We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Low Budget Find!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa di Iginia e Paolo Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2,961 of 3,709 Rome B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 April 2010

This is not a fancy hotel, it is a legitimate Rome B&B. The room was spacious and clean, we had our own bathroom which was also clean. The staff was very friendly, calling to make us reservations at Galleria Borghese (which was sold out, make your reservations weeks in advance), letting us use their computer, and putting on a decent breakfast. From the Termini we took a short bus ride, walked two blocks and arrived. It was a short walk to the train station - good location. This is not the place to stay with children, but for a couple it was great!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah-n-Rob-Seattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
There are newer reviews for Casa di Iginia e Paolo Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2009

On arrival they tried to put us in a broom-cupboard, which they called a room (No.12). When we asked if there were any bigger rooms available, the initial welcome evaporated very quickly, and we were led to Room 14. We were told "don't complain tomorrow if this room is too noisy, you can't change again".

The shower head was dangling on a piece of plastic, the toilet roll holder fell off when you touched it - lots of minor repairs needed doing, which gives the impression that no-one gives a damn about the place. Our soap ran out, and was not replaced even though I asked. Even the soaps in the shared bathrooms were watered down so much you couldn't get a lather!

The breakfast was horrendous - croissants in plastic - cheese slices in plastic - I suspect the plastic would have had more taste...
Even the orange juice tasted rather strange.

If you don't want to run a B&B why do it? If you do, please be prepared to put a bit of effort in.

As for the location, it was the worst I had ever stayed in in Rome and the public transport there was awful - the 910 bus ran about every 30 minutes, but was often very late, and then two turned up together.

Never again!

Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank Sylvie206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casaiginiapaolo, owner at Casa di Iginia e Paolo Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2009

it's very strange the room number 14 it's all new renewed in may 2009.
If you like stay in a bed and breakfast in centre of rome unfortunately there is much traffic, so the noisy it's normal. If you'll like total silence during the night advise you not to stay in the center but in the suburbs.
Regarding Breakfast for the italian law the bed and breakfast are obliged to use pre-packaged food.
For the public tansport in very sorry but does not have control over them, but we are working...
Howewer casa di iginia e paolo is 200 meters from villa borghese and via veneto and 15 mminutes walking from spanish steps and trevi fountain

Sincerely
The Owner
Pierpaolo Leci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2009

Hotel room very small - couldn't bend in bathroom unless you kept door open - mould in shower stall - shower didn't work well - just dripped - no hot water. Breakfast wasn't great and couldn't get anything before 8 a.m. if you were leaving early, even though it was laid out...also even though coffee left in pot at 10 a.m... couldn't have it...breakfast closed! Office staff not very helpful - office often empty. Many stairs to climb. Rickety tiny elevator. Good location though not central. Only positive is a restaurant they recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvonne002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casaiginiapaolo, owner at Casa di Iginia e Paolo Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2009

I apologize for hot water but it can happen for a day have a problem.
The breakfast is served from 08.00 am to 10.00 am, this is the time, i don't see anything strange, I can't wait the guest untill 12.00 am for the breakfast.
I apologize if the staff is no result friendly,but some times it also depends on what kind of request are made, sometimes not all requests can be met

The owner Pierpaolo Leci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2009

After walking the streets of Rome for 2 hours we finally found a kind restaurateur that gave us accurate directions. The B&B was a good distance from the Termini train station. Once there we had to climb 4 flights of stairs with our luggage. There was a small elevator, but it was unclear if it was for general use or for businesses that were in the building. On the surface the room appeared to be clean, but upon further inspection hair and dirt from past guest was found throughout the room. The beds were moderately comforable. We were given clean towels upon arrival and one pack of liquid soap during our three days. The towel that you step on after showering was never changed, just turned over. There were no telephones in the rooms and the only phone that was available was in the office, which was locked after the staff went home at 3 pm. There is no air conditioner just a ceiling fan so get ready to be hot. The breakfast consisted of package croissants, cheap bread which appeared to have come from a discount bakery, cereal, processed package cheese in a celophane sleeve, butter, fruit spreads and beverages. The price was reasonnable but I would not recommend this B&B. If you want to stay please bring extra towels, a cell phone, a good stamina for the amount of stairs you will have to climb.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valarie_crawford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casaiginiapaolo, owner at Casa di Iginia e Paolo Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2009

My sructure is a bed ad breakfast and not a first class hotel, so if you like spend little you can't wait that the towels are changed every day, but every two or three days.
We don't have obligation of a reception 24 hours you stay in a bed and breakfast.
And in my web site does not say that we have have air conditioned but ceiling fun, so I don't understand why you expct the air conditioning.

The owner
Pierpaolo Leci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2009

We stayed here for 6 nights in May, the B&B is in a great location, close to all the attractions and in a clean, nice area. Hard to find as no sign out. The staff are not helpful at all, on arrival we had no portacot for our son as was arranged and when we asked for it the guy told us to ring the owner as he was just covering the desk, so we asked to use a phone and he said we had to use our own (not cheap on global roaming!) finally got a hold of the owner and asked for the cot, along comes the other guy with a mattress and some bedding, we have to make it up and it is NOT a cot as promised! The room was large with a bathroom but we could not get any hot water, again complained at reception and were again told to ring the owner using our own phone! Eventually got hold of him and he told us we had to leave the water running for 10 mins before it got hot!!! Something that would be handy to know on arriving, not the cleanest, and our towels were not changed in the whole 6 days!! We had to make a real fuss and ask for them to be changed half way through the week. The breakfast was very average - the worst we have ever seen at a b & b, and not alot of room. No english speaking chanels on TV. Overall a great location but terrible service and average accommodation!!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kcb16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2009

Hard to find, because not specially mentioned. Is situated in a horrible way', NO SIGN for casaiginia e paolo!!! not a private bathroom as booked...triple shared!!! No mirror, no trashbox, no wardrobe some wooden pieces on the floor were left, the aircondition not very effective and not professionally installed. Breakfast very poor- only caffe and one packed croissant In general: a negative surprise!!!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank giuseppeFirenze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2009

It was a pleasure staying here. The location is great and the staff is courteous and helpful. My private room was large, clean, and quite nice. What more could you ask for, especially at this price in Rome?

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beznez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#362 of 1,267 in Rome
421 reviews
Esquilino
B&T Rooms
B&T Rooms
#2,223 of 3,709 in Rome
91 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,267 in Rome
6,800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#442 of 1,267 in Rome
294 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#104 of 1,267 in Rome
1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa di Iginia e Paolo Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa di Iginia e Paolo Bed & Breakfast

Address: Via Romagna 14, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2,961 of 3,709 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa di Iginia e Paolo Bed & Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for a clean, comfortable room to rent in central Rome, to sleep near via Veneto and Villa Borghese, with everything you need for a pleasant stay in Rome, Casa di Iginia e Paolo is just for you.We have well-lighted, large rooms and the entire house has wi-fi access. Breakfast is included in the price... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Casa di Iginia e Paolo Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Di Iginia e Paolo Hotel Rome
Casa Di Iginia e Paolo Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing