We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean and safe”
Review of Basilica Square

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Basilica Square
Ranked #1,584 of 3,692 Rome B&B and Inns
Cagayan de Oro, Philippines
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“clean and safe”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

the place is clean, spacious and nice.
i would definitely recommend this for couples or family
who likes to have privacy when visiting rome.

if u come earlier than the checkin time, you can leave you bags on the reception.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cHa-cHa1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    24
    13
    8
    6
See reviews for
17
23
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2013 via mobile

We arrived in Roma to see the sights and party in Trastevere/Campo dei Fiori. This wonderful room was there to cushion us through the aftermath of insanely hot roman days and exciting roman nights. We liked that they gave us two keys (3 travelers) and let us use the kitchen (needs a spatula). The others we met there were interesting people. Laterano isnt far or close to anything, so a walk was required but not unappreciated. We got to see Roma and have a great time.

If you have kids, might still be a good spot, the street can be loud though, so maybe ask for a room away from it.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antisthenes12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

The are apartments with a common kitchen. In kitchen there is a gas stove,the refrigerator,microwave,it's a little ware. Saucepans and a frying-pan aren't present. A breakfast : cruasant & cappuccino in cafe of the next house. To the subway of 5 minutes on foot.To the Colosseum of 15 minutes.Personnel friendly and ready to help.The reception works till 16 o'clock.It's necessary later - it's necessary to call by phone.Will come in about 5 minutes.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank ANDREY S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffersonville, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

I stayed at the Basilica Square B&B last October, and overall it was a pleasant stay. We chose a one-bedroom unit. It was pretty small, but it was livable considering how close it was to a lot of major attractions (the Colosseum) and the price ($115.28 per night). My biggest complaint was that our bathroom was actually in the lobby area by the kitchen (aka we didn't have a private bathroom). However, being college students, this wasn't a big deal in the end.

I was kind of let down by the breakfast... I guess I assumed it would be much more than it was. There was free WiFi, which was nice since we were using little prepaid phones on our stay in Europe. The best part about this B&B was how close it was to transportation. It was definitely convenient! It's definitely some some crazy 5-star place, but if you're looking for something simple with a good location, this is a great option.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jnminutillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Imagine reaching this place with your luggage after a tiring day trip trough train and metro just to find out that there is no one available to assist at 9 pm. You are stranded outside the place on street with luggage. Only a small piece of paper with information to call a phone no. to get keys(pls see pics). After some help from locals and calling the manager, Cinzia came over and was completely unapologetic about the situation and her only explanation was that she "never got" our e-mail about late check-in. We showed her a copy of the sent email and she didn't pay any attention, offer any apology or anything. Place was clean but drains never worked properly. An extremely bad deal...! Rooms are cleaned every 3 days for environmental reasons (so they say). On the last day we went to the office to ask a question and the maid who was there was very kind and helpful. Also, the woman who was helping us with check out was kind and helpful. Unfortunately, Cinzia ruined the overall impression in addition to the place itself not being that great. The breakfast was poor and tasteless (see pic). Will never recommend it to anyone. Wish this buisness closes soon. We loved Italy, and Italian people. Thus, this place is all the more a blemish on the face of Italian tourism.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tavikiran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Great location with several units in an apartment building. Centrally located, but away from the touristy hubbub. Wifi available in the lounge area. The staff was very good about a late check in and were waiting for us when we arrived (just let them know via email or call from the airport). Close to the metro and walking distance to many sights. Small, but clean rooms. The bakery downstairs has lovely sweets, pizza, and great sandwiches for picnics. The restaurant next door is delicious too!

You need to be able to carry your luggage up a few flights of stairs. The locks on the door are unusual. You need a key to get in the hall and then another to get in the room. You can't lock or unlock the door without the key. Really, the key was the only negative I have about this affordable, conveniently located, and clean hotel. They really should upgrade to standard door knobs and keys.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the square have a much better view and are located on the same floor as the lounge wher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyB00Kworm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Hotel Cilicia
#443 of 1,263 in Rome
347 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#366 of 1,263 in Rome
418 reviews
Esquilino
B&T Rooms
B&T Rooms
#2,214 of 3,692 in Rome
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,263 in Rome
6,751 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#97 of 1,263 in Rome
1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basilica Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basilica Square

Property: Basilica Square
Address: Piazza di San Giovanni in Laterano 26, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,584 of 3,692 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Basilica Square 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Basilica Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Basilica Square Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing