We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value and location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Basilica Square

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Basilica Square
Ranked #1,499 of 3,752 Rome B&B and Inns
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“Good value and location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

Great location with several units in an apartment building. Centrally located, but away from the touristy hubbub. Wifi available in the lounge area. The staff was very good about a late check in and were waiting for us when we arrived (just let them know via email or call from the airport). Close to the metro and walking distance to many sights. Small, but clean rooms. The bakery downstairs has lovely sweets, pizza, and great sandwiches for picnics. The restaurant next door is delicious too!

You need to be able to carry your luggage up a few flights of stairs. The locks on the door are unusual. You need a key to get in the hall and then another to get in the room. You can't lock or unlock the door without the key. Really, the key was the only negative I have about this affordable, conveniently located, and clean hotel. They really should upgrade to standard door knobs and keys.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the square have a much better view and are located on the same floor as the lounge wher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyB00Kworm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    24
    13
    8
    6
See reviews for
17
23
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

My family and I stayed here for 3 nights over the Christmas holiday. My husband, myself, and our 4 year-old son enjoyed our stay here. The room was clean and the bathroom was up-to-date. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The Colosseum was within walking distance of the hotel. The metro station was conveniently located nearby. It was 1 euro one-way on the metro.
The B&B provides free wi-fi and breakfast was also included. The breakfast included milk, juices, coffee, toast, and pre-packaged pastries.
We did have some difficulty finding the hotel. It does not have a sign. Be sure to know exactly where the hotel is located. The taxi dropped us off in the area, not at the front door of the hotel. Right next door is a Pizza Taglio w/ some great paninis.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank famileetravels3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

We (the four of us) thought this would be a regular B&B and to our delight found that we had rented an apartment with a kitchen, lounge and two huge high ceilinged bedrooms. The breakfast part of the B&B was a generous supply of breakfast foods delivered to kitchen every day. The bedrooms, on the first floor, looked out on the Piazza San Giovanni and in the morning we could open the shutters and hang out of the window and look down on the tourists visiting the cathedral (and feel like locals). There were delicatessens nearby, a taxi rank in the piazza, plenty of different types of restuarants within reach (right downstairs through the huge wooden door). Having a kitchen, we could buy our own food at the deli's and markets however and make our own meals.
It is an easy walk to the Collosseum and the Forum, where one could also pick up the open top bus.
We could not imagine staying anywhere else when we go back.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingLes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rutherford, New Jersey
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

This place is the shame of Rome. Though its location is very good, the customer service is horrible. First, we didn't have wi-fi and we were supposed to have. So, we had to go all the way to the office to check internet. One evening we were in the kitchen and we heard the bell several times, but the front door guy came to kitchen and hid to not open the door. "The office is closed", he whispered to us as an excuse. We went out and there was a family wanting to pick up their luggage! This guy was absolutely pathetic. Isn't is his job to assist the customers?? The following day, we wanted to check out early in the morning, but it was not possible: the lady would show up at 10.30 am. Finally, in the afternoon, when we picked up our luggage, I asked for the restroom and the old woman in the front door told me it was not possible because it was for the guests (?????). Since we had been guests 2 hours before, it was very hard to believe how miserable and pathetic this woman could be. Jus to add more pain to our stay, there was NO HOT WATER, no toilet paper and the bathroom was dirty. I'm sure there must be better places with more affordable prices and with a customer service who cares for people.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

Presov, Slovakia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

Location - BB is just few walk minutes along street to Colosseum, next to church San Giovanni in Laterano, 5 min from underground station and next to bus stops.

Rooms - basic room, we got room in second part of building, so if you need to go to reception or just for breakfast you have to go downstairs and again upstars, not very lazy people :) rooms facing main street are busy, but you have better view

Breakfast free of charge - sweet italian style: coffee, juice, milk, croissants, jam, honey, cornflakes

Free wifi

Stayed October 2009

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterSK7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

An apartment converted into a B&B in a traditional residential block of apartments and located opposite Rome's cathedral - San Giovanni in Laterano. Overlooking a busy street it was very noisy however no more than we expected from a City break. The hotel was in our price range and was in a fantastic location - a one/two minute walk to the bus stop and 5-10mins to the metro.

The room was small, very basic but clean, with air conditioning system. We stayed in a family room which had en-suite, however the sink was in the bedroom. Comparing this room to the hotel photographs and descriptions I can see that ours was very basic ie wardrobe, couple of bedside tables, double bed and fold-out single bed. The beds were very uncomfortable which, given that we were staying for 4 nights was a negative. We were a little disappointed that there was no fridge in the room (which we had been told there would be), or kettle however we were told to help ourselves to anything we required in the breakfast room ie tea and coffee, which was nice. The TV in our room was not LCD and, although the hotels states that the TV has Satellite TV channels, these are only in Italian (no English news channels). Just little things to bear in mind if you have young children and find yourselves back in your room early evening.

Overall we had a fantastic stay and would recommend this B&B as a great location for a City Break. Yes, the room was very basic and the breakfast is self-service and pre-packed but it was acceptable. Guests are welcome to use the facilities there to cook their own food. The staff were lovely and really helped us with bus routes and directions and although we had to check out at lunchtime they allowed us to keep our luggage there until later even inviting us to help ourselves to tea and coffee in the breakfast room.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Happy Holiday Bed and Breakfast
Esquilino
B&T Rooms
B&T Rooms
#2,589 of 3,752 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,291 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#373 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel des Artistes
Hotel des Artistes
#284 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basilica Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basilica Square

Property: Basilica Square
Address: Piazza di San Giovanni in Laterano 26, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,499 of 3,752 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Basilica Square 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Basilica Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Basilica Square Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing