge high ceilinged bedrooms. The breakfast part of the B&B was a generous supply of breakfast foods delivered to kitchen every day. The bedrooms, on the first floor, looked out on the Piazza San Giovanni and in the morning we could open the shutters and hang out of the window and look down on the tourists visiting the cathedral (and feel like locals). There were delicatessens nearby, a taxi rank in the piazza, plenty of different types of restuarants within reach (right downstairs through the huge wooden door). Having a kitchen, we could buy our own food at the deli's and markets however and make our own meals.
It is an easy walk to the Collosseum and the Forum, where one could also pick up the open top bus.
We could not imagine staying anywhere else when we go back.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingLes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2011

This place is the shame of Rome. Though its location is very good, the customer service is horrible. First, we didn't have wi-fi and we were supposed to have. So, we had to go all the way to the office to check internet. One evening we were in the kitchen and we heard the bell several times, but the front door guy came to kitchen and hid to not open the door. "The office is closed", he whispered to us as an excuse. We went out and there was a family wanting to pick up their luggage! This guy was absolutely pathetic. Isn't is his job to assist the customers?? The following day, we wanted to check out early in the morning, but it was not possible: the lady would show up at 10.30 am. Finally, in the afternoon, when we picked up our luggage, I asked for the restroom and the old woman in the front door told me it was not possible because it was for the guests (?????). Since we had been guests 2 hours before, it was very hard to believe how miserable and pathetic this woman could be. Jus to add more pain to our stay, there was NO HOT WATER, no toilet paper and the bathroom was dirty. I'm sure there must be better places with more affordable prices and with a customer service who cares for people.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

Location - BB is just few walk minutes along street to Colosseum, next to church San Giovanni in Laterano, 5 min from underground station and next to bus stops.

Rooms - basic room, we got room in second part of building, so if you need to go to reception or just for breakfast you have to go downstairs and again upstars, not very lazy people :) rooms facing main street are busy, but you have better view

Breakfast free of charge - sweet italian style: coffee, juice, milk, croissants, jam, honey, cornflakes

Free wifi

Stayed October 2009

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peterSK7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

An apartment converted into a B&B in a traditional residential block of apartments and located opposite Rome's cathedral - San Giovanni in Laterano. Overlooking a busy street it was very noisy however no more than we expected from a City break. The hotel was in our price range and was in a fantastic location - a one/two minute walk to the bus stop and 5-10mins to the metro.

The room was small, very basic but clean, with air conditioning system. We stayed in a family room which had en-suite, however the sink was in the bedroom. Comparing this room to the hotel photographs and descriptions I can see that ours was very basic ie wardrobe, couple of bedside tables, double bed and fold-out single bed. The beds were very uncomfortable which, given that we were staying for 4 nights was a negative. We were a little disappointed that there was no fridge in the room (which we had been told there would be), or kettle however we were told to help ourselves to anything we required in the breakfast room ie tea and coffee, which was nice. The TV in our room was not LCD and, although the hotels states that the TV has Satellite TV channels, these are only in Italian (no English news channels). Just little things to bear in mind if you have young children and find yourselves back in your room early evening.

Overall we had a fantastic stay and would recommend this B&B as a great location for a City Break. Yes, the room was very basic and the breakfast is self-service and pre-packed but it was acceptable. Guests are welcome to use the facilities there to cook their own food. The staff were lovely and really helped us with bus routes and directions and although we had to check out at lunchtime they allowed us to keep our luggage there until later even inviting us to help ourselves to tea and coffee in the breakfast room.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank L D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

My Husband and I stayed at the B&B Basillica Square in the first week of September. Our plans changed quite a bit but the staff was graciously accomodating. We not only got a very good deal but were also upgraded on arrival to a better room for the same price.I only wish they accepted Paypal as a method of payment for the first night of stay so that we didn't have to spend extra for the bank transfer (we could have paid by credit card but we weren't very comfortable providing the credit card details on phone or by mail). The B&B is very well located - 2 mins walk from the line A subway stop and the bus stop (we found buses 87 and 117 most helpful for general sigh seeing and bus number 3/tram 8 for Trastevere).We took a bus from the Roma Termini which brought us straight to San Giovani in Laterno but once we were there we had a hard time finding the B&B.Once we found the B&B and called the person in charge we had to wait a good 30-45 mins for her to arrive.She apologised on arrival and was very helpful thereafter. The area is not very touristy and our room was in the building away from the traffic and noise (they have rooms in two different buildings). Our room was huge with a good size bed, flat screen TV, air conditioner,closet, breakfast table and an attached bathroom.Windows opened to a quite neighbourhood. The kitchen was always stocked with croissants, cakes,cereals,bread,cheese,juices, tea,coffee etc ---- more than what we could have asked for !!! Also the free internet is a plus.B&B is very well located for all the sightseeing and its in a safe location.We had a tough time on the first day looking for the right bus stops so it would be a good idea to get a quick orientation from the lady who helps with the check in.We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MrsJaviarS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

We were happy with our room, we had our own bathroom but it was at the end of the corrider. this was fine but you had to walk through the small reception area past the other B&B rooms to get to our bathroom. In saying this though the room was cheaper so we knew what to expect, i was happy to have our own bathroom, I thought we would be sharing the bathroom so this was a bonus really. Breakfast is included but you help yourself, which again is fine, a little cereal, toast, cakes if you wish.

on one of the nights we were there a couple kept ringing the bell down in the street to be let in. we eventually let them in and they said they had a booking for that night but could not get hold of the manager. they had tried all numbers to ring and phones had been turned off or answering service on. We tried to help but only had the same phone numbers they had. I was online on my computer so the lady went on her emails and found the after hours check in number to ring & someone then did come andcheck them in. If we had not been in our room on this night not sure what would have happened with this couple. I think this was not a common occurance but all the same maybe the after hours phone number should be put on the door somewhere at street level in the event this happened again. We enjoyed our stay here.

Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank missyperu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2011

This B&B is located within a traditional apartment complex opposite Basilica Square and Rome's highest obelisk. Rooms are located on the first floor on each end of the building, with the reception on left (Staircase A).

Our room was very clean with multiple towels provided and a very comfy queen size bed (advertised as a double bed). The room was cleaned every day. It contained a fridge, wardrobe, split airconditioner and a well sized ensuite where everything worked well with steady hot water.

Your room view and the amount of noise depends on where you are placed in the building. We got room #9 which was facing a traditional italian courtyard which is part of the complex and it was dead silent at night apart from the emergency vehicle sirens that pass every so often. Other reviewers here were placed in rooms facing the square which gives you a fantastic view but with street noise that comes with it.

This B&B is located in a perfect location outside of the historial center. It's a 5 minute walk to the metro station for Line A which will take you straight to every major tourist attraction in Rome including Trevi Fountain, the Pantheon and Vatican City. The colosseum and the roman forum is a 10 minute walk in the other direction.

Given that the B&B is not in the historical center, you have the opportunity to avoid all the tourist trap restaurants. There is a spectacular Italian restaurant 2 minutes walk away from the hotel called "Merulana" where 3/4 of the clientele where Italian and yet the servers speak perfect English. We had the best pasta is ever had in our lives.

Our only negative is the breakfast. It's just prepackaged bread/sweets/cereal and milk/juices from the supermarket. However, the room quality and service more than makes up for it.

It was a fantastic experience. Don't hesitate to book if you're looking for the best budget hotel you can get that rivals the bigger chains (who really needs a business center?).

Room Tip: Sensitive to noise? Get room 9
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllaGricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#363 of 1,269 in Rome
429 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#449 of 1,269 in Rome
295 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,269 in Rome
6,862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
B&T Rooms
B&T Rooms
#1,887 of 3,722 in Rome
92 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#108 of 1,269 in Rome
1,218 reviews
Domidea Hotel
#212 of 1,269 in Rome
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basilica Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basilica Square

Address: Piazza di San Giovanni in Laterano 26, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,689 of 3,722 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: £51 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Basilica Square 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Basilica Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Basilica Square Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing