We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient and excellent value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Rosa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa Rosa Hotel
Ranked #536 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Convenient and excellent value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

We had booked a twin room for 3 nights with breakfast included. The hotel is well-situated just 5 min from the Trastevere station (we took the train easily from the airport to the hotel) and just 3 min from the no.8 tram, which takes you straight into the Pantheon/Forum area. The hotel was excellent value for money; evening meals here are cheap and delicious and there was a lot of choice at breakfast. Rooms were tired but clean, though the carpets need to be replaced urgently. The shower room was small but perfectly adequate - again clean, plenty of hot water, a powerful shower and clean towels every day. Trastevere is a lovely area to explore - a bit off the beaten track, but still plenty to see. Providing your expectations are in line with what you spend, you should have a very pleasant stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    125
    101
    46
    35
See reviews for
55
122
40
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
derby uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

We chose this hotel as it was close to the trains/ trams, without being too expensive. The staff were fantastic and very helpfull, rooms were clean and food was nice, we had 3 rooms as we were there for our daughters wedding, if we were to return to rome we would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilacanjel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

We actually felt this hotel was quite hard to find! We knew which road we were heading for, but walked past it several times - if you're approaching it from Trastevere station, then it is up some steps, which we kept missing! When we actually found it, we felt the hotel was quite nice - the reception was smart and clean and the receptionist was quite friendly.
Our room was not actually in the main hotel, but a 2 minute walk away. He offered to find someone to guide us there, but we felt we were ok going it alone! Our room was comfortable, clean and fairly cozy. The bathroom was nice to - our only problem was that we had no hot water, although we didn't discover this until the morning. The reception said that this could have been sorted if we had rung them, but we were quite late getting up!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CJM88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
133 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

Located near the Trastevere train station with great access to all parts of Rome. Breakfast is ample, but would prefer fresh brewed coffee instead of the machine offered. The receptionists were very knowledgeable and willing to help. Now for the not so good.... We were woken to the sound of hammering in the room next to us a 8:30 am. All the staff said was "I'm sorry". The air conditioner worked, but did not get cold. It was very hot in that room. The tv did not work and was the size of a computer monitor. I had the batteries changed out, but it did not help.
Wifi is offered at a rate of 5euros per half hour...really? We found numerous hotspots around the city and in restaurants. We will not venture back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindaeddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Alton, NH
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

This property is located very near the Trastevere Train Station with great access to all parts of Rome. The breakfast is complete and has good coffee. The hotel staff is friendly, but only until you report a problem. On our second day in the hotel, we were warned by other guests that items had been stolen from their rooms. The hotel staff suggested that this was not true and that the guests had either lost them or had stolen them amongst themselves. We placed our "most valuable" items (electronics, jewelry...) in the hotel safe at the front desk, but small items went missing from our rooms during the stay including, but not limited to perfume, a dress, a jacket and undergarments. Basically, one complete outfit. The hotel's response was that they had not had a theft there in 15 years. The internet works well at the hotel, but there is a fee. The hotel ran out of the internet access cards during our stay, so no access was available for a short time.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank funkygrl422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lazzari, Direttore at Villa Rosa Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Dear Madam,
I thank you for your positive evaluations regarding our Hotel: location, breakfast, courtesy of the staff and the efficiency in problem solving (Wifi cards).
I thank you also to have listed the items supposed to be stolen from some rooms…. even undergartens.
However you forgot to mention that the components of the group, before to reach the Villa Rosa, have been travelling for many days, staying in three and four beds rooms, in different Hotels. Also every morning you have been asked to inform all of them to close the room doors, just because very often they have forgotten to do it.
It is no possible that they have missed these items during their frequent displacements?
You also forgot to report that in consideration of your claim you have been invited to go to the police station, to file a regular report. To allow us to involve our insurance company, for any possible reimbursement.
I wish to inform you that according to the Italian law the Hotel is responsible for missing valuables in the Hotel rooms, until the amount of 100 times the room rate. But only in the presence of official declarations.
But at the end any official document have been sent to us.
I reconfirm, as you have written, that the Villa Rosa Hotel guaranty a safe deposit box at the reception desk. Available for all the guests 24 hours a day, at no extra charge.
Best regards

L.Lazzari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

Visited the hotel in May 2013, the staff is friendly but that's as far as it goes! The 'Essential Double room' is extremely small and uncomfortable, the bathroom is even smaller and outdated. We paid for internet, failed to work and they refuse to refund. Definitely NOT recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2008potter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lazzari, Direttore at Villa Rosa Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
I apologize to know that your stay at the Villa Rosa was not satisfactory. Most probably you made a mistake when you have booked an "essential” double room, at a very cheap rate.
Maybe the detailed description we have published on our web site, was not sufficient. Honestly I believe is sufficiently clear.
These very few rooms at the Villa Rosa are small rooms, not recently refurbished. Suitable especially for young couple, that want to visit Rome and do not have a very high budget to spend.
Of course if the Clients, arriving at the Hotel, realize they have made a mistake choosing this particular room type; we are ready to give the chance to have a bigger standard room, just with a little supplement. I have been informed that the same opportunity has been given to you; but you have refused it. Because you have preferred to remain in this room, just to avoid to pay the requested € 15.00 per day supplement.
I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again at the Villa Rosa for a future stay. Also to demonstrate the comfort of our standard double rooms. Most of them completely refurbished three years ago.
Kind regards

L.Lazzari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

Considering how helpful the staff was and the money we have paid I decided to give an excellent feedback to Villa Rossa Hotel.

What I like
The staff. Always very prompt to help. Without them we would had difficulties in Rome since it was our first time. Especially the receptionist girl with the flower on her hairs.
The value of what we got considering what we have paid.
The room was fair enough. Not too big with the minimum facilities but still it was more than what we actually needed. Clean sheets and shower, clean towels every day, a view to the nearby villas, enough place to put our baggage’s and stuff.
Transportation: we had a train station, a bus station and the tram within 2 minutes from the hotel.
Location: 5 minutes from the Vatican and 10 minutes to the city center.

What I didn’t like.
Two were the things I didn’t like but I don’t find them to be an important issue. the first one was the smell of the room which I consider normal since it is the beginning of the tourist season. But if you open the windows, in less than 3 minutes the smell is gone.
The other disadvantage of the hotel is that the rooms needs some renovation especially the carpets.
I didn’t had breakfast due to the reviews and because I hate getting up too early while I am on vacations.

Overall for the money we have paid, this was definitely our best option. True value for money, good for families and young couples.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Petrose1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Felice
Hotel Felice
#289 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
B&B Hotel Roma Trastevere
#266 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
Monteverde
Ponte Bianco
Ponte Bianco
#1,083 of 1,292 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Testaccio
Hotel Pyramid
Hotel Pyramid
#880 of 1,292 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Testaccio
Re Testa
Re Testa
#412 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Hotel Giotto
#1,093 of 1,292 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Rosa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Rosa Hotel

Property: Villa Rosa Hotel
Address: Via Giovanni Prati 1, 00152 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monteverde , Gianicolense
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #536 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Rosa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near the charming district of Trastevere just a few minutes from San Pietro, l'Hotel Villarosa will lodge you in a sophisticated and warm atmosphere of hospitality to make particularly satisfying your stay in Rome. The hotel is equipped with all modern facilities and comforts: rooms with private bathroom, air conditioning, high speed Wi-Fi, satellite TV and direct dial phone. Our guests can also benefits of a large dining room with buffet breakfast, a lounge bar and a terrace with sun loungers, tables and umbrellas. The conference room makes the hotel suitable for business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Villa Rosa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rosa
Villa Rosa Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing